We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great stay, great value”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my second trip through South Bend, and my second stay at Rick Patel’s Americas Best Value Inn. The rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet and value priced. The breakfast includes cold cereal, fresh waffles, baked goods, fruit, the usual. Convenient location. I enjoy conversing with the owner. He and his wife understand customer service and knock themselves out to provide a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
24
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A friendly and knowledgeable staff provides a clean and comfortable room with state of the art HD Flat screen TV and free wireless, high speed internet. Ample continental breakfast. Close to interstate 80, and Notre Dame.

Room Tip: The Hotel is a quiet place for business and family travelers to get a good night's rest before c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I needed a place to stay for three nights in a row. Chose this location for the price and proximity to campus. Well that old adage you get what you pay for is not a cliche. The owner was weird and peeked around at the guests eating breakfast as if to say "Don't take another roll." The coffee was weaker than a newborn fawn. I am still trying to figure out where did he get it.

In the room, you could actually see the dust hanging on the shades and drapes. The carpet was musty, shower tub was nasty, everything nasty. The heating unit was also too hot and loud; needs a cycling shutoff. I would not recommend this location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just perfect rest stop enroute to Carlisle, Pa. Warm greeting on arrival. Room was clean and comfortable. Great rate. " King Gyros" next door does a great job for sandwich and soda. The TV worked just fine. The facility was quiet, the bed was good, room was warm and a good nights sleep was to be had. Up bright and early, coffee & muffin in lobby, good wishes for a safe trip at check out and off to I-80 east. Yes , I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This motel is on a highway near Notre Dame so there are lots of nearby services. But the rooms were small, almost European sized, with several delayed maintenance problems such as sink faucet too far back, yellowed caulk around the tub, worn rugs, and others. Nothing disastrous but something to which the management should attend. The cold breakfasts were minimal with few choices, perhaps because there were only a handful of guests. Only a lobby copy newspaper. I’d consider staying here again, but only if nothing else were available.

Room Tip: Notre Dame College is nearby and it’s nice to drive through. But have a detailed college map because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neola, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stay here every time we come to South Bend for a football game, Rick is very helpful and always ask if he can do anything to help out with as far as taxi service or tickets to games. The rooms are very clean and the lobby is also which is a indication of what the rooms will look like.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I went here with pretty low expectations but the hotel still managed to disappoint us. Everything is pretty run-down. If you get a double room for $65 or less including taxes then probably it is ok. Breakfast was unusually poor and the coffee just bad. Sorry, can´t recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallodori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#20 of 29 in South Bend
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 425 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing