We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites University Area
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

our room was impeccably clean. Bed felt like home. breakfast was very good, love the orange juice. we would stay here again. Our in room jacuzzi hit the spot after a 425 mile motorcycle ride. we were on our way home from Sturgis, SD Motorcycle Rally.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prankstermary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

trash between bed and nightstand. door would not close air did not work heard elevator all night, moved to another room next night and found trash again. Rude girl at desk on check in could not handle phone and a problem same on Sun at check out rude man. dont go

Room Tip: don't stay don't block rooms either they will be all over hotel not together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel due to a flight cancellation and I needed a place to sleep overnight. This hotel was filthy and gross!! There was trash in the hallways and elevators. The door to my room didn't even close properly. The door was separated from the door jam by an 1 1/2". The sheets had holes in them and the towels were very dingy. I had a 5:30am flight so I just sat in the desk chair all night. I was not about to lay in that bed or use the shower. Unfortunately everything in the area was booked because of camps at ND. Not only was this a nasty hotel, but the clerk at check in was not friendly at all. The only positive thing I can say is that the gentleman that drove the shuttle at 4:15 am was very friendly.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank VaMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois, USA
11
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was greeted with less than expected hospitality. The clerk was not friendly and distant. Once I got into my room, I was disappointed to find my tub did not have the jets as promised in the upgraded price I paid. It was a nice hotel, just a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here during Memorial Weekend for a soccer tournament. This place had a good size room with a nice greeting area. There was easy access to this location, and easy access to the main roads. It was an average hotel stay. The only problems I had was that they used way to much chlorine in the pool. My kids eyes were buring after 5 minutes. Also I wished they would have taken more effort to clean up mess on the side walk were someone got sick. They just rinsed it off the edge, and when we were loading up the car it was a horrible stench.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john37family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We booked this hotel for our sons graduation from ND. After reading the previous review I didn't know what to expect. We are here now & this really is fine. Nothing to worry about. It is not a 5 star by any means but is decent and our room is clean. Bathroom was clean. A decent work area, micro & mini fridge & tiny coffee maker for 1 cup. We are in a room with 2 doubles & a sofa that pulls out. I think the previous reviewer was disgruntled guest. We hv usually stayed at the hilton garden inn or st, Mary's inn &suites but chose this because it was a lot cheaper for the graduation wkd. Only 1.5 miles from campus. I wldnt have any problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linguica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The room was terrible! There was poop all over the toilet in the bathroom! My little had to use it as soon as we got their. I was not about to clean it so I call down stairs and they were supposed to be up to clean it. The bed didn't look right so I checked the sheets and they were soaked with urine! By that time I was really getting irritated and still no one showed up to take care of the other situation . After a while longer I could no longer take it I was not about to stay with my little one in that nasty disgusting Rommel I will never ever go back their!

Room Tip: I will never come back to this comfort suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 638Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 30 in South Bend
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £73 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing