We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a ND weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University Area
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our whole family of 12 went for a ND game and stayed in this great hotel and really enjoyed it! Rooms were very clean and comfortable, pool was great, close to ND and staff was very friendly. Enjoyed seeing all the ND fans staying there and all the ND decorations! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Notre Dame football season can be a challenge at times but we enjoy having all of our guests and helping create a true ND experience from our Friday tailgate from 3-5, to our welcome gifts and the ND atmosphere we try and create with our decorations. We look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

If I knew it was this nice, I would have plan to stay longer. On the last day of our vacation we stopped at this Hotel for a nights rest, was totally blown away how nice this hotel was,Double beds,living area,flat screen TV ,roll-in shower Frig,microwave,coffee,free breakfast,Clean,Big Rooms,all for $89 a night,right across from Purdu, But most of all "the Staff" Manager Shawn,Richard,Brian,And abagail, All bent over backwards to make our short stay a perfect stay.I thank them very much and will return next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Accessible rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I will pass your accolades onto Shawn-Bonnie-Brian and Abigail. Being close to a University such as Notre Dame is a huge plus and we enjoy seeing all the different people who come in. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

For the most part we were happy with this hotel. The front desk staff were wonderful - very friendly and extremely helpful. Check in and out were a breeze. The lobby, breakfast rooms, and hallways were bright, attractive and clean. The pool and fitness rooms looked nice, although we didn't use them. Parking was plentiful.

Our room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Visible mildew on the bathtub made the bathroom and the room smell bad. A light bulb by the bed was burned out, but a very nice staff member came immediately to replace it. You could hear people in neighboring rooms. The air conditioner was very loud, but at least when it came on, it masked the human noise from the other rooms. Breakfast was fine, with a good selection of food. The coffee, available in the lobby 24 hours, was great.

The hotel is on a busy commercial route, which wasn't especially pleasant for my early morning walk. However, it was only a 5 to 10 minute bike ride to a lovely bike path along the river. The location was convenient to the interstate, the university, and not too far from downtown.

We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you about your kind words and we will pass them on to our staff. The issues you brought up we will address with our maintenace department. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here 3 nights in August while dropping my daughter off at Saint Mary's College for her freshman year. I selected this hotel because the rates were great and the fact that all of the rooms are suites. I had a Queen Suite which consisted of a queen bed, pullout couch, desk, fridge, coffee pot and amble storage in the closet and drawers. The bathroom was very big and not only had a fan that I could control, but also a heat lamp. The bedding was so comfortable! There were four pillows, 2 soft and 2 firm which was great. The room was very clean. The people at the front desk were extremely friendly even though the hotel was full for the entire weekend. Breakfast was also very good and I appreciated the different coffee creamers. The hotel is within walking distance to Starbucks, Jimmy Johns, Dunkin Donuts and Steak and Shake. Very close to Notre Dame and Saint Mary's campuses. Best hotel deal on US 933.

Room Tip: The Queen Suite is a great value and larger than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We definitely feel we are the place to be for business or leisure and the proximity to the University makes us a great choice for friends and family. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Would like to say thank you so much to Tim, who works at the front desk at night. We had been driving for over 17 hours by the time we stopped at Comfort Suites, we had stopped at 4 other hotel/motels on the same road and nobody was willing to help us at all. Tim was welcoming, very helpful, extremely accommodating and very professional. We were tired and hungry and he made sure we got to our room quickly and offered suggestions as to where to eat at that late hour. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Would also like to thank Bonnie who was in the breakfast room on sunday morning! She was very helpful and friendly as we needed directions and she was more than willing to offer any help she could. Overall superb experience and would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area! Thank you so much !! ---Shelby From Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

The 3rd shift person is generally the most overlooked employee in the hotel and it is especially nice when our night auditor is mentioned in a comment. I will make sure I pass the comments on to both Tim and Bonnie. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great acomidations, friendly staff. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff even allowed us to keep our motorcycles under the front awning! Thank You.. Breakfast was hot and had everything we needed to start our day on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoWheelVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Positive comments such as yours are what make all of us so proud of what we do. Being just off the Interstate exit we do enjoy having our motorcycle guests with us. We hope you stop by again if you are out our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while we were attending a local event for the weekend. We normally don't stay at this brand of hotel, however, we were traveling with a pet and were looking for a hotel that accepts pets that seemed nice, and the other quality brand hotels in the area had a significantly higher pet charge. (Up to $75, compared to $20 at Comfort Suites.)

Overall, we were pleased with our stay. The hotel had a nice common area, a pool with a hot tub, and the rooms were clean. I was also pleasantly surprised that the designated pet rooms in the hotel were very clean, with no questionable smells. (Pet rooms are separate, so if you don't want one, you can request a non-pet room.)

The location was very convenient - right off the interstate, without having to weave through frontage roads. There are a couple of food places very nearby (e.g. a Steak n Shake in the same driveway, and a Wal-Mart just down the street in case you forgot anything. The hotel staff did not stand out, with the exception of the manager, who seemed quite welcoming and helpful.

Hotel buffet breakfast was average, at best, with the typical hotel breakfast offerings. It was nice that it had two waffle makers, however, there was still a huge line for them. Best advice would be to give yourself plenty of time to eat if you visit on a weekend, or grab a couple of staples and eat an early lunch outside the hotel.

There was some sort of sporting event going on locally so the hotel was at capacity with a large number of teenagers. It wasn't a big problem, but lead to a crowd at the pool and breakfast, and at times in the elevator. Judging by other posts, this does not seem abnormal, so if this would be a significant inconvenience, it may be best to inquire about your dates before making a reservation.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the stay, since this has never been one of our preferred brands of hotels. We will definitely consider staying there when we return next year.

Room Tip: The hotel is directly off a major highway, and there is a lot going on out front, so the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letahaas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about yur stay. Too often we only see the neagtive posted. We apprecitae your comments and look forward to using these comments to better future experiences for our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 31 in South Bend
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
1.1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 31 in South Bend
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £65 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing