We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomadation with Super Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites University Area
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed here on our way to Ohio, it was difficult to find a pet friendly hotel that didnt charge and arm & a leg. I hate being subjected to run down hotels just because we have our family dog along. The hotel was pleasant and easy to get to, the staff was super friendly from the front desk to the breakfast lady, everyone was nice! The rooms were pleasant with the exception of the bathrooms needing updating, cracked & faded tiles were the most noticeable but it was clean and suited the purpose. The guys LOVED the hot breakfast which included all you can eat bacon! We enjoyed this hotel so much that we chose to stay again on our way back through from Ohio. the second stay our room had a funny odor, not sure what was up with that, wasnt animal urine it was just odd and they had deodorizers hanging on the ac vents. Overall it was a nice place to stay and we would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Pets are a large part of a lot of our lives and we enjoy having them as guests in our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and breakfast. We are scheduled for a 3 Phase renovation and hope the next time you are in the area you will notice the changes we have made. We look forward to seeing you and your furry friends on your next trip thru the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

Our family of 5 has stayed here 5 times in the past 3 years. The staff is always friendly, the breakfast is good, the pool is a good size, and the business center is a plus since we work on our vacation. The beds are doubles which are a little small for us but we have brought our Labrador with us sometimes which we appreciate. However, it's time for some maintenance as we haven't seen any over the years--carpets need to be repaired, stretched and cleaned; stairwells and elevators need attention; rooms have wear and tear on bathroom doors, tile and curtains. We will stay here again because it's a good location and it's not a bad price for a suite (89.95 + tax). South Bend/Mishawaka also has any restaurant you could ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family-with-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Only stayed one night while traveling. I paid $80.99 Nice price. The hotel is a bit older but is still in good shape and clean. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Our staff is second to none and accepts the challenge to go the extra mile. Each staff member acts as its own concierge which is a huge benefit to our guests. We are in the 3 stage process of renovating our hotel and have just completed Phase I which included an exterior upgrade and curb appeal. Phase II will begin shortly with a redo of our lobby-breakfast-front desk and public areas. Phase III includes all our guest rooms. We hope that you will continue to choose us as your hotel provider of choice whenever in the area. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Good Service, good breakfast, convenient, bed comfortable but prefer Queens - not a big fan of double beds, standard mini suite with partial wall divider, standard TV, room dated, needs upgraded but clean, nice pool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I took the train out of Chicago for a 2 day stay in south bend with my husband. We had a lovely stay at the comfort suite hotel. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was excellent; way more than juice and a doughnut. We had a full breakfast, which included hot waffles. There was also a free shuttle to the train station. We are in our 80's and no longer drive so this was really appreciated. 5 stars for the comfort suite hotel in south bend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mic6739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

We appreciate your outstanding comments on our hotel. We find it important for people to start the day with a great breakfast and we're so glad you found it so filling. Our shuttle service is important to many of our guests and we are delighted that you were able to use it. For your next short get away we hope to see you again, cause we can be just a short shuttle away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Just back from a weekend in South Bend. We were pretty surprised at the condition of this hotel after all of the good reviews. The location - while close to the ND campus - is just north of I-80 - where there seems to be a rash of closed businesses and boarded up buildings. Not appealing at all! The hotel itself looks just fine on the outside but someone who manages this place is in love with 20 year old silk flower arrangements - they are everywhere! Seriously if they got rid of the flowers and bought an edging tool for the vaccums I might consider giving this place another star! It was laughable!

The rooms are large, but they really need updating - starting with the removal of the most gigantic poofy curtains that I have ever seen. I was afraid to open them, as they were so large I thought I might get tangled in them never to be seen again! Just awful.

The doors, hallways, mirrors, elevators, all need major updating and a good paint job and scrubbing. If you don't mind worn out 80's decor this is the place for you!

Huge outdoor patio with not one single chair or table on it - what is up with that? Large indoor pool - behind glass covered with finger prints.

The only way we would stay here again is if it was completely remodeled.....not what we expected at all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siestaclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

We appreciate the time and effort you took to comment on your recent stay. This area, as you noticed, was hit economically by restaurants and businesses closing. We take your comments seriously and would like to you to know that all your areas are being addresed. We are currently embarking on a major renovation of the property and Phase I included the exterior and curb appeal. Phase II will be starting shortly with a complete renovation of our lobby-breakfast and first floor public areas. Following this update will be Phase III and a complete redo of our guest rooms. We hope that you will give us a second chance and enjoy the fruits of our new look when completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We are frequent visitors to South Bend and Notre Dame. We like this hotel due to its nearness to the school and the large rooms that have a sitting area and have stayed many times It is beginning to show a bit of wear but I heard one of the staff make mention that remodeling is near. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we have never experienced any of the housekeeping issues that other reviewers have.

There are many awful motels in the South Bend area - I know because we have stayed in them before we found this place. The prices are inflated for football games and graduation which makes them even worse.

This hotel is our first choice for off season. For football games, we stay in Elkhart as the motels are more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDNJMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
1.1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
8.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 30 in South Bend
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £76 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing