We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum, yum yum”

Macri's Italian Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in South Bend
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum, yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely delicious sweet treats of all kinds
Try the Italian wedding cake. Delicious for any occasion

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent salads and sandwiches (plus desserts)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It's been a while since I visited the downtown Macri's, but I am glad I did at this visit back to South Bend. The desserts are still outstanding and the lunch service and food were worth the trip back. I had the chicken cobb salad that was loaded with everything and tasted wonderfully. My friend had one of the chicken wraps and loved it. Staff is professional, friendly and very prompt.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Canoli!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were traveling through and saw the words "Italian Bakery," and we looked at each other and said "Canoli!" Confirmation enough -- we knew where we were headed next! We were pleasantly surprised as this is more than a bakery -- it is a deli, authentic Italian grocery, and sandwich shop, too. And, at the same location is a nicer, sit-down restaurant type restaurant. We selected a box full of beautiful canoli, another box with tea cakes and a loaf of ciabatta from the bakery, olives, and a fresh mozz & tomato salad from the deli, and then we shared an Italian grinder sandwich. Finally we picked up some fun varieties of pasta. You would have thought that our bill would have been huge, but it was very very reasonable! We took the spoils of our find on the road, and shared them with family ... who hoarded the leftovers ... looks like we might have to make another road trip soon to visit this gem of a spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor, me
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice spot fo lunch. More than a bakery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Here's my deal, I know stuff. Actually, strike that, I rely on other people who know stuff to tell me what stuff I need to know and then by proxy I know stuff. Ya know?

My secret talent is picking places to eat. I use reviews (what up TripAdvisor!), intuition, subtle feedback from those eating with me, and a shiny heads-only quarter. Don't mess with my system, I'm never wrong. Step yo game up.

Sometimes I even pick a place that doesn't seem like a perfect fit for a member of my crew just so I can challenge myself. This is one of those instances.

I was traveling with a mixed crew - kids, older (read: old) people, etc. The pressure was on.

I saw the reviews for Macri's and it looked legit (spoiler alert, it is legit, sorry if you haven't seen season two yet). Sandwiches, baked goods, etc. Let's do this.

We roll up in there and someone in my crew said "a bakery? You took us to a bakery?" Yep. Totes did. Grab a sando and sit down. Sit down and enjoy that beautiful toasty pile of meats and cheeses on focaccia. Do it. And so they did. And it was glorious.

And that's how I know stuff.

Oh, all the baked goods are banging too. Trust.

Helpful?
1 Thank skimaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick lunch option.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was in town for business and found this restaurant close to the meeting location. I ordered a sandwich and artichoke salad. The fresh bread was amazing and made a great sandwich. The food was good and large portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macri's Italian Bakery also viewed

 
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Macri's Italian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing