We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Volcano Restaurant

Volcano Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 297 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Http://www.volcanosb.com/home
Restaurant details
Description: Http://www.volcanosb.com/home
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Had pizza and manicotti. Excellent pizza but the manicotti needed a little more spices. Service was excellent and she got a good tip. Price was good as well. I will return on my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Real italian - neighborhood place”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I had the pizza before for carry out - very good. But I wanted to eat it in. The dinners were very good, have large portions, and the service is good. If you have an issue, the owner is there and will fix it right away. We didn't have any issues. We had Cannelloni, Lasagna, Veal Parmesan, and Fettuccine Alfredo. We all loved it and had to pack half of it to take home, the portions are that large. Also, for four, we got a whole loaf of garlic bread. Everything was very fresh and made well. They don't have the high-brow interior, but it's comfortable and it's clean and that's what matters. This is definitely a local crowd, and was busy for a Sunday night. They know where to go. The carry out business was also brisk - another good indicator of good food.

I also like that they are friendly to the local police, whom I saw picking up a large order. There is a place near the door honoring the local police. Cool.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuncanRipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Volcano is one of those places that a hidden gem of the west side. It has great food at a reasonable price. Pizza is one of the best in town and if you love Italian food you should stop in. The owner's are always on site to ensure that your dining experience is up to your expectations. It's has a small dining area and an outside patio for the warmer months. Try it out, I'm positive it won't be your last visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, oh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A terrific small restaurant”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It was very close to the hotel I was staying at and it was recommended by the hotel staff. It is a small local restaurant that always has good serivce and delicious menu items to choose from. The garlic, cheese bread is to die for....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have the pizza”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Establishment has been here for years. Full service restaurant. Beer and wine available. I recommend the pizza. About 30 minutes to the table. Excellent service. Caring ownership.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volcano Restaurant also viewed

South Bend, IN
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Volcano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing