We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delish! Fresh n quick (but not so quick it scares ya)”

Elia's Mediterranean Cuisine
Ranked #32 of 293 Restaurants in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a family owned and operated establishment, located at our new location on 2128 South Bend Ave, across the street from Martin's, near the corner of SR23 and Ironwood.We strive to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere with traditional Mediterranean cuisine with many meat and vegetarian menu options. If you want a unique, warm, and tasteful dining experience, Elia’s is the pace to be.
2 reviews
“Delish! Fresh n quick (but not so quick it scares ya)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Traveling across country we're always looking for FRESH vegan and vegetarian restaurants w/o the gluten fake meat stuff. This made the delish list! Had the mezzah sampler appetizer, vegetarian combo and grill combo. Would get it all again. Hummus, baba ghannouge, tabouli and dolmas fresh n perfect. Grill combo good but kebab was boring, chicken was best part- very moist. Besided falafel being fried, I LOVED veg combo. Wait staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinHealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Elia's food is fresh, reasonably priced and delicious. There is something for everyone, even if they do not prefer the more unusual dishes. Their garlic paste and hummous are awesome, as well as everything I have tried on the menu since they have been in business (10 years maybe?). Sweet treats too. Great for vegetarian options. Service very efficient. The owner is very on top of things.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaffiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Date Night Mediterranean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

It has a nice little ambience to it with a menu that is neither pricey or cheap. You can enjoy a glass of wine or beer with your meal. They have small desserts to enjoy after your meal (I don't believe they are made in house, however) Service is casual and reliable. Food is consistently good (although they could make a better salad).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrystalEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana, United States
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My wife's birthday was yesterday, March 20th and I decided to take her to Elia's. We like to try different foods, and I knew she always wanted to go there. I tell you the truth, the food was excellent, and the service was Awesome. We will defiantly be going back often. If you never tasted Mediterranean food before, and always wanted to try it Elia's will be a great place to start. My hat is off to the cook, who is the owner, and also to the awesome service, thank you so much for making my wife's birthday so awesome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abirdie613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
232 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not the best. Not going back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

There are other much better Mediterranean restaurants in the area. We are garlic fans BUT, the amount they use here is way over the top. It was so potent that it was not edible. We politely questioned the dish but no attempt was made to accommodate. "That's just the way it's made." Well, no it's not. We've had it several places around the Mediterranean. Service was haughty and slow. Waitress actually sat down with a table of what appeared to be "regulars" and pretty much ignored the rest of the patrons. I'm pretty sure we'll bypass Elia's on the way to other options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elia's Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Elia's Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing