We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place”
Review of Sunny Italy Cafe

Sunny Italy Cafe
Ranked #40 of 294 Restaurants in South Bend
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Bigger place than you would think. We did eat early, and had the dining room almost to ourselves. Nice menu. Reasonable cost, after all it is pasta. Came on a recommendation from the hotel. Oldest restaurant in South Bend, still family run. We were happy we came here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tree56LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very big disappointment!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a family table reserved for 18-20 people. The service was awful, the food was not a good value for the high price we paid !!best We would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the Best in South Bend”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I have never had a bad meal at this restaurant and have been going to it for over thirty years. You may have to wait for a table but it is worth it. The spaghetti sauce and pan fried chicken are just awesome. I've travelled all over Italy and could not find better sauce or chicken. Some of the waiters have worked their longer than I have frequented the place which I think is pretty cool. If you go after a Notre Dame game you will need to just chill out and go with the flow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

It is restaurant week in South Bend and we expected an above average experience.
We were seated and for at least 10 minutes weren't even acknowledged. Finally a
waiter asked if anyone had helped us. We ordered from the special restaurant week
menu. Spaghetti and meatball....the salad came on a cold plate, but was limp and appeared to
have been sitting for some time...the dressing was very good. The main meal arrived and the meatball was the smallest I have ever been served and it was tasteless. Wouldn't you think
when you have the opportunity to showcase your restaurant during this special time, you would go out our of your way to take orders quickly and serve the best food you can? Our waiter turned out to be very kind and friendly, but the overall experience was a zero. We will not return. (the tables are very close together and do not provide any privacy)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yomom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food and family atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

What a great place to go for good Italian food after a Notre Dame football game. I called several weeks before our party of 8 were coming from Winston-Salem to South Bend and found the owner to be the nicest person. Plus she is a great cook. We had a great time and will definitely come back again when we return to South Bend in 2015.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnReff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunny Italy Cafe also viewed

South Bend, IN
South Bend, IN
 

Been to Sunny Italy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing