We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring time retreat!”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lafayette, indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spring time retreat!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We decided to stay one night at Oliver Inn on our way to tulip festival in Holland, MI. We were not disappointed in the accomodations or service at Oliver Inn. We found the inn to be quiet, clean, lovely gardens and yummy breakfast. Alice and Tom were friendly and helpful. Make sure you have a meal at Tippecanoe Place restaurant which is next door. It was the former Studebaker Mansion and well worth a trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Oliver Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your way to Holland! I hope the Tulips were beautiful!
I hope you will make this an annual event and we will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
147
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We came to the Oliver Inn after having purchased a coupon from livingsocial.com. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Everything was put together so nicely and we felt right at home from the moment we stepped inside. Plus, Alice is an exceptional baker and her strawberry french toast for breakfast in the morning was out of this world! Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Oliver Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crcrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Oliver Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
We are so glad you got in on our special offer. Please look for other offers on our website, our Facebook page and our blog! We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My business hosted a "Royal Wedding Viewing Party" at the next-door Tippecanoe Place on Friday, April 29 at 5 am -- rather than drive 40 minutes at the crack of dawn, I called Tom and Alice to see if a room might be available.... my 10 year old granddaughter was accompanying me.

Tom booked us in the Clem room and it was AWESOME..... a nice queen bed, a big bathroom with a towel heater and, to my granddaughter's delight, chocolates on the pillow!

The Oliver Inn is extremely clean and well maintained and Alice's pasteries are to DIE for!

Don't miss this gem!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TiaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Tom and Alice are great innkeepers. Great food, service, amenities, and an eye to details that was much appreciated. The place is exceptionally clean and homey. We are a multi-cultural family and appreciated that kind reception. We loved the history of the house and the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Oliver Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
We enjoyed having your family with us for night! We love the history of our home and living in this historic neighborhood. We hope you will get to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Our stay here was wonderful! The little extra touches made this B&B just perfect for our anniversary celebration. The bed was super comfortable, we had a fireplace in our room, and in the bathroom there was a cute little clawfoot tub and AWESOME shower (separate from the tub!), as well as a towel warmer. They even included bubble bath! The owners were sweet and attentive without being pushy or overbearing. The breakfast was also incredible - maple sausage, pumpkin bread and stuffed panini french toast! Yummm! Location is close to Notre Dame and there are great restaurants super close as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Oliver Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us, we are glad you had a great visit! The Clem Studebaker Room is one of our favorite rooms too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tn.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We always prefer to stay in B& B's, so when we discovered The Oliver Inn on our way to Michigan it sounded perfect. Everything about our stay was perfect from the time we checked in until check out the next morning. The innkeepers were gracious hosts. Our room was beyond expectations, comfortable bed, charm, gas fireplace, clawfoot tub and separate shower. Breakfast was great, Italian omelet, fruit, and coffeecake with lots of coffee and hot tea.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaFranklin_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Oliver Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear Linda,

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you had a great retreat in Michigan and that you are able to stay with us again in the near future.
Alice and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Into turn of the century time and history, and this was one great experience. Love mansions and the history that go with them. We found the Oliver Inn to be an excellent choice for our little romantic get away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backwardpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bend
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Property: The Oliver Inn
Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing