We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved Our Visit”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband & I were traveling through South Bend and found the "Book a Last Minute Room" option on their website. I called and booked one of the rooms for 20% off the regular price. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed in the house, the rooms, the grounds. It's a beautiful place, and the owners are very accommodating. The breakfast was wonderful, and we enjoyed the player piano music while we were eating. The life-size "gentleman" playing the piano was a fun touch. We will definitely return the next time we're in the area.
We stayed in the Vincent Bendix room. It is one of the smaller rooms in the inn, but it was more than adequate. Plus we spent most of our time down in one of the two parlors and on the covered porch. You won't want to hide in your room at the Oliver Inn!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on the second floor of the home, but there's a chair lift for those who can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana8fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight getaway for our 3rd anniversary! We actually only traveled 20 minutes across town to The Oliver Inn, but as we pulled into the drive, it couldn't have felt like we were further away. The grounds were gorgeous, flowers in bloom, a beautiful fountain and lots of areas around the yards to sit and relax, including an old swing, a gazebo and lounge chairs. Alice greeted us right away and gave us a quick tour. The downstairs was gorgeous and well preserved. I loved the dining room area and the butlers pantry was stocked with homemade baked goods. We were shown upstairs to the James Oliver room. LOVED the room. Spacious and nice, with a fireplace and a huge jacuzzi bathtub in the adjoining bathroom. There was a couch and tv. Just a lovely room. I have to also add that the bed sheets were DIVINE, never felt such luxurious bedsheets. Even went looking for the tag the next morning we could see about ordering our own. In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast made by Tom and Alice. Stuffed French Toast with maple syrup, Alice even topped them with some serviceberries from their own yard! The bacon was delicious (I think Alice doctored it up), and had wonderful fresh fruit and a large chocolate chip muffin. Enjoyed getting to know everyone around the breakfast table. It was then we found out we were staying in a 5-star B&B that was a member of Select Registry Inn and B&B (the only one in IN)! Not surprising at all! We hung around downstairs before we left, took lots of beautiful pictures outside of the gardens and yard. There is a beautiful porch on the front of the house. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and while it was nice to not have to travel far to get there, I would highly recommend making a long trip to stay at this wonderful Inn! Thank you Tom and Alice for being a part of our 3rd anniversary get away!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In some ways I don't want to review the Oliver Inn because I don't want too many people to know about it because then it might become harder to get a reservation. :-) The interior decorating at the inn is beautiful and tasteful; the breakfasts are delicious; the neighborhood is interesting with lots of nearby old houses, museums, and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestMeetsEast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

My parents and I traveled to South Bend to celebrate my mom's 87th birthday. We fortunately stayed at the Oliver Inn. It was so beautiful, historic and comfortable. The food was great and our hosts Alice and Tom were so helpful and welcoming. They even let my Dad bring his little dog who goes every where with him. We all had a great time. My mom enjoyed riding the chairlift up the stairs and saving her steps for the nearby Oliver Mansion and our tour there. Its a must see as is dining at the historic Tippiecanoe right next door to the Inn. The neighborhood was just beautiful and well located. Thank you Alice and Tom for a great time and the wonderful memories! Mom says we need to come back for her 90th!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retire2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We visited South Bend for the Notre Dame Reunion. While deciding on a place to stay, we chose The Oliver Inn based on the great reviews on TripAdvisor and its close proximity to campus (a short drive). Once we entered the Inn, we could certainly understand why other travellers love to stay here. Not only is the Inn beautiful and very well-maintained, but Alice and Tom, the innkeepers, are very warm, friendly, and accommodating. Did we mention the delicious breakfasts and the homemade cookies (right out of the oven!) that mysteriously appear in the Butler's Pantry and are the perfect little treat just when you need one? A pleasant surprise and a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend The Oliver Inn.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BobKathyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

What can I say but, WONDERFUL. My wife & I stayed at Oliver House on Friday, May 10,2013 while on a rare mileage rail riding adventure on five or six short line railroads in Indiana, Michigan & Ohio. We stayed at B & B's the entire six(6) day trip & the Oliver Inn was the best. Tom & Alice were great. We ate next door at "Tippacanoe" the old Studabaker mansion & the Erlandson's were able to get us $10 discount on dinner. In addition, they had an array of Deneen pottery coffee mugs, creamers, sugar bowls & wine coolers for purchase. We collect Deneen pottery & found it great to be able to get a few pieces. WONDERFUL.

Room Tip: All rooms ae excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Oliver House for four nights while we were in South Bend for an event at Notre Dame. While it was tempting to say closer to campus, we were attracted to this historic house and figured we'd check it out. We love inns and B&Bs. Tom and Alice did not disappoint. Our stay was delightful. Our hosts were so friendly and just made us feel at home. They know the area well and have good recommendations on places to go and places to dine. And Alice whips up some fantastic food and there are always warm cookies laying around. We will definitely be staying there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steverAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
919 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
621 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range: £112 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing