We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If your travels every bring you to South Bend, IN we absolutely recommend you consider staying at the Oliver Inn. Over the 10 plus years we've been going to visit out kids during their tenures at ND we've been very fortunate to be guests of Alice and Tom's beautiful, warm and extremely "homey" B&B. Everything is first rate from the ample parking, clean/comfortable rooms, delicious (actually gourmet!) breakfasts and even fesh baked cookies in the afternoons. Both Tom and Alice are natural hosts who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and provide you with above and beyond service.

Room Tip: Tom and Alice can also cater a dinner or other parties in the B&B and their living spaces are av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We go to many bed and breakfasts across the country and this one was no dissapointment. Tom and Alice are very nice and we came in about 7 ish because we decided last minute. We were shown our room Clem Studebaker which i was not dissapointed with. One thing that alot of bed and breakfasts miss on is the drinks and snacks part.. this is a small step that can have huge impact on the way a couple or individual looks at an inn. This in offered just that; the butler station had available got tea or coffee and drinks all night. also we love watching movies when we go to a bed and breakfast so it was nice they had a little selesction of movies. The bed was beyond comfortable-o-m-g, i didnt want to get out! But then again i did because the quiche and breakfast items were so good! i had to pace myself. The yard is beautiful too, the swingset and flowers surrounding the yard and B&B are a great touch :)

Room Tip: we loved the clem studebaker but usually we like rooms with hottubs so it depends on what you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tom and Alice are very dedicated hosts. During the first night of our four night stay the power went off in a large area of downtown South Bend, including the Inn. Tom rose at 2am to light fireplaces and place flashlights in strategic locations so his guests could see. He also secured a large generator to restore power to the Inn within 24 hours, even though the city's power grid remained down for over 3 days. The inconvenience to the guests was minimal. Meanwhile, Alice went to a nearby kitchen with power to bake items for breakfast. Now that is teamwork and dedication to the comfort of their clientele!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in the James Oliver room, LOVED it. All the wonderful reviews I read about this place were accurate, I will definitely be returning. Breakfasts prepared for us each morning were fantastic, the environment is very clean and welcoming and comfortable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spoke with Alice to make the reservation and she came to know that I was the featured speaker at a professional meeting. Upon arrival, she quickly recognized my professional colleague from South Bend, and greeted both of us. Soon, as I was checking in, my baggage disappeared (Tom helped spontaneously.) to my room! Very friendly ambiance of a home, with clean and comfortable rooms. She enabled breakfast very early next morning for me and my local colleague with my dietary restriction in mind, though Tom and Alice had to leave for a community meeting.

Very pleasant and welcoming stay, and I would strong recommend The Liver Inn for any visitor to South Bend, Indiana!

Room Tip: Leave it to Alice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravindran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent the weekend with family at this gracious inn in South bend. Quaint rooms and pleasant company. Knowledgeable hosts about history of inn. Good breakfast and snacks available all day. A bit pricey for a bed and breakfast. Many rooms have whirlpools and separate showers. Discounted cards available for the Tippecanoe Restaurant next door- and you will want to take advantage of this card if you are eating there- it is good, but expensive as you can guess.

Room Tip: There are rooms both the second and third floor- and of course, no elevator. Some rooms are rather s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BayCitySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a lovely time at the Inn. Innkeepers (Tom & Alice) were wonderful with local information and recommendations (restaurants, museums, and carriage ride). Great hosts; very nice breakfasts. A welcoming change of pace from the hotel scene. It was our first stay in Southbend, but not our last. We highly suggest you give The Oliver Inn a try!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Knute Rocknie suite. Spacious and comfortable (and a very unique balcony where we e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louannejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bend
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
620 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range: £113 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing