We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time B&B Stay”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“First Time B&B Stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B and Alice and Tom were wonderful!! The Inn is over 120 years old and beautifully maintained. We stayed in the Charles Studebaker room which had a working fireplace (although too warm for that), and hugh king size bed. The dining room is very elegant and Alice's breakfast spread is to die for, homemade chocolate croissant, broccoli and cheese quiche, homemade banana bread, fruit...what more can I say. There is also a pantry which is open 24 hours/day with a frig full of drinks and there homegoodies as well!! It is a short drive to the Notre Dame Campus so if you are ever in the area I would definitely recommened The Oliver Inn!.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
147
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first visit in South Bend and at Oliver's Inn. Alice and Tom are wonderful! The breakfasts are made from scratch, the french toast is velvety smooth. The breakfast kabobs are unusually delightful. Sausage and pineapple what a combo. The room that we had was inviting. My husband had ordered the pampered package, chocolate, roses, sparkling juice, and rose pedals all over the bed and floor. Wonderful touch! They recommended next door at the Tippecanoe Restaurant and it was a hit! Everything for the whole weekend was wonderful!

Room Tip: Gertrudes Dressing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,303 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were going to meet a couple at The Oliver Inn following a special occasion in Chicago. Their plans changed, and we cancelled reservations we had made for them in Chicago and South Bend and went anyway, but The Oliver Inn claims that they did not receive our cancellation for our friends' room. Their cancellation policy is clear on their web site, and technically and contractually they had the right to charge us for our friends' room. However, the inn was not full, their room did not have to be cleaned, and in our opinion, it was unethical, undue enrichment and not in the spirit of guest satisfaction. It would have been more palatable if a compromise fee could have been reached. It was not the type of hospitality that we are accustomed to by a Select Registry facility, and we have stayed in several Select Registry B&Bs. However, we later found out that The Oliver Inn has not been a Select Registry facility since April (We stayed there in July.), and they are still using advertising as a Select Registry and have been told to cease using such advertising by Select Registry a couple of times and still have not done so further questioning their ethics. As an Inn, The Oliver Inn is beautiful inside and out. The gardens and rooms are all very tastefully decorated, and Tom and Alice have thought of everything to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast was good, and Tom was kind enough to help us with our bags up two flights of stairs which we are unaccustomed to in most B&Bs. Lovely inn, just very disappointed with the lack of trying to do the right thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Knute, and it was large and quiet with a nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I'm not a B&B person. But I will always stay with Alice and Tom when in South Bend. The rooms are lovely-- modern and functional, yet, with that B&B flavor. The grounds are well-kept, the house is walking distance to downtown. Many of the rooms have gorgeous tubs and bathrooms. And I'm out like a light in the beds, which are so very comfortable. It's like staying at the home of friends you just met, except not at all awkward. And Alice makes a killer breakfast. Stay at The Oliver Inn-- trust me on this!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first stay at the Oliver Inn, but it won't be our last. Every single aspect of our stay was exceptional. Our hosts, Tom & Alice Erlandson not only took care of our every need, they anticipated it. Alice's cooking and baking is perfection, rooms are attractive, clean and comfortable; in a word, the house feels like home, a very comfortable and warm home. Great restaurants, museums and the downtown district are all within walking distance.

When we were looking at descriptions and reviews to choose a B&B to visit, we couldn't understand how this inn could have earned almost all five star reviews. Having stayed there and met Alice & Tom,
it's evident to us that there aren't enough stars to do Oliver Inn justice.

If you visit (and you should) we recommend the Three Mansions package to round out a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenLaurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I can't say enough about our experience here. First of all, even when we approached the home, we noticed it was surrounded by beautiful lawn and gardens. It is a huge old Victorian home that has been restored with love and taste. Decorations take you back in time. We stayed in Gertrude's Dressing Room - and it was adorable. There was a queen bed (very nice sheets!), and private bathroom with an absolutely wonderful BIG Jacuzzi, and shower. The room still has the original architecture, showing the division of the closet where dresses were stored, and the dressing area with 3 big beveled mirrors where the lady of the house would try on her gowns. Felt I was in a time machine and living a Victorian dream. Alice made us feel at home immediately. When we asked for a dining recommendation, she recommended Tippecanoe Place - which was right next door within walking distance (you must consider eating there) - it was fabulous. When we came back from dinner, Alice reminded us that there were fresh baked cookies in the butler's pantry and coffee/tea if we would like some. If it had not been raining earlier we would have taken the cookies and coffee to one of the many outside sitting areas. When we went up to our room, there were chocolate medallions waiting for us on our pillows! After a very pleasant night, we woke up to wonderful breakfast smells. Oh my - breakfast was served in the very beautiful dining room - be sure and look up at the ceiling! We were served german pancakes, and had a nice buffet with sausages, fresh fruit, home made bread and chocolate croissants! Talk about feeling spoiled! We plan to come here again on our way to and from Des Moines. Absolutely one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in, and the close by restaurant makes this a tough combination to beat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 323Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If your travels every bring you to South Bend, IN we absolutely recommend you consider staying at the Oliver Inn. Over the 10 plus years we've been going to visit out kids during their tenures at ND we've been very fortunate to be guests of Alice and Tom's beautiful, warm and extremely "homey" B&B. Everything is first rate from the ample parking, clean/comfortable rooms, delicious (actually gourmet!) breakfasts and even fesh baked cookies in the afternoons. Both Tom and Alice are natural hosts who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and provide you with above and beyond service.

Room Tip: Tom and Alice can also cater a dinner or other parties in the B&B and their living spaces are av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bend
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#4 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Property: The Oliver Inn
Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing