We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a new home away from home”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have traveled so much and didn't realize how generally poor customer service was these days - until our stay at The Oliver Inn. We truly felt like family as we dropped off the youngest of our children to begin his freshman year at the University of Notre Dame. We were in need of some TLC and we got that from our hosts. They really felt like family and they totally understood what we were going through. We live about 800 miles away, so visits will be few, but it is wonderful to know that we have a clean and welcoming place to stay when we return. Breakfast was delicious. We really can't say enough good things about our visit.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a snack in the butler's pantry at night. Cupcakes were homemade yummy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinwithfido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

A wonderful historic BnB in South Bend. My sister and I stayed for a few nights while visiting relatives. Alice & Tom go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are lovely, the beds are super comfortable, and the breakfasts are divine. Tea, coffee and home-baked goodies always available, too! We loved it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Clem Studebaker and the James Oliver rooms. They were both large and luxuriou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B and Alice and Tom were wonderful!! The Inn is over 120 years old and beautifully maintained. We stayed in the Charles Studebaker room which had a working fireplace (although too warm for that), and hugh king size bed. The dining room is very elegant and Alice's breakfast spread is to die for, homemade chocolate croissant, broccoli and cheese quiche, homemade banana bread, fruit...what more can I say. There is also a pantry which is open 24 hours/day with a frig full of drinks and there homegoodies as well!! It is a short drive to the Notre Dame Campus so if you are ever in the area I would definitely recommened The Oliver Inn!.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first visit in South Bend and at Oliver's Inn. Alice and Tom are wonderful! The breakfasts are made from scratch, the french toast is velvety smooth. The breakfast kabobs are unusually delightful. Sausage and pineapple what a combo. The room that we had was inviting. My husband had ordered the pampered package, chocolate, roses, sparkling juice, and rose pedals all over the bed and floor. Wonderful touch! They recommended next door at the Tippecanoe Restaurant and it was a hit! Everything for the whole weekend was wonderful!

Room Tip: Gertrudes Dressing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were going to meet a couple at The Oliver Inn following a special occasion in Chicago. Their plans changed, and we cancelled reservations we had made for them in Chicago and South Bend and went anyway, but The Oliver Inn claims that they did not receive our cancellation for our friends' room. Their cancellation policy is clear on their web site, and technically and contractually they had the right to charge us for our friends' room. However, the inn was not full, their room did not have to be cleaned, and in our opinion, it was unethical, undue enrichment and not in the spirit of guest satisfaction. It would have been more palatable if a compromise fee could have been reached. It was not the type of hospitality that we are accustomed to by a Select Registry facility, and we have stayed in several Select Registry B&Bs. However, we later found out that The Oliver Inn has not been a Select Registry facility since April (We stayed there in July.), and they are still using advertising as a Select Registry and have been told to cease using such advertising by Select Registry a couple of times and still have not done so further questioning their ethics. As an Inn, The Oliver Inn is beautiful inside and out. The gardens and rooms are all very tastefully decorated, and Tom and Alice have thought of everything to make your stay pleasant. The breakfast was good, and Tom was kind enough to help us with our bags up two flights of stairs which we are unaccustomed to in most B&Bs. Lovely inn, just very disappointed with the lack of trying to do the right thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Knute, and it was large and quiet with a nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I'm not a B&B person. But I will always stay with Alice and Tom when in South Bend. The rooms are lovely-- modern and functional, yet, with that B&B flavor. The grounds are well-kept, the house is walking distance to downtown. Many of the rooms have gorgeous tubs and bathrooms. And I'm out like a light in the beds, which are so very comfortable. It's like staying at the home of friends you just met, except not at all awkward. And Alice makes a killer breakfast. Stay at The Oliver Inn-- trust me on this!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first stay at the Oliver Inn, but it won't be our last. Every single aspect of our stay was exceptional. Our hosts, Tom & Alice Erlandson not only took care of our every need, they anticipated it. Alice's cooking and baking is perfection, rooms are attractive, clean and comfortable; in a word, the house feels like home, a very comfortable and warm home. Great restaurants, museums and the downtown district are all within walking distance.

When we were looking at descriptions and reviews to choose a B&B to visit, we couldn't understand how this inn could have earned almost all five star reviews. Having stayed there and met Alice & Tom,
it's evident to us that there aren't enough stars to do Oliver Inn justice.

If you visit (and you should) we recommend the Three Mansions package to round out a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenLaurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
919 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
621 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range: £112 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing