We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Amish country”
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in Amish country”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Loved the Inn. Tom and Alice were so helpful in providing information of all types about the area; i.e. directions and suggested places to visit. The food was wonderful and the service was great! The rooms are beautiful, as are the grounds. Spent a couple of hours Saturday evening enjoying the amenities on the grounds ( porch swing, gazebo, fountain) with a bottle of wine that Tom had chilled for us. Lovely way to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLPKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
150
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

My hubby and I stayed one night at this wonderful, beautiful B and B. Tom and Alice were friendly, informative hosts. The candelight breakfast in the beautiful dining room was very nice....(as well as scrumptious also!) We commented to each other how QUIET our room was as to not hearing anyone else even though the inn was full that night!! We plan to return and hope next time to stay two nights rather than one!! (One night wasn't enough to be spoiled by the beauty of this historically- filled inn!)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CozSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2009

A superior bed and breakfast! The owners made us feel so welcome and were very personable. The rooms were impeccable and very homey. The snacks were a very pleasant surprise (fresh baked cookies!), and the breakfast was delicious. A great getaway, and we WILL return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrose17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

For our annual trip with our dear friends, we decided on the Oliver Inn. We enjoyed everything! The innkeepers were particularly helpful and generous. The rooms were nice and the breakfast enjoyable. We also enjoyed a good dinner next door at Tippecanoe, which we could walk to!

  • Liked — The innkeepers
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vspalmisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2008

The Oliver Inn is a wonderful experience- beautifully appointed rooms with creature comforts- our home away from home while visiting our students at Notre Dame! We enjoy our experience every time. The breakfasts are delicious- Alice's cinammon buns are mouthwatering and her stuffed french toast is amazing! The flower gardens provide a restful sanctuary and my husband makes a direct line to the shady yard and hammock!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank wrinklepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The accommodations were excellent and even included chocolates on the pillows! Besides the inside accommodations the outside was beautifully landscaped. There were very thoughtful touches from the beginning of our stay to the very end. Even homemade snacks and beverages were for the taking in the bulter pantry. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. I say breakfasts because we stayed one night on our way to Michigan and stayed another evening on our way back from Michigan. That tells you how enjoyable that our first experience was and the second was just as enjoyable. Tom and Alice are friendly, hospitable Inn Keepers. We readily recommend the Oliver Inn to everyone. You will not be sorry if you stay there; you may be sorry if you don't! When we travel through that area again, Oliver Inn will be our choice to stay.

  • Liked — The gourmet breakfasts
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bmw53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2008

This was my first time in a B&B. The interiors of this Victorian mansion were very well kept, extremely clean. The Innkeepers were very attentive and helpful, wounderful hosts.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Neighborhood kind of deteriorated
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1timejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
576 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
2.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Property: The Oliver Inn
Address: 630 W Washington St, South Bend, IN 46601-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing