We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuinely nice innkeepers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oliver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 South Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
near Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Genuinely nice innkeepers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2007

Some innkeepers are nice in a calculating way: ingratiating or overly sweet. Tom and Alice are genuinely nice people who just care about your experience. For instance, most inns know how to do a good breakfast, but these folks learn your beverage preference the first morning and it readily appears thereafter. They are candid about area restaurants and want you simply to enjoy yourself.

Very warm and natural, not weary in the 'seen it all' way of some hosts.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JoynearChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
144
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2006

I've stayed at the Oliver Inn several times in the past year when I've been in town to visit friends. What a beautiful place! It's a Victorian mansion that was privately owned until fairly recently (maybe 15-20 years ago), when it was turned into a bed and breakfast. The furnishings and decor are gorgeous, but also comfortable and inviting. There are lots of common areas where you can relax and enjoy one of several fireplaces. Our favorite room (the Studebaker suite) is spacious and has a lovely view, also has its own fireplace.

But even more welcoming than the Inn itself is the hosts--Tom and Alice. They are friendly, helpful, and Alice is a fanstastic cook and chef. There are always yummy, homemade treats available in the "butler's pantry," and the breakfasts are out of this world!

While it's a lovely romantic getaway for a couple, it is also family-friendly (we have a 2-year-old who is always warmly welcomed) and one time when we were there, there were also some business travellers. The hosts are very flexible and seemed to go out of their way to meet guests' particular needs.

My husband and I can't wait till we're able to get back to South Bend again and enjoy the Oliver Inn. We highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Gracious hospitality of the hosts
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2004

A beautiful inn close to downtown South Bend. The common areas and the rooms are very tastefully decorated and are warm and inviting. Many rooms have fireplaces and all have TV's. I highly recommend this inn.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fatdogtavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2004

The Oliver Inn in South Bend, Indiana is at the top of our favorites list. The historic mansion is lovingly decorated in Victoria elegance and sits on a lush acre of manicured gardens, a nice place to sit on the lawn swing and relax while listening to the grand fountain trickle. The host and hostess are enthusiastic to tell the history of days gone by. You can just imagine yourself get transported in time when you sit in the parlor and listen to the music from the grand piano. There are complementary treats in the butlers panty and a candlelight breakfast on fine china in front of the fire is a treat.

A wonderful diner to extend the evening of historic discovery was in the restaurant just a short walk next door the Studebaker Mansion. Then to return to our grand room with a comfy King bed, leaded glass windows, beautiful hard wood floors and large bathroom with a nice double air jet tub. What more could anyone want.

Each morning or evening Dick and Venera or their staff helps with things to do and places to go in the area. They watch over the Inn to make sure each guest is cared for. Weather your visiting the area for Notre Dame; on business or just learning history this is the best place to stay in South Bend. We will be returning again and again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2004

The Oliver Inn is a great turn of the 19th century Victorian with all the modern conveniences. This bed and breakfast came recommended by friends whom we were to meet next door at Tippicanoe Place for dinner.
Since we had come 83 miles, we reserved a room at the Oliver Inn.

The Inn was built in the late 1800s. You can just picture ladies in long fancy dresses sweeping down one of the two staircases. It is very well preserved and homey. The room we stayed in (the Vincent Bendix room) was cozy and warm, if a bit small. But remember, as a bed and breakfast, it is more a guest room in someone's house than an anonymous unit in a motel. And larger rooms are available. Most of the rooms come with private bathrooms, some larger and more opulent than the others.
Guests are encouraged to use the library, a candle-lit breakfast is served in the dining room, and complementary snacks are provided in the butler's pantry, and available 24/7. I would heartily recommend the Oliver Inn to anyone. In fact, we are returning next month to spend our wedding anniversary.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.8 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Inn

Property: The Oliver Inn
Address: 630 West Washington Street, South Bend, IN 46601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oliver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian 25 room mansion was built for entertaining. Guests may choose from one of nine large and beautifully decorated guest rooms, some with fireplaces, private balcony, claw foot tubs, marble sinks or Jacuzzi. Lovely landscaped one acre estate with lawn swings, gardens, gazebo and fountain. The Bavarian style Carriage House is an archetectural gem, totally unique to the area and has been newly renovated into a two bedroom, two bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Oliver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oliver Hotel South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing