We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Notre Dame game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here at the Doubletree for the opening game of Notre Dame vs Temple U. We were welcomed by a super friendly young lady in a Notre Dame jersey with the famous warm, fresh chocolate chip cookies. Check in was a breeze. The hotel seems like it's had a very recent re-do, with brand new carpets in the hallways etc. The hotel is very modern and in downtown South Bend. Breakfast was very good and they provided a free shuttle to the football game. My only complaint was that parking was not free at $9 a night. Other than that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel while attending the Notre Dame football game. So glad that you enjoyed our warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie upon arrival. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The central location of this hotel was perfect for our recent trip to a football game. The hotel itself is an average Doubletree. Nice enough, but didn't blow me away. Disappointed at not receiving the additional HHonors check-in amenities I requested, and I know that my husband missed the classic Doubletree cookies--nowhere to be found. Did not feel any employees really went the extra mile or cared that we were longtime and frequent Hilton customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. We are pleased that you found our central location to be convenient; however, regret that we did not create a rewarding experience for you. We appreciate your feedback, as it will assist in training and improving upon our services. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you on your next visit to South Bend. Please contact me personally if I may be of assistance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Family trip to Note Dame Football game with my grandsons and sons in law was a great trip until I lost my wallet. Staff was very helpful in trying to locate and return it but I had left on car roof, it fell off a block from the hotel and a good citizen of Notre Dame returned it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. We are so glad to hear that your wallet was found and returned to you. We are pleased that you and your grandson enjoyed our hotel and the Notre Dame football game. Hope to see you again soon. Go Irish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

In 1984 this property began as a Marriott Hotel and for many years this was the best hotel in South Bend. We stayed there back then and enjoyed our visits.
The newly renovated Doubletree by Hilton is slowly emerging as the top dog once again.
The rooms are completely redone. Lots of granite and comfy beds, sheets and pillows along with all new lighting and furniture.
The front desk personnel are friendly and efficient. The maintenance staff and support staff are helpful. We had an AC leak and a bad TV but they were replaced without delay.
The pool and hot tub area has been remodeled and is very nice. The only caveat would be that sometimes the pool is a kid magnet, so arrive early.
The buffet breakfast is very extensive, with an omelet station.
This property is now among the top three in town.The building is still unique after all these years
and does not appear dated. The views of the St. Joe river are great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our DoubleTree in South Bend. We are glad that you like our extensive renovation and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to be a part of the growth and excitement in downtown South Bend. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

South Bend, Indiana is best known for being the home of the Fighting Irish, the University of Notre Dame. The company that I work for has an office in South Bend. Although, there are 25 hotels in the city, the Double Tree was a good choice. The hotel is very attractive and modern. There is ample free garage parking, shuttle service to the airport, an indoor/outdoor pool, exercise room, wi-fi service, flat screen TV, and all the amenities you could ask for. The room was spaceous, modern, clean, and very comfortable. We ate at the hotel. Breakfast was exceptional (the waitress was so perky, she made me feel like I needed to be perky too!) and the bar even better (the bartender really knows how to pour a good drink!). They are centrally located, so I would recommend if you don't want to eat in the hotel, to visit some of the restaurants outside the hotel within walking distance. The front desk attendants were friendly and when they ask you if you would like a warm cookie...take it! All-in-all, it was a pleasant stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaT969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We appreciate your review of our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel and amenities to meet all of your needs while on business. We are so glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and the friendly team serving breakfast and bartending. Thank you and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife stayed here during freshman orientation for our daughter.
I guess the best thing to say is that this hotel met our needs and was functional for the stay.
Nothing fancy, rooms fairly basic, on the last day housekeeping did not clean the room.
About ten minutes drive from the university.
Across the street is a great restaurant, cafe Navarro.
Location of the hotel was ok, but room faced the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your review of our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. I too am a parent missing my son and daughter while away at school. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, but regret your stay was not problem free. We do appreciate this feedback and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again while you visit your daughter at Notre Dame. Please contact me personally, if I may be of assistance. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived to South Bend on Friday called the hotel for transport to hotel. Delightful man named Nick picked us up. He gave us valuable information for the area and took great care of us!!! We were escorted to check in where everything went swiftly and we were treated to a warm..exceptional tasting cookie!!! The room was spotless, bed extraordinarly comfortable. We attended a wedding at the hotel that was lovely, great dinner. Breakfast had exceptional young lady waiting on us in the cafe' delicious food. All the staff was exceptional!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review of our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. It is so rewarding to hear that you enjoyed every part of your stay. We are so excited to share your comments with our team and commend them for their exceptional service. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
866 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
1.6 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#6 of 30 in South Bend
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Address: 123 N Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Bend
#6 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: £108 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 6,000 square feet of meeting space onsite, and an additional 150,000 square feet located in the adjacent Century Center Convention Complex, The Doubletree Hotel by Hilton is South Bends premier hotel for meetings and events. This 295 room luxury hotel is conveniently located in downtown South Bend within minutes of Notre Dame, St. Mary’s College, and the College Football Hall of Fame. As the only full service Hilton Hotel in South Bend, you can expect the highest level of service that is synonymous with the name Hilton. Enjoy spectacular views of the St. Joseph River along with easy walking to many of South Bends most popular attractions. Our onsite dining features locally inspired dishes that are sure to satisfy even the most discriminating critic. Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, The DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton South Bend will meet the mark every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Bend
South Bend Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing