We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power Outage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Carmichael, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Power Outage”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at South Bend's Doubletree downtown for our son's graduation. The downtown had a complete power outage for nearly 4 days that hampered our visit. After many hours (and long after the represented "turn on power" time), the generator was operational but was outside our room (where it blasted for the next 2 days straight). We should have moved to another hotel, but unfortunately, the hotels were packed. On the plus side, the fitness facility is good and it is easy to find the East Bank trail from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Karen M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our South Bend DoubleTree Hotel. Please accept our apology for the negative impact the downtown power outage had on your stay. We felt fortunate to be able to find a generator large enough for our hotel and office complex. However, we regret your room was impacted by the noise. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    243
    100
    50
    12
See reviews for
239
107
30
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

For pleasure or business this place has it all to offer. We loved all it has to offer along with all this town has to offer all within walking distance. The view of the river from our room was wonderful to wake up to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff was very welcoming, and the room was very clean. The bowl of fresh apples at the front desk is a nice touch! The cookies at check in are delicious! The toiletry tiems (shampoo, conditioner and lotion) are very nice. The only thing - wish there was a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warren, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. Even though this hotel is our companies contracted hotel. it is an excellent hotel for when i am at the office and not on the road. Unfortunately, we are not allowed such luxurious hotels while on the road, if we had a choice, double tree would be my first choice every time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Guillaume A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room and the service was outstanding - i had room service and they were super responsive.. Had trouble with the toilet - they came quickly - totally would book again... However, for the wedding itself - the wait staff was rude and the food was inconsistent - some steak cold, some over done, some with sauce some without.. would use again - but I would make sure it was a different wait staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our DoubleTree Hotel in South Bend. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your guestroom and services. Please accept our apology for the problem you experienced with the banquet staff and food during the reception. Your comments are extremely valuable to us in making decisions in training, and quality improvements. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western springs IL, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice room, linens and bed very comfy, very clean. Nice amenities for kids and staff was very patient. Restaurant and Starbucks a plus. Cash machine on site and meeting rooms were sufficient. All good, great place for large groups, families with kids or business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife found on the comforter that it had blood on it and so did the pillow she was sleeping on , that was the only problem we had with our stay. The hotel manager comped our room for the night which was the right thing for them to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin P, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our DoubleTree in South Bend. We appreciate your feedback as we continuously strive to make improvements to our hotel and services. Please let me know if I can be of assistance in welcoming you back on your next visit to South Bend. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
796 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
568 reviews
1.6 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Address: 123 N Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, South Bend, IN 46601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Bend
#6 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 6,000 square feet of meeting space onsite, and an additional 150,000 square feet located in the adjacent Century Center Convention Complex, The Doubletree Hotel by Hilton is South Bends premier hotel for meetings and events. This 295 room luxury hotel is conveniently located in downtown South Bend within minutes of Notre Dame, St. Mary’s College, and the College Football Hall of Fame. As the only full service Hilton Hotel in South Bend, you can expect the highest level of service that is synonymous with the name Hilton. Enjoy spectacular views of the St. Joseph River along with easy walking to many of South Bends most popular attractions. Our onsite dining features locally inspired dishes that are sure to satisfy even the most discriminating critic. Whether travelling on business or for pleasure, The DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton South Bend will meet the mark every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott South Bend
South Bend Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing