We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, grimy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, grimy hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely staff - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine. Thankfully, beds and linens were very clean.

However, the overall feel of the hotel was grimy. The hallways were overly perfumed (what were they hiding?), the carpets were stained (pet-friendly hotel), and the bathrooms were icky. It was the first day of our road trip and I wouldn't let the kids use the pool - I told them it was pink-eye waiting to happen. Grey/brown is not a normal color for pool water. Hotel staff has explained they will be renovating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    31
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
38
24
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

You get what you pay for here; no luxury, but a clean and serviceable experience. Beds were comfortable and the service is smooth. Their coffee is kind of terrible, though. Their parking lot is well-lit and has cameras, which is great for those on road trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beejeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I would love to say you get what for what you pay. Needless to say, I paid more than $79/night. Out of five: cleanliness: 4; comfort: 3; staff friendliness: 5; linen quality: 2

We we're given a room that had been smoked in, or at least smelled like it, complained, and the problem was resolved ASAP.

Would I stay here again? Maybe.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzy6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was able to make a reservation in July at this hotel for a football weekend. The price was reasonable for this period and at least 20 - 50% lower than other hotels in the area. After arriving in South Bend, some people made it sound like this was not a good place to go after they learned where we were staying. We arrived at the hotel about 9:00am on the day we were due to check in just to see what it looked like Not only was it newly remodeled and clean, the desk clerk said that we could get into our room immediately. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Even though our room was on the first floor and adjacent to the parking lot, it was very quiet. Also there was plenty of ice and a good breakfast was included. Upon our arrival at home, we realized that we were missing a set of car keys. We called back to the hotel and sure enough we had left them in the room. They immediately put them into Fed Express and sent them back to me (charged to my account number). Couldn't be happier with our choice of hotel. It is about 4-5 miles from the ND campus, but you can easily avoid traffic because you can drive there without the need to getting into high traffic areas.

Charlie

Room Tip: Room 124 has a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel was great! We had a minor error while booking online and they said "no worries, we will take care if you!" The place is very clean, up to date and very pleasant. The only con we had was the breakfast needs some attention.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmdegrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ask4qinnsbn, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for review and attention, thank you sir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We were driving all day and needed to sleep and get moving for another day of driving. Found this hotel using the TripAdvisor app and knew the going price. Stopped in without a reservation. Free parking. Nearby to Notre Dame. The first room we were given was not made up yet. We went back to the desk and the clerk was very nice and apologetic. She gave us another room. The room was clean and in order. My complaint(s) about the room were the extremely loud sound if the fridge. Louder than the AC unit. So loud the floor was rumbling. The beds also made excessive noise when getting in/out of the bed. Also no power outlets by the beds without unplugging the alarm clock.The bed and bedding were comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small. The bathroom and sink area are seperate.

Hair dryer and iron are in room.

A Free breakfast is included, which was an added value. Includes biscuits and gravy. Hard boiled eggs. Make your own waffles. Yogurt. Bagels. Muffins. Juices and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealMccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This Quality Inn has been recently remodeled - we were given a handicap room which has a little more space than "regular" room. Pillow top comfy beds & pillows. Soft sheets. What else could ya ask for. Bonus black spider in bathroom (which I valiantly took care of).

Friendly front desk staff. Hot breakfast. GPS gave us odd directions through some dark streets & trailer park.

Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie85614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#12 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#20 of 29 in South Bend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 4124 Lincoln Way W, South Bend, IN 46628-1251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality inn & Suites conveniently located near south bend airport, Shuttle service is available, 3.4 miles from NOtredame university, Recently Renovated, 100 % Non smoking, pool, fitness center, full hot breakfast provide everyday complementary, room with fridge and microwave, iron, hair dryer, charging device. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel South Bend
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn South Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing