We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Saint Mary's
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(South Bend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morris Inn(South Bend)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveller rating
670
197
61
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
197
61
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnotre dameshuttle servicemary's collegeholy crossfree shuttlebreakfast buffethome away from homesouth bend areagreat place to stayrooms are spaciousfootball weekendvery nice hotellate checkoatmealfront desk stafffitness centerexercise room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 953 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Inn at St, Mary's makes a good football weekend great! There is no football experience quite like a ND game weekend but trying to find a decent room is a big chore. If you can snag a room, it is yours for that weekend as long as you pay before Dec. 20 for the next year.
The Inn does a great job and is walk-able to ND or adjacent to the bus staging area for runs to the campus. They provide an excellent free breakfast every morning and the accommodations are first rate. The staff is very professional, and will go out of their way to be helpful. I have been going there for 7 years and while pricey it is a bargain.
If I had one complaint it would be that the room decor is very Midwestern, meaning drab brown and grey.

Room Tip: The concierge level upgrade is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rreishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

The Inn at Saint Mary's loves football weekends! The atmosphere on and around campus is great. Room rates are based on the market for game weekends. We do offer the game weekends in advance to perspective fans. Currently the Inn has plans to upgrade our rooms and suites beginning in 2014 now that the lobby and lounge renovations are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed here during previous football week-ends with great success. The service and ambience continues to be excellent. The hotel has added a pub type bar in the main entry room which appears to be very successful. Great area to discuss game statistics with the added flat screen TVs. Our room was basic and was listed as Non-smoking, however, the room did have a strong smoker smell. The room was very clean, very comfortable bed, and very quiet. The air conditioner unit was a little disturbing. The included breakfast was varied daily and very well done. Great service and guests were very friendly. All in all --very peasant experience and will definitely return for another great week-end.

Room Tip: Check smoker/non smoker rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for choosing us to stay with. We are pleased that our new addition of the bar and renovations of the Lobby have made your stay with us more enjoyable and accommodating. There were issues you encountered during your stay and be assured that we are working with the maintenance and housekeeping staff to correct these issues to further accommodate your next visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A good vibe when you walk into the hotel- the foyer is open and inviting. The front desk staff (Sarah) was very accommodating and made sure we had adjoining rooms for our family. The breakfast was not your run-of-the-mill included breakfast. It was much better with omelettes, waffles, bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, sausage, oatmeal, bacon, etc.- a real treat for the entire family.

The rooms were very clean. The best part was how close it was to Notre Dame and how you could avoid the hassle of trying to park your car on campus. You could actually walk to ND (20 minute walk) but the hotel had a free shuttle that dropped us off behind the library in the middle of the ND campus. Also, the ND bus system (the "sweep" bus) stops at the hotel area and costs only $1 buck and runs basically every 30 minutes or so and drops you off at 3 different locations on the ND campus. Great options for the back and forth.

The Fairfield Inn and newly renovated Morris Inn are certainly closer and more convenient no question. But my search going forward will also include the Inn at St. Mary's as its shuttle, the terrific included breakfast and the price point may tip the scales its favor on any given visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcruser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Saint Mary’s hotel to stay with. We were delighted to hear that our complimentary shuttle service served as a great benefit during your visit. We are also pleased to hear that our hot breakfast buffet was enjoyable to you and your family as well. We are honored to be one of the very few hotel‘s in this area that provide both of these benefits along with a variety of other amenities. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Recently stayed on this somewhat dated hotel located a 20 minutes walk off campus and would not stay here again. Had to stay here as the Morris Inn was closed.

The front desk staff sure try hard but the place needs a major over-haul.

Rooms are big but have not been renovated in sometime. Uncomfortable bed with a loud air conditioning unit in the room that had to be shut off at night as it was directly under the window shades which moved up and down if the unit was on.

Housekeeping was terrible. Other than making the bed came back to a room with blinds still closed (left early each morning). They left towels on the floor and there was food in my fridge when I arrived which was still there when I left.

Stopped by the Morris Inn which is right on campus and has been beautifully renovated. Will stay there next year for my annual trip. Murph is still tending the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your recent visit. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is scheduled to begin room renovations now that our lobby renovations are done. I am interested in discussing all of your feedback with you. Please contact me at showell@innatsaintmarys.com .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is our second time visiting Inn at Saint Mary's. Our first visit we left and sent the Manager a disappointing review on the quality of the room. Pretty much everything in our room was broken. This stay we were offered an upgrade and upon arrive were not given upgrade. When I made my reservation almost 7 months ago for our 2nd stay, I requested a king room but was given a double upon arrival. When I made the reservation for our 2nd stay, I had to prepay for a min. stay of 2 nights. The prepaid rate was $100 more a night compared to any other weekend in the year because it was Notre Dame and Saint Mary's College move in weekend. Check-in is slow and it seems the staff are not trained. Manager last night at front desk in red shirt was not at all professional to any quest. This is a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Good luck getting any room you ask for. Not sure what the secret is! They are holding ND and SMC parents hostage!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagotennisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your review. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is does have a policy of room contracts for special event dates. The rates are based upon the market. The staff is undergoing training changes to better accommodate guest in the future. All feedback from your visit is welcomed please contact me directly at showell@innatsaintmarys.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews