We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Service for Family Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality Service for Family Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel property near St. Mary's and Notre Dame. Service was very prompt and courteous. Rooms were modern, stylish and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Elevators worked well. When I first went to my room after a long flight, I found that my door was not locking properly, so I called and was immediately upgraded to a Concierge Floor room, which I enjoyed.

Our large extended family was staying in multiple rooms over several days, and had traveled from afar to attend a memorial service for a family member. We pretty much took over the breakfast room each day, in a loud and boisterous manner, but there was nothing but kind words and helpfulness from the staff. The lobby bar even stayed open late one night to accomodate a few rounds for a big group of us.

This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_E_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
At this time from everyone at the Inn at Saint Mary’s we would like to extend our deepest condolences to your family. We are sad to hear about your loss.
Thank you for recently staying with us and also for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear your stay was comfortable. We value all feedback. Feedback is needed to address any challenges and success to better serve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    159
    54
    11
    12
See reviews for
317
124
49
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a great stop over for a trip to South Bend, IN , the Notre Dame, or St. Mary's campus. Couldn't be any closer to either campus. Further, it is just off the Indiana toll road. Although, we we not there on a football Saturday, I'm confident this would be a very convenient place to stay for all game day activities. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere and extremely clean throughout. The rooms/suites are perfect and comfortable for a short or extended stay. Many restaurants are only a short drive, and downtown South Bend is only a 5 min drive. The complimentary buffet breakfast is one of the best we've seen in our travels with many breakfast choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dch1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Inn at Saint Mary’s. We value each guest and strive to exceed our guest expectations with providing excellent customer service and comfortable room choices. Thank you for all of your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just spent 3 days in a conference at the Inn at St Marys of South Bend. I got the room upgrade due to multiple stays in recent years. I was upgraded to a room that was special and spacious. I enjoyed my stay, the work out center was great. Top notch excersice equipment with a whirlpool make the Excersice center great.

Room Tip: Third floor Concierge level has the best rooms with secured entrance. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your recent stay. We truly appreciate knowing our guest’s experiences. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the new fitness equipment. We look forward to your return while visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great hotel across from the Notre Dame camps in South Bend. Boutique property in a sea of cookie cutter hotels in the area. It was also nice to have free SELF parking. The only other hotel in the area with any character now charges for parking and it's valet only. I hate that.

I stayed on the concierge level which has secured access and extra amenities in the room. The hotel's breakfast is free and pretty extensive. Food was good and the hotel expanded the seating area since my last visit. I didn't have time to get a drink the new lounge, but it looks nice and people there seemed to be enjoying themselves. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: They now offer points through the Stash Rewards program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value each guest, as we know it is your choice when deciding where to stay while visiting South Bend Indiana. We truly appreciate your feedback. Knowing about our guest’s experiences allows us to celebrate our successes and address our challenges. We look forward to all future return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rooms are very clean and staff was nice. Very nice breakfast with many hot foods along with cereals and pastries. Though very close to the toll road there is no road noise. The hotel shuttle
Is a nice feature to get to down town and to Notre dame campus. The lobby has nice comfortable seating and a nice little bar as well. Value or price is good but not over the top great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Management and staff are pleased you enjoyed our accommodations. We look forward to accommodating you during all future special parent weekends on campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Inn at St. Mary's, located on the edge of University of Notre Dame, is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the University. The Inn is perfectly located to enjoy all of the excitement of the football weekends at the University and indeed, welcomes fans by providing shuttle service to the games, (if you choose not to walk), a wonderful free breakfast to get you started, and a great huge bar and TV to enjoy post game discussions and relax after a day spent on campus. The rooms are lovely and the staff is very concerned with making your stay as perfect as possible. This is a warm, family friendly hotel that feels like an extension of the University.

Room Tip: We choose a room with the little living room and the pull out sofa for our family, so the kids have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our property. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is glad you were able to enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to making our property your home away from home while visiting The University of Notre Dame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn at Saint Mary's during a hockey tournament in South Bend. The Inn was lovely, clean and quaint. The location was perfect - a pleasant walk to the middle of Notre Dame Campus or a quick drive. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very nice with lots of selection. The sunny lobby was a great place to meet up with friends or relax with a drink watching some football. My sons appreciated the free wireless wifi throughout. I would definitely recommend staying here while in beautiful South Bend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD_on_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent visit to our property. The Inn at Saint Mary's has prime location to all University of Notre Dame events. We are glad you enjoyed the new lounge area. The complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel is always a huge hit with children! Also, thank you for all of your future recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.0 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Property: Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, a full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers the Innjoy Café proudly serving Starbucks, the Atrium Lounge, Tesla car charging stations, a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, a Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing