We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget option for comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nothing amazingly fancy but has all the amenities that you could look for. Nice bar/ restaurant with great staff service. It's all you can ask for at a nice price. Located close to Notre Dame provides added convenience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brewerpride06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The good points - Single, queen room was clean and quite large, had a nice kitchenette and the shower was very clean, nice towels too. Also had a chair that converted to a twin bed. Front desk staff was very pleasant.

Now for the bad -No elevator anywhere in the hotel.The room could have been considered nice except the bed was horribly uncomfortable and the carpeting and bedding were very old and worn (skinniest blanket I've ever seen). In the bathroom the shower head was very low, at 5' tall I was fine but anyone much taller than that was out of luck. Also, water kept going from scalding to freezing and back again, also lost water pressure frequently. Our room (406) was right above the side entrance to the hotel where people pounded on the door and it slammed shut all night long so we didn't get much sleep.

This hotel is huge but was pretty empty and we were located very far from the front desk which did not add to my sense of security. And while I imagine this would not be a problem during football weekends, it was an issue for me in the middle of February.There were also buckets scattered about since the roof was leaking badly while we were there, although there were no leaks in our room.

Bottom line - this hotel is probably rated "fair" - maybe a "2 1/2" - but since that is not an option on Tripadvisor, I had to give it a "2"

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBL625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for JPW and could not have been more disappointed! The carpet had blood stains, the bathroom floor and bottom of tub were filthy and the bedspreads at least 50 yrs old. Came back at midnight and the "gym" was filled with very rowdy, very young unsupervised children. This was the only thing about our weekend that wasn't spectacular. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W, Front Office Manager at Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our sincerest apology for the condition of your room that did not live up to your expectations. I wish we were able to address your concerns while you were here. We work hard to ensure that our hotel and guest services are superior. I will share your comments with the Waterford team in an effort to improve our services.
Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've stayed here several times. The room is always clean and nice, the hot breakfast buffet is always delicious. The indoor pool and jacuzzi is always clean and wonderful. I love this hotel. I have had a WONDERFUL time every time I've stayed here.

Room Tip: watch rates during football season. If it's a notre dame home games. the value decreases.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a great full complimentary breakfast Buffett. The room was very clean, comfortable, and affordable. I would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to South Bend and don't mind staying at an independent brand hotel. Very much ran like a full service branded hotel.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank TiffanyL1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room was great and very comfortable. Although we did not use it, the indoor pool was a real plus. The staff at the restaurant was incredible. The breakfast buffet was very nice. The front desk was accommodating by allowing us a late check-out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy6015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W, Front Office Manager at Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.
I was very pleased to hear that you we very satisfied with your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

One of the best in the South Bend/Mishawaka area. More than just a Notre Dame football game option, this hotel is good year-round with an indoor pool (in addition to outdoor pool). I have stayed at many hotels in the area, and this one is by far the best. The rooms are great, staff is nice, and the amenities are top-notch. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrado79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W, Front Office Manager at Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the Waterford.
I was pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the the great service you received.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend

Address: 52890 SR 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Ramada Inn - South Bend)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £68 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, in South Bend, this hotel is close to St. Mary's College, Hesburgh Library, and University of Notre Dame. Also nearby are Snite Museum and Basilica of the Sacred Heart. PLEASE NOTE: The indoor pool will be closed from July 27- August 7. Waterford Estates Lodge features an indoor/outdoor pool(seasonal) and spa. Other amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access. The Bend Pub & Grill is open for dinner Wednesday-Saturday starting at 4pm. Guestrooms have refrigerators,microwaves,air conditioning,and complimentary wireless Internet access. Minimum check-in age is 21. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend Hotel South Bend
Waterford Estate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing