We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
St. Marys, Georgia
1 review
“Business”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

No hot/full breakfast,restaurant with limited 4-9 hrs wed-fri,old,dirty inside, one computer at front desk you had to stand to use. Staff were the saving grace! Comcast = phones, TV internet out for 36 hrs plus. Could not call into or out of hotel,no internet for business etc. Local hotels in close proximity were not affected

Room Tip: choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMP853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    60
    48
    30
    30
See reviews for
87
41
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, relatively inexpensive, close to the university. Clerk choose our room close to side entrance, unfortunately folks allowed it to slam in the morning. Any other room should be fine, or don't slam door when you stay here. Quiet A/C. Recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pscarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to break up a road trip. Was looking for something pretty inexpensive but thought we would check a few nicer looking places to see if they had any last minute bargains before we went to the cheaper places. The exterior looked nice so I was surprised to find the regular rate was only $79 and only $71 with my AAA discount. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. When we got to our room it was huge! Very spacious with a flat screen TV, bar area, fridge, microwave, the works. The bed was cozy and the A/C kept us nice and cool. We checked out the pools (indoor and outdoor) but didn't have enough time to enjoy them. This is not a high end hotel, but the majority of the grounds are freshly remodeled and we found it to be a great value overall.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W, Front Office Manager at Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant surprise.

We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberts, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wonderful staff, Great rooms, Friendly. I can't rave enough about the staff in the hotel. The Bend Restaurant that is connected to the hotel was great. Will go back to the Waterford again. Trip was PRICELESS.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblack5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla W, Front Office Manager at Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor comment.

Thank you for taking the time to review Waterford Estates Lodge.
Our Waterford family was very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

When you pull up to the facility, I was concerned by the lack of cars on a Monday night. I had stayed here once before ( 6 months earlier ) and was not overly impressed, but decided to give it one more try. The front entrance and lobby was well worn and in need of an upgrade. Check - in was slow ( 1 person in front of me ) although the person at the front desk was pleasant.

Once inside my room, the bedspreads are old and need replaced. The walls are paper thin and I could hear kids running up and down the hall @ 10:30 PM as I was trying to go to sleep. At 3:00 AM I then encountered a screaming kid next door and loud conversations from the Mom who seemed less than concerned, about my stay. After several minutes of waiting for things to calm down ( it appeared they would not ) so I called the front desk, explained the situation and to his credit the Manger on duty came down to handle the situation and it did improve shortly after that.

My final commentary is they need to invest $$ in to the overall facility and improve the appearance of this hotel and get it back to where you would want to stay here while visiting for a ND event or simply traveling back and forth in the Midwest.

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the hotel, not sure if a room towards the front would have improved my st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were originally booked for a second floor room but when the desk clerk saw I was walking with a cane, she offered to change us to a first floor room as there was no elevator. She warned us that there was a wedding party in the room across the hall but the noise was not a problem and we slept well. The room was renovated nicely.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at the Waterford Estates Lodge for a wedding in July. At first glance, the price seemed high, but reasonably justified for the quality of amenities included. The facility includes comfortable cozy rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, GOOD exercise facility, on-site restaurant, and great layout.

The layout includes exterior access to each room, which was convenient for us, but may not be a selling point for other travelers. The noise level, however, was reasonably quiet, even with exterior access.

A problem did exist with the room, however, in cleanliness. After my wife and I checked in, we noticed 5-6 dead bugs on the carpet near the door to the room. I assume this to be a fluke, but will note it for housekeeping (the bed itself was bug-free and clean). The room, otherwise, was perfectly fine with comfortable bedding, nice TV (built in to the wall, unique), coffee maker, mini-fridge, and high-end toiletries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#9 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend

Property: Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Address: 52890 SR 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Ramada Inn - South Bend)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, in South Bend, this hotel is close to St. Mary's College, Hesburgh Library, and University of Notre Dame. Also nearby are Snite Museum and Basilica of the Sacred Heart. PLEASE NOTE: The indoor pool will be closed from July 27- August 7. Waterford Estates Lodge features an indoor/outdoor pool(seasonal) and spa. Other amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access. The Bend Pub & Grill is open for dinner Wednesday-Saturday starting at 4pm. Guestrooms have refrigerators,microwaves,air conditioning,and complimentary wireless Internet access. Minimum check-in age is 21. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend Hotel South Bend
Waterford Estate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing