We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too outdated very little security in place”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 11 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Malory J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Okay, we'd not looked for reviews, were just travelling until dark. Came down motel row and were looking for a place with a restaurant adjacent so we could have a drink and not have to drive after. Found the Bar and Grill adjacent to the Baymont so drove in and registered, and yes, the price was pretty good, but no mention of any breakfast. I should have been suspicious when I asked if the bar and grill next door was good, and of course she said it was, I should have been moreso when I asked if there was a handicap space adjacent to the unit she booked us into and she looked troubled and commented that it might be hard to find with the snow around. To the best of our knowledge it hadn't snowed there for several days, but when we drove to our unit, we saw several cars surrounded by piles of snow, obviously not having been moved for days.
Per the other reviews, after parking in a drift, we didn't need our key to get into the unit as the door was hanging open. Our room was secure, but the temperature inside was run up to 88 deg. and felt like it. We put down our bags, lowered the room temp and made for the front desk which had a hall leading to the Bar/Grill. First bad shock, we were informed, in this dismal den that they hadn't served meals for over 3 years. The bartender was very apologetic when we told her that was why we had registered at the motel, and did comment that they had frozen pizzas... But the beer was of good quality, so we bought a pint apiece and sat to contemplate some menus she had for nearby places. The first was for a place next door, but my spouse asked wasn't there a large snow drift across the sidewalk, so we'd have to walk in the dark in the street and she agreed that was true. She did have a Jimmy John's menu, and eventually we asked if we could get a delivery there in the bar, and she agreed. We did, and like the commercials, JJ's delivered as ordered within 10 min. to our amazement. So we had another beer with our meal.

And that's when it got very strange. About 1/2 way thru our sandwiches, the hotel clerk came in and informed us that there was a waterline break at the hotel, and it could be fixed in a couple hours or it might take till morning. I had to prompt her by asking what she was going to do for us, and she said she had arranged rooms at the same cost at the Holiday Inn Express down the street. I pointed out that we had been drinking and she seemed rather blank, as if to say 'so what?' Finally she pointed out that it was very close by, so we agreed to depart and go there, but first had to get our bags from our room. Frighteningly, when I went to do that, I mistakenly stopped one room too early, inserted my key card, and the door opened. And was equally hot inside. Moments later, I had our bags and winter gear and we made our way across to a far superior hotel which cost us nothing more.

Previous reviewers are correct, this place is an utter disaster, and would in all probability be cheaper to tear down and start over. The real problem here is that our experience in our first Baymont is probably going to be our last, and that's not fair to the well-maintained ones across the country.

Room Tip: Almost undoubtedly there is no good room in this place and likely won't ever be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank narrowboatersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont_South_Bend, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

I am very sorry to hear about these issues. We will be addressing your concerns and taking action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baymont_South_Bend, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Motel was under renovation. It was very cold outside (-1) and the heat in the room barely kept up. The heater in the bath hadn't been installed yet. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The french toast and coffee at breakfast were good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont_South_Bend, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are striving to be better everyday. We hope if you come back to South Bend you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Wyndham traveler
Canonsburg
Reviewed 24 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baymont_South_Bend, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
909 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 30 in South Bend
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#21 of 30 in South Bend
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 515 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3315 (Formerly Baymont South Bend)
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University (South Bend) Hotel South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
University Quality Inn
South Bend Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing