We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 13 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandy a, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Go to a different place to stay!!! Run!!!!!! This place is nasty!!!!The rooms are horrible, ants crawl on you at night, hot tub is not in any sort of working condition and I wouldn't let my dog swim in the kids pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy a, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

I do apologize the you didn't have a good experience with our hotel. we are working on the issues you have and hope that you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We got in the room only to discover there was not a door knob on the inside. Tried to get another room and couldn't get through the glass doors. We then asked for our money back. We are still waiting for the refund promised to us twice now. And we were charged twice. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
1  Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've stayed at Baymont Inns before. I know they're independently owned, but Baymont should re-consider using it's name at this property.
The room and area outside smelled bad (moldy -stale). The doors were broken and hard to open, trash in the walkways. (I'd post pictures if I could) 300 rooms, and it looked like they had 6 guests. I was told there wasn't any Queen beds available when I checked in (assuming scheduling or oversold - not because they really don't have any!). The TV was not good, didn't access the wi-fi, there was no trash can in the room, the toilet ran for several minutes before completion, the bathroom was gross and disgusting. Had trouble figuring out the wall mounting a/c unit. Looks like a nice one, just it wouldn't shut off. Only redeeming value was that the double bed was actually very comfortable.
The check in girl was very courteous and friendly. The idiot at check-out on 6-5-14 was rude unfriendly, and dis-courteous actually. Had me wait for over two minutes just standing at the counter while he did whatever he thought was more important at the computer. Did not even thank me for staying at this godforsaken excuse of a hotel. That is the person I am grading for the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy a, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

I do apologize that you had a bad experience with us. I am working on these issues and hope you will try us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel was so bad thatwe left andhad to stay elsewhere. When we arrive at 8PM there was construction going on and the hallway and room smelled of mold and mildew. We wpuld like a refund of our money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy a, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

I do apologize that the hotel was still under construction at the time of your stay and you felt that you had to go elsewhere. We are working on getting this issue finished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baymont_South_Bend, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baymont_South_Bend, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 30 in South Bend
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 South Bend-Mishawaka
Motel 6 South Bend-Mishawaka
#20 of 30 in South Bend
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#21 of 30 in South Bend
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 515 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3315 (Formerly Baymont South Bend)
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University (South Bend) Hotel South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
University Quality Inn
South Bend Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing