We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, tired and old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn South Bend
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Carpet wrinkled and dirty, rooms dated and dirty, common areas tired and dirty. Notice a theme? Also, walls paper thin making it noisy. Would never recommend to a friend. Stayed here for son's baseball tournament and was guided here by tournament organizer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluelake6321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is in the Notre Dame/St. Mary's University area and handy to downtown. It is mostly clean but the hallway and room carpets were stained. Breakfast was the usual waffle, etc. fare but look out of your stay coincides with that of three teen age baseball teams. Getting to the food was nearly impossible and those boys can eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyobill82601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was a little weary when I found out my company booked me here after reading some of the reviews. I was wrong to worry, the place was nice. The young man at the check-in counter was super friendly. I was at the very end of the hotel, which had an access where a key-card was used; I found the door to be secure, which was a relief. The room was clean and updated with a comfortable bed, pillows, bedding and a flat screen TV. The refrigerator was tucked away in a cabinet and there was a small microwave. Water pressure was great (big deal to me) and the bathroom was spacious; the sink area was outside of the bathroom and had a large counter area. In the evening the parking lot was properly lit as were the exits. I did not hear any noise in my room (ground floor) and slept soundly without any loud interruptions. At breakfast there were a variety of breads, muffins, pastries, waffles and cereals. For beverages there was coffee, tea, milk and 2-3 juices. I did not use the pool or the fitness center.

My only complaint was the Wi-Fi. I had a very weak signal but I was able to email my work so I was happy with that.

If I return to this area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

After a long day on the road, and checking into a room at 3 a.m., I really tried to be understanding when I discovered the headboard on the bed was broken off and had partially fallen behind the bed, and that neither lamp on each side of the bed worked. The bed itself looked clean and I was already in my PJ's, so I opted not to change rooms. And I really tried to be understanding when I got up a few hours later that same morning and got a good look at the bathroom. It was filthy. Mildew in the shower stall, dirty mirror, hair and filth hadn't been wiped off the sink faucets, dirty handprints up and down the bathroom door, old coffee or soda stains on the wall near the tv, etc. Since the room receipt hadn't been slipped under the door like the clerk said it would be, I stopped by the desk at checkout for a copy. I did (politely) report the housekeeping conditions, and the clerk immediately applied a small discount to my receipt, which I had neither asked for nor expected. I did not check the receipt. My mistake! You see, I had paid in CASH at check-in. When I arrived at my destination, I checked my bank account online. Then I dug out my receipt. It was a mess. Besides having paid cash in advance for the room, the amount of the room charges was also charged to my bank card, TWICE! I received no satisfaction when I phoned the hotel. While I was staring at the two charges on my bank card, the clerk assured me that there was only ONE charge (held out amount) on my card and that IT should drop off in a couple of days. What about their other charge ?????? What an expensive 5 1/2 hr. nap! I guess it would be "sour grapes" to say that the bagel was so dried out that the bottom crunched like toast? I definitely would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareeka_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbendin, General Manager at Quality Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide insight into your recent stay at the Quality Inn South Bend. We are always interested in our guest's perspective during their visit and use this information to improve our product and/or service. All areas of the hotel benefit as your concerns are addressed by maintenance personnel, housekeeping staff, and the general manager.
I know that I have spoken with you directly about these issues and have heard nothing further. I assume that the bank has caught up with everything and that your holds have been removed from your card.
Again I am very sorry about the issues that occurred while you stayed with us, and I assure you they have been address.

Melissa Oburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed for the night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and came with free Wi-Fi, refrig, microwave, and large TVs. In the morning, were had a free breakfast and an express no hassle checkout. Overall an excellent stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbendin, General Manager at Quality Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs while you visited South Bend. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you again soon.

Melissa Oburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have stayed here quite a few times over the past 10 years and there's a
downward trend in overall quality.
This place has a great location on Route 933. It's close to everything, Notre Dame, and downtown South Bend, and lots of restaurants.
There has not been any significant upgrades in a long time. The carpet is old and worn, as is the furniture. The commode was about to come apart.
They have a minimum breakfast of juice, cereal, waffles, biscuits and gravy, and yogurt.
Joe, our front desk clerk was very helpful.
A good deal would be a Hotwire rate for this property. Paying Rack rate here is no bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbendin, General Manager at Quality Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns regarding the hotel to our attention. We value your patronage and certainly want to know if you are dissatisfied in any way.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the quality of our hotel. I would like to inform you that we will be having some renovations to the hotel in the next upcoming months. We are working on a brand new pool area as well as installing new carpet, new lounge chairs, and bed spreads to name a few changes.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.
We look forward to serving your future lodging needs

Melissa Oburn
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel recently changed brands and has undergone some significant improvements. The lobby is attractive and spacious. The rooms are decent sized and nicely decorated. My bed was very comfortable and I slept we'll.

The only negative we experienced is that the walls are very thin and you do hear quite a bit of conversations, tv, etc from the hallway and neighboring rooms.

Breakfast was average or slightly above with standard bagels/toast, waffle iron, and a hot item (biscuits and gravy this morning).

Didn't get a chance to try the pool or fitness area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southbendin, General Manager at Quality Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words about our hotel. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at a reasonable price. However, it is only through our guests’ eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.
Again, let me thank you for your kind words, We are committed to total guests satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Melissa Oburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 30 in South Bend
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#17 of 30 in South Bend
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#13 of 30 in South Bend
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel South Bend
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn South Bend

Address: 215 S Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3319 (Formerly Jameson Inn South Bend)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: £50 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn South Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn South Bend Hotel South Bend
Signature Inn South Bend
South Bend Signature Inn
South Bend Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing