We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough to get reservations, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morris Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
socal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tough to get reservations, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Inn is located on the campus, very close to the campus bookstore and a short walk from the Golden Dome and Basilica. Basically, you need to plan your trip around the availability of the hotel. Even non football weekends are almost impossible. Don't give up, just reserve on an off time and enjoy the campus in a way you just can't from any other hotel. We have experienced the campus in the snow and in the summer - there is no bad time to visit the Grotto - especially at night, with all the candles glistening. There is now a very nice sports bar, and a more formal restaurant, and the food is excellent both places. The Eddy Street shops and restaurants (and Irish Pub) are about a half a mile to walk. In the fall, the campus is covered with a fabulous array of trees and fall foliage. If you, or a member of your family, is a Domer, aspires to be a Domer, or just loves the traditions of Irish - get to the campus and soak up the history. It is memorable, and the hotel since the renovation, is the place to start.

Room Tip: The King suite has a separate small living room, in addition to the spacious bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello afser66! Thank you for your great review of the Morris Inn! You are so right! Our location is part of what make the Morris Inn special and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy campus in the summer. Next time I hope you get the opportunity to explore downtown South Bend with all of the new shops and restaurants along with a great bike path along the river. Excellent for summer fun! Safe Travels- Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    30
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
47
9
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Morris Inn feels brand new. My room was spacious and felt luxurious. I never heard a sound from the hallway. The bed was so comfortable. The toiletries were high quality. An ipad is provided for in-room use. Everything was really nice. The bathroom was beautiful, but I like divided bathrooms better so that one person can use the mirror and sink without steam from someone else's shower. Also, there is no shower curtain (a beautiful glass door instead), so if you are traveling with someone you aren't comfortable showering in front of, beware. I traveled alone so it wasn't a problem for me.

The staff is helpful to the point that it is almost disturbing. They are so solicitous and ready to leap to your every need.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_G_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello C_G_7! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your room! I hope the next time you visit you can join us during the holidays. The hotel looks amazing all dressed up for Christmas! We look forward to seeing you back at the Morris Inn! Safe Travels- Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This inn is owned by the University and was completely renovated in the last few years. The rooms are modern and quite nice and reasonably priced, at least compared to a big city. Right on campus so you can walk everywhere.
There are three food service options: a sports bar, a fine dining restaurant, and a patio service with a different menu. We ate outdoors on the patio one day and in the restaurant that night. The atmosphere, food, and service were all nice and personal. We enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go back.
Our student tour guide pointed out that there is a student lottery for rooms at graduation and parents weekend, so be sure to have your student file for the lottery well in advance if you're interested.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi L Frank! We appreciate your review- Thank you! I agree that the Wind Family Fireside Terrace is the best spot during summer months to relax and enjoy a meal. The fire is so cozy during the late fall for football that it turns into a hot spot on campus! We look forward to see you back at the Morris Inn soon! Safe Travels- Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was attending a conference at Notre Dame and they put us up in the Morris Inn. The property is clean, the rooms are big, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. It's right on campus and convenient to the football stadium (although I'd bet it's tough to get a room when there's a game!). There are a couple of restaurants inside or it's a short walk to some off campus places. I had lunch at one of the inside restaurants and it was very good. The conference dinner was catered in the hotel: it was OK but nothing special. Overall I still give this hotel a five.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Likeeat! Thanks for taking time to review the Morris Inn! We welcome your comments and I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy the Notre Dame Conference Center and the Morris Inn! Hope the next time you visit you get a chance to enjoy the Wind Family Fireside Terrace. This is one of my favorite places to relax after a long day. Looking forward to seeing you back at the Morris Inn soon! Safe Travels- Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I recent stayed at the renovated Morris Inn. Excellent room, service, and food. The old style is gone, but the Inn tries hard to keep UND traditions intact. It was good to see Murph still in the bar, and the food in Sorin's is excellent. They really want to give a five-star experience, but they don't have the professional staff. The waitresses giggle and sit around in the dining room early, the scream and play in the bar when it's slow. All no big deal in a university inn, but they might want to try and have them tone it down. It's lots of fun, but there is a certain cognitive dissonance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi TK! Thank you for taking the time to review the Morris Inn. We are not quiet a year old but growing in popularity quickly! We look forward to seeing you back at the Morris Inn soon! Safe Travels-Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

When staying in South Bend or visiting ND, this location is a must. The remodeled hotel was outstanding from cleanliness to over the top service, I would go back tomorrow as long as it was not a college football game weekend.
Wonderful place that should be a stop for many while in the area!
Enjoy...

Room Tip: Rooms away from ballroom and bar seem to be more quiet at night. Look for 3rd or 4th floor rooms fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHNHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Morris Inn IRISHNHP! Not only is our 4 diamond hotel a must visit destination but our restaurants are as well! I hope you can join us for our upcoming Wine Academy dinner. On June 23rd and we will offer an Italian four course meal perfectly paired with Gallo wines in Sorin’s. Our Executive Chef, Ross Olling, and Gallo Winery invite you to this fun and relaxing culinary delight. Please call us at 574.631.2020 to make your reservation today! Safe Travels IRISHNHP! - Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The re-invented Morris Inn is a jewel. The Morris Inn of my student days had a definite 1950s-era dorm room/convent aesthetic. No longer! The facilities are first class. Attended a business event here and had a great experience. Great meeting and restaurant facilities. This ND alum is highly impressed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeeMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review BeeMass! We are all very proud of our 4 diamond Morris Inn located in the heart of the University of Notre Dame campus in North Central Indiana. We invite you to look for more first class/ world class additions to our hotel! Stay tuned and hope to see you at the Morris Inn soon! Safe travels! - Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.0 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.8 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris Inn

Property: Morris Inn
Address: 1399 N Notre Dame Ave, South Bend, IN 46556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Bend
#1 Green Hotel in South Bend
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#1 Family Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morris Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morris Inn recently underwent a $30 million renovation and now has 150 rooms, 18 of which are suites. With spacious bathrooms and elegant amenities, each room also has a mini fridge, safe and Keurig coffee maker. Morris Inn is a AAA 4 Diamond property and has Sorin's, a fine dining restaurant; Rohr's, a comfortable tavern and the Fireside Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morris Hotel South Bend
Morris Hotel Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing