We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morris Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Went for a wedding in early August. Rooms are pleasant, clean and well appointed. Beds are really comfortable which was a great plus. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very pretty and is set right in the beautiful Notre Dame campus. It was great for walking to everything. Food at the restaurant/bar was very good at a reasonable price. You never know about food when they are serving such a large crowd. Food at the wedding was served hot and ours was delicious. Very nicely done. I agree with the other reviewer that $15 a day for parking seemed a bit much especially when we didn't even use the car for 2 days, but what are you going to do. All and all we would definitely recommend Morris Inn. In fact we have already done so and one of our friends plans to stay there when bringing their daughter down to visit the college..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Morris Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review and rating Jodonna! Staying at the Morris Inn for a wedding is an amazing experience. Next time you visit you might want to take advantage of the free parking if you are staying for a few days. Also, I hope you can take a ride on one of our complementary bicycles. Super way to tour campus! Hope to see you back at the Morris Inn again soon! Safe Travels- Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    32
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
114
48
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited Notre Dame in June, The Hotel is excellent for location and price when compared to area hotels. The renovations are beautiful. Centrally located within easy walking distance to all campus locations, However, the hotel parking for guests is terrible. Guests have to walk over a tenth of a mile to the parking facility, which isn't too bad in good weather but when it rains, as it did for two days when we were there, it can be a problem. The hotel does provide umbrellas to use to get to your vehicle. But what I found a little confusing was that there is a parking lot next to the hotel, however it is reserved for valet parking only. Shouldn't the valet parking be farther from the hotel so the regular guests have an easier access to their cars without taking a hike, but then guests wouldn't pay the additional $15 per day for valet parking if they could park next to the hotel. It was an inconvenience when wanting to go off campus. One other complaint was the room service, we stayed for 4 days and had room service breakfast each of the mornings due to early appointments, on three of the mornings the room service messed the orders, we had two rooms and both orders on the three days were wrong. Not just missing orders but no eating utensils, not enough cups or drinking glasses. I could understand one incident but not three consecutive mornings especially when everything was specified on the order. We did notify staff each time and they delivered the missing items but usually we had to leave to make our appointments. Went and stayed at the Fairfax across the street for one night, the breakfast buffet was good with a lot of variety. The room was pricier but the hotel has a pool also and no charge breakfast buffet. I would still recommend the Morris Inn as the restaurants within the hotel are excellent, food, service and surroundings. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful in assisting guest with finding their way on and off campus and they do let guests borrow umbrellas if needed. The price for the stay was reasonable and I would stay again, maybe not order room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a treat to stay on the Notre Dame campus! Add to this an exquisite hotel, a cheerful and accommodating staff, and ultra-clean and comfortable rooms and you have the recipe for success. Our family felt at home during our stay, and we would highly recommend the Morris Inn! Our experience was so positive that we are still talking about the Morris Inn. Go Irish!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the "Golden Dome".
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything about this hotel was top-notch, so their "green" practices were no exception.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaMa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
294 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Morris Inn to attend a wedding held in the Basilica at the University of Notre Dame. The Morris Inn is owned and run by the University. The physical facility is very nice, having been completely renovated within the past few years. Everything is in top notch shape. Our room was good sized and very comfortable and the bathroom was large. The room was well equipped with nice bath amenities, a safe, snacks, good desk and chair for working, free wifi. The lobby was very nice. valet parking quick, and there is a wonderful patio on which to enjoy an after dinner drink on warm summer nights. My only complaint was that service at breakfast was very slow. Very good value for what they charge for a room.

Green Features: The Morris Inn does what most hotels do - you have the option to re-use your towels and sheets. Also, the waste basket has a separate compartment for recyclables.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you have business on campus, this is the place to stay. It is hard to get a reservation during campus events (and impossible on football weekends) but fairly easy during the summer when campus is quiet. (The Doubletree Hotel in downtown is a good second choice.) The Morris Inn is less professionally run than one might expect from business hotels, but the staff is friendlier than at any hotel I have stayed and it makes all the difference. They aren’t just being polite, they actually care about guests and it shows. They make it feel like home.

The hotel itself is newly renovated and still has a pleasant new construction smell. The rooms and bathrooms are large. They have large bath sheets rather than just bath towels (a real treat), and comfortable bathrobes. (I didn’t see any rooms with tubs, just showers, so ask if it is important to you.) There is a wide assortment of cable channels, pod-type coffee machines, and a cute in-room snack bar with prices that are less offensive than at most hotels. There are also refrigerators in the rooms and room safes. (Unfortunately the safe in my room didn’t work and they were unable to fix it during my stay—but they were so nice about it, I didn’t care.)

I was warned that there were a couple of weddings going on and there might be some noise at night from the guests. I didn’t hear a thing. It was exceptionally quiet. I saw guests in the halls but didn’t hear anything from adjacent rooms.

There is a small gym with tvs on the machines, towels, and headphones. It is fine for a quick workout but one can also access the university facilities (and a health club in town offers reasonably-priced one day passes) or opt for a walk or run around campus.

Breakfast is fine and the house made granola is exceptional. The prices in both the restaurants and room service are very reasonable. It is a bit of a walk to the nearest non-university restaurants and shops but not a problem (maybe a hair over 0.5 miles), and there are good quality restaurants a bit further away in downtown South Bend. Parking is plentiful. If you have time to venture off campus, make a stop at Breadsmith. I am fussy about food and it has terrific bread and a very nice patient staff who will help you decide. They also have great brownies.

The Morris Inn offers valet parking for $11 a night and free self-parking. The self-parking is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel but you can drop off your luggage and then park so it is not a problem. The walk from the parking lot takes you past the bookstore, where most guest would want to stop anyway so it is not an inconvenience.

This is a great choice in South Bend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Company meetings have brought me to the Morris Inn on two different occasions. The Inn is lovely, clean, and comfortable and the staff is always kind and accommodating. You are in the heart of Notre Dame country and a beautiful campus! The Morris Inn is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants and pubs. Meeting space is generous. This is a very nice hotel for anyone looking to stay in the South Bend area!

Room Tip: The Morris Inn does have modern equipped rooms with special wake-up/alarm options. If you are in suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the moment you arrive, expect to be acknowledged by everyone you come into contact with. Every person in the staff from housekeeping to restaurant to bar, concierge made us feel right at home! The suites were light and bright with comfortable beds, Keurig coffee makers, warm bath robes, flat screen tv's, refrigerators, huge bathrooms. The restaurant Sorin's was very nice and offered a variety of delicious meals for breakfast and dinner. For lunch, try Rohr's lounge and bar. They offer an area for families as well as a 21 and over bar. Great sandwiches, snacks,salads and cocktails, t.v's. Sarah was our waitress and she helped us close down the bar twice during our stay. Fantastic service from her. Will most definitely be there again. Steps from the Basilica and the Grotto. Definitely walk around the lakes. What views! Then end your day with a nightcap at Rohrs, once again, before walking up to your room. Thank you!

Room Tip: Request a suite! Comfortable beds, lots of room to store your belongings.
See more room tips
Green Features: They strive to conserve water, yet provide alternatives for everyone.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.0 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
569 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris Inn

Property: Morris Inn
Address: 1399 N Notre Dame Ave, South Bend, IN 46617-1346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
#1 Family Hotel in South Bend
#1 Business Hotel in South Bend
#1 Green Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morris Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morris Inn recently underwent a $30 million renovation and now has 150 rooms, 18 of which are suites. With spacious bathrooms and elegant amenities, each room also has a mini fridge, safe and Keurig coffee maker. Morris Inn is a AAA 4 Diamond property and has Sorin's, a fine dining restaurant; Rohr's, a comfortable tavern and the Fireside Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morris Hotel South Bend
Morris Hotel Notre Dame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing