We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arriving exhausted from a busy year and hosting relatives for Xmas, our family of four stepped into the Searenity holiday house and instantly started to relax. Upon meeting Herb and Janette, we were made to feel so welcome. As a family we book apartments or houses over hotels wherever we can for value, space and character and always use Tripadvisor; this was the best equipped home we have stayed in.

The wildlife and scenery was great- we are spoilt coming from Victoria in that we have travelled often to parts of the Great Ocean road, done the Great Ocean walk and been all over Wilson's Promontory which reminded us very much of Kangaroo Island. The difference here apart from the home is clearly Herb and Janette; in fact the only one out of 97 review not to give 5 stars were the couple that didn't meet them!
All of there recommendations were spot on and the "extra miles" we had included Herb demonstrating his remote controlled plane to our son, ferry crossing g weather updates and not least pulling apart one of the arm chairs to retrieve our daughters mobile phone - fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were welcomed at Searenity by the owners Herb and Jeanette. They not only were excellent hosts but were genuinely happy to share their beautiful island with us. Herb was a retired ranger who worked on the island, so his knowledge of the birds, animals, plants and environment made the visit even better. The house was comfortable, the kitchen fully equipped with every utensil and appliance, and the location was central to our day escapades. We loved taking morning walks to see wallabies hopping by and koalas sleeping in the trees. We spent 3 nights here and wished it was longer! Steve and Jacquie

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pebbles363636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My family of 11 stayed in Searenity for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The owners, Herb and Jeanette has created a home away from home, something we truly appreciate after a day of fun-filled activities recommended by them. They provided us with information of interesting places, like the northern coast, to venture on a daily basis, on top of those in the guidebooks we read about. They took time to show us the resident koalas around the neighborhood. Little touches like the night sensor light, toys and games for children and files of information about the island were commendable. Herb was thoughtful to tell us that there was a full moon with clear sky and he even brought umbrellas over when rain starts pouring so that we can still head out to explore KI. The location is also well suited as a base to explore KI too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHGoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent three nights at Searenity with some our extended family. The position was picture perfect and the hosts really went out of their way to make us feel at home. This is also a very good base to explore KI from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrankiesDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Searenity and had a lovely time there. The house was well designed and equipped with all the necessities for a home away from home. It was clean and comfortable which made our stay pleasant. The kids had a glimpse of the 2 koalas on the gum tree which was fascinating for them, having not seen one in nature. Both Herb and Jeanette were great hosts which complemented the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I loved my stay in Kangaroo Island! We had a beautiful ocean view right from our living room, we even got lucky to eat dinner with a koala bear chilling on the tree nearby! Both Janette and Herb were amazing hosts and provided us with everything we needed. I would go back there in a heart beat !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you are looking for an immaculate home stocked with anything you could want for a weeks stay, a peaceful environment, a beautiful location complete with koalas and wallabies, and a welcoming reception from your gracious hosts - Jeanette and Herb, this is the place for you! Herb and Jeanette are former nature preserve rangers and they have a wealth of information to share -if you are interested - about Kangaroo Island and the natural wildlife of the area. We had a most enjoyable stay and have memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emu Bay
47.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
20.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
421 reviews
26.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
857 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
38.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searenity Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searenity Holiday Accommodation

Address: 1 Hawthorn Ave, Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Emu Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Emu Bay
Price Range: £91 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Searenity Holiday Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searenity Accommodation is located at Emu Bay on the north coast of Kangaroo Island and only a short drive to Kingscote the Island’s main township. It provides accommodation for up to 10 people with modern decor, panoramic sea views and only a short walk to the beach. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay. Accommodation can be either self catering or breakfast provisions can be provided by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Searenity Holiday Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing