We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Dune Escape - A tranquil secluded retreat...”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kerrie S
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A Dune Escape - A tranquil secluded retreat - good for the body and soul.”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I had been wanting to see Kangaroo Island for years and at last I was there - WHAT A FIND - Kris and Brian were very hospitable - anything you want to know about the history of K.I., where to go and what to do while you are on K.I. - Kris and Brian have the answers and are always there if you need assistance.

"A Dune Escape" is a tranquil secluded retreat - brand new and nestled amongst nature at its best. All amenities are new and first class.

What a wonderful way to celebrate New Year's Eve - sitting on chairs on top of the Dunes, only a few metres from the house, with friends looking at the stunning views of Emu Bay, where the day before we had been walking along Emu Bay Beach watching two dolphins happily play close to shore - what a photo opportunity that was!

I recommend "A Dune Escape" on Kangaroo Island as a wonderful holiday destination - it won't be long until I will be back to see more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall atmosphere of the house and natural surroundings.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thank you Kerrie for your great review - we loved hosting you at A Dune Escape and are really pleased it was all up to your expectations. We have actually had the photos of the dolphins mounted on canvas on our lounge room wall - an amazing photo! We look forward to your return visit with more friends or family - We hope 2013 is looking good for you
Regards Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournejan...
1 review
“Tranquil beauty with these ease of modern day living”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. From a very modern home you look at the roaming countryside of Kangaroo Island. Then taking a book, swimmers or a glass of wine to the top of the dune you can sit and watch the sunset, see few walkers on an empty beach and watch the ocean roll in. A truly wonderful place to holiday with countryside and surf as well as the luxury of a beautifully equipped new home . Well maintained and provided for both adults and children. Young and old.
We will be back .

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2013
Thank you Jane and Dave - it was wonderful for you to enjoy A Dune Escape as one of our early bookings. Our house is doing wonderfully well with all guests so positive with their stays and fortunately they are all respecting the beautiful paradise it is and helping us to maintain this - the environment around and the house itself! We really look forward to your return soon :)
Kind regards Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGel...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect Private Escape Destination on Kangaroo Island”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The unique setting of this house and the beauty of Emu Bay makes Dune Escape a special place to stay whilst visting Kangaroo Island.
Our family of four stayed at Dune Escape for one week and loved it. Kris and Brian are great hosts and their house is beautifully designed, eco friendly and very well appointed with everything you need. The living space is very comfortable and spacious; the kitchen works extremely well and the bedrooms are generous in size. There is a great sheltered outdoor deck and BBQ area which we often used for our evening meals.
The house sits high on the inland side of the huge dunes that encircle Emu Bay. Whilst there is no view of the water from the house, the view of the surrounding landscape is magnificent with hardly another house in sight. A short climb up to the Dunes affords great views across the bay below. The lounge chairs on top of the Dunes was a great place to read as the sun rose in the mornings.
Emu Bay has crystal clear blue water and white sand stretching as far as the eye can see. It is great for swimming. We also enjoyed cycling around to the far northern point in the late afternoon. Access to Emu Bay beach is a short drive from the house. Whilst we are not used to driving on beaches, it was great to be able to drive along the sand and find the perfect spot for a swim away from the crowd - not that is was crowded by the way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peace and quiet as well as the views
Liked least: That I couldn't walk to the beach directly from the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2013
Thank you Mary and Rob for choosing and positively reviewing A Dune Escape. We are so glad you loved your experience and appreciated the eco-friendly features of our beach house. Your love of the stargazing mentioned in conversation will be added to our website, the total lack of light pollution is noted by city dwellers, something we take for granted. We hope to see you and your friends return one day. Thank you for being impeccable tenants! Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'estrees Bay
Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Dec 2012
Thank you Ria - we are so glad you enjoyed our new beach house and we look forward to your return some time. Summer is attracting many more bookings from far and wide and it is very exciting for us to meet and greet great guests like yourself. The exclusive views from the crest of the dune are certainly a hit and we have added beach chairs there now for relaxing times and those fabulous sunset viewings with evening drinks.
Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChipundCh...
Isenbüttel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas F
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfekte Lage am Meer/Strand, sehr ruhig gelegen.
Liked least: Wetter durchaus mal regnerisch.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your great review - in German, our first in another language! We are so glad your lovely family enjoyed your Christmas at A Dune Escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing