We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
GLV2013
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Such a lovely place to stay - impeccably clean, stunningly decorated/furnished and a beautiful location. Emu Bay would have to be one of the best beaches on KI and 'A Dune Escape' makes the very most of this location.
Hosts very helpful with some great local knowledge (most importantly the shortcut to 'Island Pure') :)
Would definitely recommend for a secluded, quiet, relaxing weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location, interior decoration, eco friendly
Liked least: Only improvement would perhaps be a small container of milk be stocked, so a coffee and sit down could be enjoyed after the journey to KI, before heading off to Kingscote to do some shopping
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2014
Thank you so much Vanessa for your positive review. We are really pleased that you appreciated what we have set out for A Dune Escape to offer our guests. We love the house too and love to keep it sparkling clean like when it was first built last year. The colours, inspired by the beach and crystal waters of the sea, help to retain that fresh, clean and relaxing feel.
We welcome you back to stay anytime :) Kind regards Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S
Maleny, Australia
1 review
“A stunning, private retreat on one of the island's most beautiful beaches.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A beautifully appointed, modern eco home set on a dune. The house was immaculate, the hosts having good taste and great holiday tips for any interest you may have on the island. We had a fabulous time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2014
Thank you Leanne, we were very flattered that you and your husband enjoyed our home, location and Island so much - we hope to see you again sometime Regards Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George434...
The Villages, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful location right on the beach.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

House is well stocked with everything you need. It feels like home. Warm and helpful owners are nearby.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
Thank you George and family - we really appreciate your review and we are so glad you were able to feel at home - it was lovely to meet you all and we hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XPO100
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Unfortunately, our 2 night stay coincided with the heaviest rainfall in the region for 40 years. But the advantage of this was that it gave more time to spend in this wonderful accommodation. Everything was sparkling clean, very spacious and extremely comfortable. We had been doing a lot of independent touring in South Austalia and the Northern Territory and we truly appreciated the opportunaty to kick back and relax in peace, comfort and tranquility. A longer stay would have been great (and we might have got some decent weather!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
Thank you Andrew, yes the weather was extremely unusual - we have had beautiful weather ever since - but you came to relax and that was great you were able to do so and appreciate the peace and beauty of our nature meeting the sea abode - Cheers, Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PERFECT secret getaway!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

What a truly tremendous place to stay!! Both my partner & I had such a relaxing time. Every morning was as breathtaking as the day before & we couldn't stop saying how lucky we were to have experienced it.
Brian & Kris were also such wonderful hosts, very friendly & inviting!
Words cannot describe the views or the atmosphere until you see it for yourselves! Almost didn't want to tell people how stunning it was so it can be our secret but it's a must share-
Definately returning to this one again!!!
Thanks B & K for having us!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2014
Thank you Erin and Sal - what a great review - we are glad you loved our little hideaway - we look forward to you return someday, B and K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful spot for a coastal getaway”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Located amongst tranquil countryside in Emu Bay, A Dune Escape is the ideal spot for a relaxing getaway, and a great base to explore beautiful Kangaroo Island.

The home itself is impeccable - modern, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well fitted out with appliances and kitchenware. It's also very private and quiet, making it the perfect place to get away from it all! A few steps up from the deck, you walk up to the crest of the dune and the views of the Emu Bay coastline are just stunning. We enjoyed watching the sunset with a glass of locally-produced red wine and even saw some dolphins frolicking in the sea!

Brian and Kris were wonderful, welcoming hosts, who took a genuine interest in our overall stay in K.I. We really appreciated the tips and advice they offered for must-do's on the island.

We very much enjoyed our stay at A Dune Escape. We stayed for two nights but could have easily stayed for longer. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thanks Natalie and Nick - it was great to meet you and we are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay - the dolphins have certainly been plentiful lately which is great for guests to see. We look forward to your return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful house, peaceful location, and a great base for exploring Kangaroo Island.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Well designed, very well appointed house, lovely rural views and peaceful location. A bit remote from the rest of Emu Bay but that is part of the beauty of the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern eco friendly house in remote, peaceful location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you Georgina - we are so glad you loved our place - yes it is a little away from central Emu Bay - but as you say that gives the Escape feel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing