We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful beach house with amazing views from the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach house with amazing views from the dune of Emu Bay and surrounds”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We all loved our stay in this clean beach house. The highlights were the comfortable, well equipped eco-house, proximity to the beach and the peace and quiet. Visits from the native wildlife - wallabys, roos, goannas and a variety of birds were a bonus. Brian and Kris were very welcoming and efficient - thanks for a memorable stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you - it was great to meet you and your family - We are so glad you got to see so many animals and experience the wildlife available in our natural surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“100% to recommend”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have been on KI with our small Family (3 People) and it was great. Our daughter (almost 2 years) loved it as we have done. It is every penny worth and we would definitely recommend the house to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house in the bush.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you Tom - We loved having you and your family to stay and glad it was a great holiday for you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulla252
North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
1 review
“a wonderful designed house”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We expected one room and got a complete house, which is wonderful furnished and designed with a direct (but steep) access to the beach.
The next restaurant ist 15 km away and you have to bring all your foodstuffs with you. Buy it on the mainland. The island is quite expensive

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed A Dune Escape and appreciated the design and comforts. We always recommend our guests stock up on the mainland, cook in the fully equipped kitchen and enjoy the views whilst relaxing in the home - We hope you have a Merry Christmas and Happy New year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSWJ
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and secluded accomodation, in Emu Bay.”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Staying at A Dune Escape was very enjoyable for our family and visiting in-laws. The accommodation was VERY clean and tidy, lovely furnishings, and had a well equipped kitchen. The beds are also extremely comfortable with very nice linens.
This property in Emu Bay is beautiful and secluded with just a few short steps to the most AMAZING panoramic ocean view. We also loved the adventurous walk down the bluff to the water and white sand beach, as well as the wildlife at the back porch! I would have given this 5 stars if it had a second bathroom and a washing machine, otherwise - perfect!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Thanks for your review, we are so glad you had a fabulous holiday at A Dune Escape. Due to our eco design we are unable to supply a second bathroom and washing machine, but we always offer a washing service at our own home - Cheers for a Merry Christmas and a Happy New year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“A Dune Escape - Totally Relaxing & Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent two nights at A Dune Escape on Kangaroo Island. It was a lovely, welcoming, home and we were very comfortable there. The house is extremely well equipped (the best equipped kitchen in any holiday rental we have every stayed in), extremely clean, quiet and warm. The location is amazing - loads of birds and animals in the grounds and an amazing beach over the dune at the back. Would highly recommend it as a base for exploring Kangaroo Island - we wish we had allowed more time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thanks for your very positive review - it was great to meet you and your family and to facilitate with your holiday itinerary especially with your son and his passion for birds - we are so glad it all worked well for you and certainly look forward to your return for a longer stay:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anh N
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Elegant house, great beach and very nice owner”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dune Escape house is very well presented with very nice furniture, most comfy and warm beds ever and it is spotlessly clean, everything arranged nice and neatly. Brian and Kris welcomed us when we arrived, showed us around and also helped our son with his fishing hobby. Details such as tissue boxes, garbage bags (small size and big size), plenty of toilet papers, woods for fire places... made us feel really taken care of. The steps down to beach is a little bit tricky for our little kids (2 and 5 years old), but I myself did really enjoy it and also enjoyed the long beach walk where I encountered birds and collected sea shells for my girls. Thank you again Brian and Kris, would love to come back!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you for your very kind words - we really enjoyed meeting you all - a lovely family! We are so glad you had a great time and appreciated all the little extras we try to provide so that your holiday is perfect- we look forward to your return for more fishing and nature experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AttilanLe...
Sydney
2 reviews
“An extremely well presented and beautiful house with all one could wish for.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thanks Brian
Leisl and I had such a great time in KI and your beautiful home was a pleasure to have been privileged to. Fireplace at nights added to the overll ambiance. The steps down to the beach was easy and we had it all to ourselves each time. Only downside was we should have stayed longer!
Cheers
Leisl and Attila

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review - we really appreciate your feedback about your enjoyable stay at our beach house. We love the solitude at the beach first thing in the morning too! Thanks again - we hope to see you again - Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing