We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, and a delight in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
billandsa...
Kalamazoo, MI. USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, and a delight in every way”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Dune Escape offers peace, quiet and total privacy. Everything is kept sparkling clean and in perfect working order. The house is well appointed and very comfortable. The view from the top of the dune is less than a minute walk from the veranda and is stunning at all times of the day, particularly in the early morning. A great place for your morning coffee! Beautiful panoramic views of the country side and abundant wildlife. One caveat: the walk down to the beach is steep and probably not for the mobility challenged. We are in our late 60's and had no issue. If you don't feel like the walk down the dune you can take the quick drive to Emu Bay and access the beach there. The fish and chips at the Cal Tex petrol station (in Kingscote) is fantastic! Just take our word! The sky at night is a perfect black with thousands of stars and the milky way is very clear. No light pollution (or any kind of pollution). We're sorry that we couldn't have stayed longer. Our expectations were totally exceeded!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caraoke
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Booking was simple and Brian sent us clear and easy directions to the property. Any queries I had were answered very quickly. Emu Bay is about 50 minutes on sealed roads from the ferry terminal at Penneshaw and about 20 minutes from Kingscote where you will find a well stocked supermarket, 2 banks, bakery, cafes, gift shops, hairdressers, gallery etc. The actual road into and up to the property is unsealed and a bit bumpy in places but fine for a hire car to use when we were there. There are steps up to the property and access to the top of the dune might be a bit difficult if you have mobility issues as would the steep descent to the beach. The views are stunning, the colours in the bay have to be seen to be believed. Emu Bay is safe for swimming, you can drive straight on to the beach and the sand is nice and firm for walking.
Brian made us very welcome on arrival and told us he was 2 minutes away if we needed anything.
Brian & Kris have created an idyllic home in such a beautiful location. The house is spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished. Lots of comfy seating both indoors and out and the most comfortable bed, we slept so well. Beautiful views from all the windows including the bathroom.
Peaceful, quiet and sheer bliss. Roo and her Joey, Wallabies, Possum, Goannas, so many birds. We spent a wonderful 4 nights in this very special home and would highly recommend to couples and families.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you so much Carole and Tony - if only we could write a review for our guests - you were such a lovely couple to meet and you left our house absolutely sparkling clean, we are so glad you had a great stay and are very appreciative of your fantastic prompt review! The Roo with its joey at the birdbath sounds very special - we wish you all the best for Christmas and new year - safe travels Cheers Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keefras
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a secluded location”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in November and it surpassed our expectations. We were showcasing Kangaroo Island to visitors from Northern England and the whole experience at the property was exceptional. The views from both bedrooms were beautiful, the small walk up to the top of the dunes was delightful, ending with a special location overlooking Emu Bay - a lovely way to share a glass of Dudley Bubbly.

The property is off grid which adds to the unique experience and it catered for everyone's needs exceptionally well. The furnishing of the property was comfortable and relaxing, the amenities excellent and the host was very helpful when we had a flat battery in the car.

We saw wallabies from the bathroom window and we could see for miles from the property without another dwelling in site yet we were very close to Emu Bay.

I would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone and it is conveniently located for day excursions to Flinders Chase and Seal Bay via unsealed, but excellent, roads where we saw echidnas and koalas and the bush was in bloom showing KI at its best.

Our guests loved every minute of the 4 days on the island and could not believe the natural beauty it had to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: unique location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you for choosing our accommodation and your fantastic review Anne and Terry. We are so glad you had a great stay and appreciated all that we offer to our guests. It is so good to hear that your English friends saw the island at its best and enjoyed the views, serenity and wildlife around A Dune Escape. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Cheers Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Spectacular view and beach access”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

If you are looking for a modern private retreat, that has an exceptional view to a magnificient beach then this is the place to stay. Brian made us very welcome and gave some great travel suggestions for the Island. Highly recommend

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your fantastic review - Great to see that the accommodation worked well for your four adults along with your two toddlers. So glad you appreciated the view and our beautiful beach - the colours today are magic! Thanks for booking with A Dune Escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuncee
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Most amazing spot on KI”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have never felt so cozy while travelling. This beach house is an absolute hit, with amazing view on the KI landscape, direct beach access and the best wildlife spotting on the whole island. We visited the house at rhe end of Sept, before the season, we can only imagine how magnificient is it when the weather is on your side ;-) A Dune Escape stays in our hear forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you to our lovely guests from Switzerland. We really appreciate your comments and so glad we struck the right chords to enhance your honeymoon in Australia. The house is eco-designed to be comfortable for all seasons, we would love to have you return to experience the summer colours and beach activities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham115...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A Dune Escape is just that. An idyllic cottage set on the dunes with total privacy and every creature comfort you could want. Hosts Brian & Kris were very welcoming and made sure our stay was fantastic. With easy access to most of KI's fabulous attractions, this is a perfect spot to escape for some R&R.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you Graham - it was a pleasure to host you and we are so glad you enjoyed your getaway at A Dune Escape. We are glad that you were totally comfortable and enjoyed the serenity and peaceful surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoH...
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a getaway”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderful retreat on Kangaroo Island. Emu Bay is 100 steps (literally) below the top of the dune behind the house. Wide open beautiful beaches to enjoy and privacy at the beautiful house. Lots of birds and wildlife around to enjoy. I would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks Gabrielle - really appreciate your review and positive comments - we love the 100 steps too! Glad you were able to enjoy the nature and beach - its a great place at 6am for an absolutely serene and private work out - we hope to see you or your friends again sometime - Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing