We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing is an understatement”
Review of Brook Pointe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook Pointe Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Along with another married couple, we each purchased two nights for the Romance Suite, through Groupon. It was a pretty good deal and only a couple of hours away from home, making for a nice quick get-away. The first negative experience began with booking; confusion abounded from the onset and there was apparently lack of knowledge to the amenities of the Groupon. Being told that nothing was available but two rooms with double full beds, although questioning "limited vacancy" as well as the entry level rooms, reservations were made. One had to ask for a reservation number and chaos was only beginning to show its head. Two weeks before our stay, I called to inquire about changing the reservations to a day later. Reservations? WHAT reservations? There was NO record of our reservations and aside from that, moving the check-in date back a day was impossible, they were now fully booked for July 28th and 29th. Started afresh, making (second) reservations for July 27th and 28th, Again, went over the Groupon offer (THEIR offer, I add) and still were only booked into two double bed rooms. Upon arrival on the 27th, the reservation desk appeared to have a problem finding our reservations ("Hmmm, let me check it this way; now I will try this way, etc.") Reservations (finally) found along with this AHA moment, "The Groupon is for the Romance Suite, but you were booked for the two double bed rooms. We can get you in those rooms, but they aren't ready yet." What does "ready" encompass? "Rose petals and lava cake". We said they could forgo the silk petals and we would give notice for the cake. The good part. The rooms were clean and comfortable (enough). The pillows were horrid and the blanket was YUCK, with pillings all over it. Fortunately it was hot and we just kicked it to the floor. Continental breakfast was an experience both mornings. The pork sausages were absolutely gross; wrinkly and dried out. The juice machine was malfunctioning and only dispersed juice concentrate. One had to play hide-n-seek to figure out where the different condiments were kept. Note: there were sausages left over that morning. Second morning, there were five sausages available, and there is no doubt in my mind that they were recycled from the day before, more wrinkled and more dried out. People had to go to the front desk to ask for re-stocking of empty items. The desk clerk did grab a FULL coffee pot, left with it, and did not check on anything. Yeah, we got to enjoy the half empty coffee pot. The first night we alerted the desk person, Brenda (we was the ONLY smiling face there) that when she got the chance we would take out Lava cakes. A bit later, no problem with that, the cakes were brought to us... after she had to check the freezer to see if there were any. They were so sad and absolutely nothing like another reviewer's picture. Ours had been microwaved and grew to be 2 inches tall, adorned with what was obviously the last drippings of what was in the whipped cream can, four teenie-weenie spritzes. Even the bar and the restaurant right down the road from the hotel left disappointment. Service attention was an option. Everyone was nice enough, but let us all hope no one serves on the Volunteer Fire Department, the town will be doomed! All in all, a little get-away is better than none... I guess! <smiley face!>
p.s. Vacancy was fully available and there was never any shortage of rooms.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank windeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Whenever I come across a bad review I immediately take it to heart and we figure out how to fix these mistakes. Our Couples Romance Getaway package is very standard and have had this package for years. We always have the lava cakes on hand which really makes me wonder why the front desk staff mentioned this to you. The Groupon mistake should never have been done. Training is something we do monthly and this particular Groupon campaign was very new to us and training is something we didn't handle correctly. We now have a internal wiki document that explains what is to happen for a Groupon reservation that would have helped your first situation. Sorry that you had such a poor experience. What we have noticed is when one thing goes bad for a guest it seems to storm on them. We hope to see you again and hope that keep us in mind for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Brook Pointe Inn for the first time because we had two events in two days in the area. We didn't make this decision until about 5 days before the weekend, but had no problem booking a room on-line. We only needed one night and that's all we had to pay for (another hotel in the area requires a 2 night minimum). Brook Pointe hotel is locally owned but has all the amenities of a chain... Not a fancy chain, but a good affordable one. Our room was exceptionally clean and spacious. We booked one with a jacuzzi and there were plenty of towels. Breakfast is generously served from 6:30 to 10:30 am - great for sleeping-in mornings at " the lake." We did just that, and were glad that at least there was plenty of coffee when we got to the breakfast room. Then the wonderful cook and server, Judy, came right out to make sure we had everything we wanted. She was like a Mom, restocking, smiling and checking to make sure we were satisfied. We were!
We live about 40 minutes from Syracuse, but sometimes it is nice to be able to linger in this beautiful part of the state. It is great to know that we have a place to stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for the great review. We do love the fact we do not require a two night minimum. Many of our guests are just travelers passing through and really do not like the two night minimum. We do not plan on changing that other than special holidays which are already booked many years in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and chose the romantic getaway package. We stayed two nights. Our room was on the 1st floor just steps away from the pool. It never once got to noisy, there are two doors separating you from the pool. The hallways never sounded to rowdy either.

We had a king size bed and Jacuzzi tub in the room and they decorated it beautifully. The sparkling juice & chocolate lava cake they provided us was great as well.

Beautiful scenery in the back of the hotel, we even saw 4 deer come out of the woods one night.

The only two things that would be better is putting some chairs in the gazebo for evening sitting and relaxing. Secondly maybe a larger tv for the larger rooms.

I would go again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side of the building just steps away from the pool. Keep in mind that ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wydalis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for coming and using the Couples Romance Getaway package. We are very proud of that package. You are welcome to come anytime. I am very hopeful by the time you are here next time to see our new swings in the Gazebo. We have planned which we were going to purchase but we ran out of good weather before actually committing. We won't let that happen again next year. Thanks again for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We chose Brook Point Inn because the other lodging in Syracuse was so expensive. We were in town to visit family after not visiting Lake Wawasee for many years. Many things have changed in town, and this place is one of the best. We live in Arizona, and my daughter was exposed to authentic Hoosier Hospitality here. The breakfasts were great, and used real dishes instead of paper and plastic like the chains do. We enjoyed the grandma who is in charge of breakfasts and she seemed to be someone's "abuela" which is a term of endearment in the southwest. If we had not been visiting and playing with our relatives, then we would have spent more time on the screened porch in rocking chairs and outside doing things from my Indiana childhood years like chasing fireflies. No, you can't ever truly go home, but this place is a great base to revisit fond memories from.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for such a great review. We love our "real" plates we serve with breakfast. We think this is a nice touch on our facility. I think you will like some of the other changes we have made to breakfast since your last stay. We have more planned late this winter before the busy season. Thank you again for such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Positives: Nice room size, outdoor space, lobby, fireplace (that was on :)), jacuzzi tub, romance package, staff, cleanliness, discount card.
Negatives: HARD, OLD bed, tiny old tv, bad breakfast, old/dated linens, paper thin walls/ceiling.

Seems like the new owners have been updating the lobby area, just a guess and those areas are more modern and great. Great value....liked the place I really did, was all set to come back again, not sure though as after the bad night of sleep it seemed to go downhill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollissaestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes as you mentioned we are focusing hard on the common areas as we entertain thousands of guests per year that use the common areas more than the rooms. We remodel between 3-4 rooms per year including new beds. We hope that you will come and try our facility again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our stay with the lovely scenery and rooms are fairly clean. The beds are comfy, but the pillows need replaced. Some of the other guests were rather noisy, but overall the stay was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 8762lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for your review. We have just added about 100 new pillows and have been slowly getting rid of bad ones. I have asked staff to get rid of the bad ones. Hope to see you again on a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place is clean!!! I love clean. However there were a few areas that showed wear and tear. The staff was really nice and the room was very big. The romance package was a good deal however sparkling cider was the "bubbly provided". The whirlpool tub was nice but 2 people were very crowded in it. We never got a chance to use the pool and we had to pay extra for a fridge. All in all worth our money but not a "great deal". We would go back again but not for the romance package.

Room Tip: We had room #14 which was very nice but we were near the pool. If there was a lot going on at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrysgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P, Owner at Brook Pointe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope when you come back you get an opportunity to use our salt water pool. We love it and take great pride in the building and pool. Our "bubbly" is a sparkling cider as we do not hold a liquor license. As we have no bar facility we do not find the need to spend thousands of dollars a year for a permit. This will change once we build our conference center in 2017/2018. Thank you again for staying with us! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
19.8 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
13.9 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
132 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#1 of 6 in Goshen
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
149 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Warsaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Pointe Inn

Address: 4906 E 1200 N, Syracuse, IN 46567-8275
Region: United States > Indiana > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brook Pointe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 20 acres, this inn offers free Wi-Fi and uniquely decorated rooms that feature a sitting area and a work desk. Lake Wawasee, the largest natural lake in Indiana, is a short distance away. Cable TV is included in each room at Syracuse Brooke Pointe Inn. Each room features its own heating and air-conditioning unit. Select rooms offer a spa bathtub .Continental breakfast is served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brook Pointe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing