We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad to see this place back open!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Indiana
1 review
“So glad to see this place back open!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I worked at Oakwood the last summer it was opened before it closed. It was such a beautiful property, it was such a shame to watch it just sit there and go to waste. My husband and I spent our wedding night there in September, and WOW, what a huge difference. The rooms are so beautiful with a perfect view of the lake. The more lake feel to the décor was much needed, and the best was the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in! The restaurant has always been good, but now it’s even better. The prices are a bit high, but you get quality of food you pay for. It’s delicious! If I didn’t live in the area, I’d stay there over and over again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEY1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    68
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
104
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a beautiful room overlooking the lake (what a view to wake up to!) We had an AMAZINGLY comfortable king sized bed. (Seriously want that bed for my house)

We also ate lunch there the next day outside by the lake. The food and service was very impressive and delicious.

We would like to thank you for our stay and will reccomend anyone who is staying in that area to go to Oakwood.

Thank you for making our evening so wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Here for business for several days. Property sits nicely by the lake, so a major plus there but hotel room has no iron or ironing board, you need to ask downstairs ( i got a 1/2 board). If you want ice, you have to pay .25, which we can all afford but super tacky!

fitness center which is lacking, opens at 8, so does my morning meeting! So that does not help.
The room is super clean, and the staff is helpful so that is a plus.

Probably the best thing around here, but would never stay here by choice again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived 12-9 from Amsterdam in NYC ,travelling in 10 days to Chicago for a congress
We found Syracuse by coincidence , THE lake in charming, rooms good with Great beds.
Breakfast buffet sufficiënt
But marmelades should be upgraded , Some hot Milk for THE oats WOuld be fine.
However overall a Great hotel on the lake !!!
Hope to come back someday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. Room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Nice quiet location on the lake. He patio faces the lake and was very relaxing.

Just two negatives for me. 1. The wifi was difficult to use. 2. The service at breakfast was pretty slow and the food very average (order your bacon extra crispy or you might have to catch it yourself).

I would be happy to go back and like supporting the independent business owner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My fiance and I are planning our wedding for next year. We decided to try out this resort and we were pleasantly surprised! The room was beautiful and larger than we expected. Dinner was amazing and the staff was helpful. Certainly going to check into having our wedding reception here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stay at a differently hotel every week for the last 2 years. Our client booked the room at the Oakwood which was within 5 minutes of where we were working. It was absolutely stunning! We stay in the chain hotels mostly and have had many good views. This was spectacular! I do believe that we spent more time outside than inside.
In the mornings, it was so hard to make myself leave to go to work. I had told our client that we all should have met at the Oakwood instead of the windowless conference room.

The food is wonderful! The seafood basket had a bit more black pepper in the breading than what I like but was cooked perfectly. I absolutely loved the Spinach salad. I have never had one with bananas in it. I had it as made with the peanut sauce and then another one with the apple cider vinagrette. They were both amazing! We spent 3 nights there and I cannot wait to go back.

The bartenders are very friendly and attentive. The wait staff does a good job. I wandered down on Tuesday morning needing something caffienated in a big way! I aske if I could get a Diet Coke and they wasted no time accommodating me. It was so very appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
19.5 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
19.9 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
21.0 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 702 E Lake View Rd, Syracuse, IN 46567-8414
Region: United States > Indiana > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy 27 acres of pure relaxation on Indiana's largest natural lake. Here at Oakwood Resort we have something for everyone. Use us for your dream wedding, company conference, family reunion, or just a weekend away. Choose from our eighty elegant inn rooms, eight spacious cabins, or ten vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing