We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for relaxing Birthday”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We wanted a few days to get away for my wife's 60th birthday. This place came up on an internet offer and we called direct and booked three night but we were not sure what to expect... it was a great deal and sometimes you get what you pay for! Not the case we got MORE than we ever expected! All I can say is WOW what a great resort the room, restaurant and the bar all 5 star. Very quiet and clean.
We understand it is off season and not busy, but this place would be a wonderful spot for a summer vacation. It is located on the water with outside patio. An last but not least We must comment on the Friendly and accommodating staff...Todd at the front desk and Teddy the great bar tender! Thanks for making the Birthday, one to remember.

Room Tip: Room 240 was great ... I would request it again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDrider_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We're so glad that we could give your wife an amazing Birthday! Thank you for the great compliments, we try our best here at the Oakwood Resort to give all of our guests an experience that they will remember for a lifetime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Oakwood Resort for a girls weekend and it was fantastic! We started off with mani/pedis at the spa. The ladies there were super nice and accomodating. Make sure you call ahead to book your appointments, they said they are super busy during the summer months with weddings. Our room was awesome, very nicely decorated, like we were really on a beach vacation! The beds are soo comfortable too! We had a great time just catching up with each other, the weather wasn't great to be outside at all, so there isn't much else to do around the area. Dinner was great at the restaurant, cozy, yet elegant. 1/2 price martini's didn't hurt either! They had a band that night too, which was nice to "let loose" a bit! I was a bit worried that it was going to be loud sleeping since we saw so many dogs earlier in the day, but I never heard them throughout the night. Overall, we had a great, relaxing time! Would be great for larger parties, or even family lake weekends with the boat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Kamie,

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad to hear that you had a blast for your girl's getaway weekend here at the Oakwood. We can't wait to see you ladies back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We needed to be in the northern Indiana area for a meeting and got the opportunity to book the Oakwood Resort for a night. The experience was great. We plan to return to the Oakwood Resort this summer and some friends will join us for a fun filled weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, and well done; and it is very likely most of the rooms in the resort will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We're glad you had a wonderful time with us! We hope your enjoyed your stay and also can't wait to see you again this summer! We hope you enjoyed your business trip and that when you weren't doing business you were able to relax and enjoy a small getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a Saturday night here for our 17th wedding anniversary celebration and couldn't have been more pleased. The property is beautiful. The view from our room was gorgeous. And, though it was a little chilly outside, inside was so warm & inviting. The food was delicious. Every staff member we met was friendly, professional, and seemed genuinely engaged in their jobs. We didn't book early enough to take advantage of one of the packages offered but hope not to make that mistake next time! The room was sparkling clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable. But, we were most amazed by how quiet and peaceful it was. The hotel was full but we felt very secluded in our room.

Room Tip: Book a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankie2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We're all so very glad that you had a wonderful time here at the Oakwood Resort. You've stated that you had already booked your next stay with us. When might that be? We could help you schedule a package or even set up an appointment for you at our salon JThree. Please give us a call and we will do our best to make your next stay even more memorable at the Oakwood Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Even though my husband and I (and dog) were only there for two days--it was fantastic and memorable. The staff (Emily and Steve to highlight) were amazing as was the entire staff. The resort was beautiful, food was excellent, setting superb and the food was fantastic.
We have a large white german shepherd and the resort is pet friendly--dogs of any size! Pono loved it and the staff loved him and spoiled him with attention. We didn't want to leave...well done!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are new! But, if you have a dog--we were in #120--which was beautiful, a bit of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We're glad to hear that you had a wonderful time! Emily and Steve were both flattered by your wonderful comments. We all loved Pono and hope that you all can visit again soon so we can spoil him with even more attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Beautiful view of lake and the ice fishermen.....Very clean room......Pleasant management. Would come here again. Quite peaceful and quiet. Do be sure to request a lake view room. Makes all the difference.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad that you got to enjoy life on Lake Wawasee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Held a conference here for 180 college students for the whole weekend, a conference we hold twice a year for my organization. All attendees agreed this had been the best venue our conference had been held at ever. Space and rooms was beyond expectations, food had been the best of all our conferences, staff was more helpful than imagined; overall, simply an incredible conference experience.

Room Tip: You may want to ask about the type of room first, they are each very unique and there's a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Maryam,

We're glad you had a wonderful experience with us! We loved having your College stay with us and hope to see you all next year! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your experience with us be the best!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
219 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Warsaw
Hampton Inn Warsaw
#1 of 5 in Warsaw
302 reviews
19.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Warsaw
19.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 702 E Lake View Rd, Syracuse, IN 46567-8414
Region: United States > Indiana > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy 27 acres of pure relaxation on Indiana's largest natural lake. Here at Oakwood Resort we have something for everyone. Use us for your dream wedding, company conference, family reunion, or just a weekend away. Choose from our eighty elegant inn rooms, eight spacious cabins, or ten vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing