We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First let me say how incredibly beautiful this place is. My husband and I found it on Groupon and just wanted a quick getaway. We will absolutely return to this resort. The front desk staff was so very friendly and helpful. They really made us feel welcome. The room was beautiful, clean, quiet and had an amazing view. The onsite restaurant was perfect, with good food and reasonable prices. We were surprised with live music and really enjoyed having drinks outside listening to the band and enjoying the incredible view. I highly recommend this place. I'm looking forward to our next trip out there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for such a fantastic rating. We're so very glad that you had a wonderful time with us here at the Oakwood Resort. We have live music on our Back Porch Bar every Friday and Saturday nights during our summer season. Thank you for staying with us, we can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    72
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
110
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found this Inn as a South Bend , Notre Dame football alternative. Beautiful in any season, with wonderful walk options and friendly staff. @ one hour from South Bend, a great stop on your way to campus or just to relax!

Room Tip: Request lakeside; if they have it, they will let you have it with no upcharge. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the great review! We're so glad that you could stay with us. Most of the hotels in the surrounding areas are sold out during College games, and graduations. We're glad you chose the Oakwood as your option to stay. We hope you had a fantastic time with us!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Perfect getaway close to family...the staff went out of their way to accommodate our schedule and make us feel welcome. The sunrise over the lake was just breathtaking, followed by a nice lakeside continental breakfast. Great place to relax!

Room Tip: Lake view room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabrinaD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review for us! We're glad you had an amazing getaway! Thank you for your gracious comments on the Oakwood! We're so very happy that you had a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed May 5 to 9th. This is a spectacular resort on the water. It is just before coming into season so it is very relaxing. The rooms are spacious ours over looked the water. Lots of places to walk and the historic local areas were fun to visit. They have a great bar area with a good wine selection and several beers on tap. The restaurant was super with a good selection of anything from super burgers to fresh fish. The very friendly staff made it a pleasure. A great place for families. I will be back this summer with the kids and grand kids when the water is warm. This was a great time for the two of us to relax and enjoy the beauty of the place.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comment! It means a lot to us when our guests take the time to express how their stay was. I'm glad your experience was the best and that you'll visit again soon! Please check out our Summer Concert Series if you're looking for a weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I purchased several Groupon certificates and made reservations thru the certifcates for the
weekend of April 25-27 for my husband and I and our grown family with grandchildren.
This place is well worth the trip. Sits on the lake and has a wonderful view. Offers free continental breakfast with their full priced menu. The employees are great. We had some problems while there and all of them was taken care of immediately. Such as the heat was not working in one of the rooms and extra blankets and a repair man showed up within 10-15 minutes. Also, I was watching over our granddaughter who is a type 1 diabetic and her blood sugar was on the low side so I asked the front desk if I could have some apple juice to spike her blood sugar and again in less then 10 minutes they had it delivered to our room.
The rooms are up to date and very comfortable. The views in the lakeside room are beautiful.
Our grandchildren, even tho the weather was chilly, played in the sand area and waded in the water and had a great time. Steve, the manager was very helpful in all that was asked.

Room Tip: Lake Side Rooms are the best especially on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedontheheadIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comment. We try to do our best to make each and every stay an excellent experience. We loved having you and your grandchildren and can't wait to see you all return when it's a bit warmer so you can enjoy swimming in the lake on our beach! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfect for a one night/weekend getaway from Chicago. We drove up through the countryside rather than the highway and stopped a few times along the way in smaller towns. The Resort was not crowded (in April) and very nicely located by right by the lake. The water looked clean and the ground was rocks with sand - definitely good for swimming.
We reserved a lakeside room and got a free upgrade to a Junior Jacuzzi suite. This room was excellent. Dark wood floors, white King size bed, big windows - alone the white "snake" - leather couch seemed a bit tacky and out of place.
We walked around the resort and thought it would be a very nice place also in summer probably. the hotel restaurant menu seemed a bit pricey but there are quite a few affordable alternatives around within 1-3 miles radius. The staff was extremely helpful and gave good recommendations.
We bought a Groupon and paid approx. $65 for a night - definitely a great value - I would have paid more and will definitely go back.
Other Pros: You can bring your dog with no additional charge - off leash if the pup is well behaved.
Cons: No pool for cold weather entertainment

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliusB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Oakwood! We're so very pleased that you had a fantastic getaway at the Oakwood Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Everything is beautiful! We didn't eat at the restaurant, because it was fairly expensive. We ate down the street and it was excellent. The rooms are gorgeous and have very nice, modern decor. I actually asked the front desk where they got some of their pieces because I want them. Our room was huge and had a lake view with panoramic bay windows. It was beautiful! The resort feels very luxurious and grand but in a quiet, quant little town. We'll be back sometime! I'm sure it's even better in the summer!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathdyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah H, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We're ecstatic that you had a wonderful time with us! Thank you for being such a gracious guest and giving us an amazing review. We're glad you enjoyed our Resort and can't wait to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
19.5 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
19.8 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
21.0 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Property: Oakwood Resort
Address: 702 E Lake View Rd, Syracuse, IN 46567-8414
Region: United States > Indiana > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy 27 acres of pure relaxation on Indiana's largest natural lake. Here at Oakwood Resort we have something for everyone. Use us for your dream wedding, company conference, family reunion, or just a weekend away. Choose from our eighty elegant inn rooms, eight spacious cabins, or ten vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing