We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oakwood a top choice!”
Review of Oakwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hard to believe that such a magnificent resort would be located in northeastern Indiana. But here it is - beautiful hotel and grounds and beautifully located on Lake Wawasee. I've been here many times this summer at the restaurant, booked hotel rooms, attended events, etc. Every time brought a smile to my face. Terrific service from an excellent staff, great accommodations, superb food, fun entertainment - all is a setting that is pretty darn impossible to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I LOVED this place, and can’t WAIT to go back! My husband and I were here with a large event that took over the whole resort, so my experience could be a bit different than others.

The rooms were gorgeous and super clean, and the beds! They were SO comfortable! Between that and the in-room Keurig, spa quality toiletries in large bottles with pumps, big bathtub, double sinks and beautiful lake view- this was one of the most beautiful and quant rooms I’ve ever stayed in!

We ate at the restaurant several times, both in the dining room and on the bar patio. The food was TERRIFIC! Between all of us we tried most of the Flatbreads, the Waldorf salad, Lobster cakes, burgers, filet mignon and the Seafood Au Gratin- EVERYTHING was delicious! I will say that I think they need to take a look at their catering strategies. The hot food at breakfast, especially the eggs and oatmeal were dried out and unappetizing- the oatmeal looked almost gelatinous.

The other meals provided as a buffet for our event were also pretty disappointing. The “baseball cut sirloins” were hard as hockey pucks and the chicken breasts were dry and overcooked. There’s an art to serving food buffet-style, that I’m not sure they’ve mastered.

We also visited the spa during our visit, and it was OUTSTANDING! This is an Aveda concept salon, so you KNOW it’s got to be good! Our esthetician and masseuse were the best any of us had ever experienced. They were professional, extremely talented, and super friendly!

Lastly, I’d like to give a shout out to the staff! This has got to be some of the most friendly and accommodating hotel staff I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting! During our time there, we got to know Tara in the restaurant and Andy in the bar quite well. What a terrific couple of folks, and SO good at their job! Andy always made you feel like you were the most important person in the bar, even making recommendations and crafting custom cocktails to suit your needs. Tara in the restaurant was a delight as well, professional, friendly, warm and fun! These two act like they love their jobs, and it shows!

We also met a terrific bartender in the event center named Beth Ann- she’s awesome!

If you want to stay at a beautiful place, with top notch accommodations and a staff that treats you like family- go to the Oakwood!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room, see Andy in the bar, and try out the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Twelve of our family stayed at the resort in late August 2014. The staff were kind and gave us early check in, if the rooms were ready (one was not, but we were early), and late check out the next day. After check in there was a storm and the power went out and it hailed. The power was out for less than 2 hours and we had to use the stairs and there were very limited options of activities to do at the lake with no power and when it is raining outside. Our family did check out a board game from their small library and played that in one of our rooms- my sister's room was upgraded at no charge and we had a sitting area to play the game. Issues occurred when the hotel announced they would not serve any dinner that night because the power had been out for less than 2 hours? Everyone staying at the hotel had to leave to get dinner and we were not able to get into the closest restaurant when we wanted and they were not prepared for the rush. We did go on the free boat ride provided if you stay at the resort and we all really enjoyed the boat driver and ride around the lake!! We went back to the restaurant off site, after the boat ride and they finally got us in at 8:30 p.m.
Overall, the rooms were beautiful and the beds were comfy. There is some slight issues noted were the ceiling joints have some paint chipping where the edges meet. The main reason I am giving them a 3 is due to them closing their restaurant for the whole night due to a short power outage and due to them having very minimal breakfast options. Our family of 12 had to go out to eat for dinner and breakfast, which is not easy getting seating for such a large group.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available, for early check in, and late checkout. We had a Groupon rate, so wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood R, General Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. Constructive criticism can give us direction, and the interest and concern you have shown in our operation by informing us of your overall experience when the Resort temporarily lost power due to a passing Syracuse is greatly appreciated. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you & your family experienced due to the unexpected closure of our Restaurant that evening.

We are delighted to learn you were able to enjoy all of the other activities around the resort including the boat tour, board games and a gracious staff. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Oakwood Resort in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very interesting place the room was very well done and clean as a pin.
TRY AND GET A LAKE VIEW.
What I wanted to review was the dinner.
The sea bass was the best I have ever had so they must have a new chef because the food was great.
The breakfast and the room it is served in need a lot of work it is not like the feeling of the rest of the property.
I was there on a weekday and maybe its better on the weekend.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I like the bar area and the outside seating for drinks and dinner.
I plan to stay there again soon and take my wife and some friends along.

Room Tip: Get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Oakwood. The hotel is very nice - clean and new - and we really enjoyed it. The location right on Lake Wawasee is fantastic. However, our room had very thin walls and we heard EVERYTHING in the room next door (and I do mean EVERYTHING). On the first night, we were awoken at 5 a.m. to the sounds of loud Asian-like meditational music. At first, we could not tell where it was coming from. On the second night, we were awoken at 3 a.m. by arguing and then lovemaking in the next room. On top of all this, you can hear the trains going through the town what seemed like every half hour to hour all night long.

The restaurant was pleasant and the food was very good, but there was no breakfast menu. Your choices are either continental breakfast during the week or breakfast buffet on the weekend. And there are not all that many breakfast restaurants in town. The dinner choices were very good and provided some of the healthiest eating in town. Service in the restaurant was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I make it back to this place like a homecoming. The facility and accommodations are stellar. I couldn't give it a total 5 stars because the continental breakfast is not even as good a cheap motels and the food on the menu needs more flavor. (I understand that they have a new cook, but a place like this to keep people eating there should have a chef.)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Wow! This hotel is beautiful and the room was fresh, bright and clean! We had a room that didn't have much of a view of the lake and that was disappointing. The lake was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Be sure to get a massage at the spa :)

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
217 reviews
19.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Warsaw
Hampton Inn Warsaw
#1 of 5 in Warsaw
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
134 reviews
12.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#1 of 6 in Goshen
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 702 E Lake View Rd, Syracuse, IN 46567-8414
Region: United States > Indiana > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy 27 acres of pure relaxation on Indiana's largest natural lake. Here at Oakwood Resort we have something for everyone. Use us for your dream wedding, company conference, family reunion, or just a weekend away. Choose from our eighty elegant inn rooms, eight spacious cabins, or ten vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing