We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I may have to change my opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
334 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“I may have to change my opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

About the Red Roof chain. This place is really nice.

I have always thought of the Red Roof as just an expensive ‘6. But this room was very nice (see Oct 2013 pics), desk chair was very comfy as was the bed. Also see pic’s for electrical outlets … one shows the ones built into the nightstand. There were also two beside the desk, two at desk level and one on the lamp. No reason to unplug anything or move furniture just to get to an outlet.

The only issue was the toilet, it was just louse enough so that when you sit down it would go ‘clunk.’ I mentioned that to the front desk in the AM and they pulled out a ‘fixit it’ ticket right away.

The person checking me in went through the whole list of perks they offer.

If you get in town early enough, there is an A&W / KFC right next door. The only 24 food is the Waffle House about two blocks away … but be careful, those truckers hit the frontage road at about about 60 mph.

Truck parking? About a dozen dedicated spots for 40 ft rigs, if you have a semi parking seems to be permitted on the frontage road, lots of rigs parked there the night I was there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
13
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

By far the cleanest nicest red roof we have ever stayed in, the staff was friendly the rooms are beautiful. The rooms have hard wood floors, the price of the rooms are excellent very clean, nice decor. A short ride to Columbus and Seymour's definitely worth the value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for a positive review. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is amazing, to put it simply. The staff knows the area very well, and they're more than welcome to help you find places like certain stores in the gigantic outlet mall here called "Eddie Bauer Outlet". And they know all the streets by heart. The rooms are freshly renovated so there's nice wooden floors, a "38-"48 TV, a large desk in each room, and very soft beds with a memory-foam like pad on each one.

The kitchenette is beautiful! You can store a months worth of food in 3 cabinets they provide, and the new microwaves are always clean. Granite tabletop, and a high rise faucet for filling up jugs of water or simply for washing. The refrigerator holds more than enough food for your stay, and keeps it fresh! The coffee makers work well, and you can get all the fresh coffee you can possibly drink!

The bathroom is granite-topped also, and there's a full-body mirror, also. A place to hang your clothes, and more than enough outlets for appliances.

There's also a nice leather chair in each room that is very comfortable along with a posture supported computer chair in the room that rocks.

Overall, the staff here is probably the best of any of my stays. They know everything you need to know about Taylorsville, Colombus, and Franklin Indiana. (and all the surrounding cities) They love to conversate also! The lobby is nice, with a sun-room, and plenty of chairs. They have muffins and danishes like crazy here, along with oatmeal! And the apple/orange juice machine is always on, and always fresh. One employee even took a map and showed us the key areas we needed to be at, and gave us the map. The maintenance man is pretty cool, too! You'll see him working on the pool here, and he's very fun to talk to.

They have been helpful and respectful for the entire month I've stayed here! And a quick shoutout to the cleaners! You're doing a great job. Every time I would walk in after it was cleaned, I almost thought I was in a fresh new room each time!

The other guests are super-friendly also, and since we've been here, we've made countless friends just sitting outside talking to them! There's always a good story from each and every travel-buddy we meet.

There's a speedway across the street, and a KFC right over by the annex!

They're also pet-friendly! bring the dog or cat along with you here!

I guarantee you WILL enjoy the day (or month!) you stay here! I don't want to leave!

Room Tip: Each and every last one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40Brian_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello and Thank you for your positive review. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisified guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My mother booked 3 rooms for the family, going to Indianapolis zoo & cosi (she went through expedia) & it was 40 mns from there. The rooms had been updated, but had a weird smell. The outside & location was some what iffy. Employees were wearing pajamas, sitting on the side walk by the office smoking (I am a smoker but didn't look professional). The pool hadn't been cleaned in a few days, which I grabbed the net & did myself. Only good thing is that there was a KFC right next door & an outlet mall down the road!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furnas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello!! Just a little confused on the employees in pajamas. At this property housekeeping staff wears Redroof Inn shirt with Logo. In checking the camera I did not see anyone working in pajamas. I have seen guests step out in lounging attire and smoke. I am sorry for your disappointment with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taylorsville hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were visiting Columbus for the weekend and needed a pet-friendly hotel with external access for a smoker. We were very lucky to find the RRI in Taylorsville - convenient location, comfortable room, friendly staff, and great price. We will definitely stay there again when visiting Columbus.

Room Tip: King room was very spacious and comfortable for two humans and one dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello!! Thank you for your positive response! I am always happy to hear from guests that travel with furry friends. We are a pet friendly motel as are all Redroof Inn locations.
I hope we get the chance to serve you again on your next trip through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband, myself, and a friend of ours stayed at this property last weekend and I have to say many improvements have been made to this property since the last time we had stayed there. My husband does the state and national putt putt stops that are held in Columbus, Indiana. The room we stayed in was a double. We loved the flat screen tv and the new wood flooring and the beds were much more comfortable than the last time we stayed.

Some improvements I would like to suggest are as follows: We asked to have a wake up call set up for 7:30 am the next morning. That never happened. We were up by 7, but thank god we had been because we never received a wake up call for the morning. My husband mentioned it to the counter person while he got breakfast for us and the counter person was rude and acted as they didn't care and didn't even apologize for it not being set up.

Also the "free continental breakfast" consisted of muffins and rolls. Now I understand that breakfast is "free", however when I had worked for a hotel that had a free continental breakfast there was fruit, cereal, muffins, toast, etc. So that aspect of service needs to be addressed with management.

Other than those issues, we enjoyed our stay and we loved the improvements made to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCRANE0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hello and Thank You for choosing to stay with us again! I am glad you like our upgrade to the motel. We strive to always please our guests and make them feel welcome! We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the Columbus, IN area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for nearly a few weeks in March into April.
The location is slightly further away from the outlet mall than some other hotels which may be a concern for some ,but it is only 2 minutes down the road.
The property and staff are superb, I can not find any fault with the property, Trucks do use a nearby truck stop to park up overnight but this is no real problem.
Rooms are comfortable, safe ,secure and the WIFI is great
Staff: are very helpful, the cleaning staff cheerful and chatty as well which is a good sign
I enjoyed my stay here immensely and would recommend it to anyone travelling in the area ,And as an after comment the price is outstanding value for money

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mp186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Hello! I want to say it was a pleasure having you for a guest. All the staff enjoyed your visit with us. We hope one day if you are back in the area you choose to stay with us again! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taylorsville
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh/Columbus
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Columbus
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus / Taylorsville / Edinburgh
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Edinburgh
6.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville
Address: 10330 North US 31, I-65 at US 31 South, Exit #76-A, Taylorsville, IN 47280 (Formerly "Comfort Inn")
Region: United States > Indiana > Taylorsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Taylorsville
Taylorsville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing