We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and OverPriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Smelly and OverPriced”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I made this reservation about 10 days ahead of arrival. The room was overpriced for what we got.
We checked in late after working all day and driving for 5 hours. The room smelled of cigarette smoke, the A/C was on the coldest setting and the fan was set at full. The bathroom smelled as if it had recently been used.
I am not familiar with the smoking laws of Indiana, but if it is legal I should have been told that this was a smoking room.
I was there for for about 8 hours total. Breakfast was individually wrapped danish, apples, and coffee or cocoa.
This place is very overpriced....I have paid this much and stayed in much nicer rooms than this before. They capitalize on location, don't fall for it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japetek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello! I want to take this time to apologize to you on your recent stay with us at Redroof Inn. A lot of things have taken place and I for one am shocked. I can assure you that housekeeping department staff has now been changed. If you personally contact me I can make your next visit in this area better and offer a discount. Once again I do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
11
16
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I am a Charter Bus driver and stay at a lot of places. Good room and even better people. I was treated very well. Room was clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.....plan on staying there again on my way to Chicago from North Carolina.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirate7017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello and Thank You for your positive review! We hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This has to be the worse hotel I have EVER stayed at in my life. I stayed here because the recent reviews have been somewhat nice, however I don't understand how anyone could give this hotel a positive review.

Before arriving I called the front desk to change our reservation from two days to three days, and they gave me an updated total for the stay (which was a larger total price than before). After the second night the front desk called to ask if we would be extending our stay or checking out. I explained to them that I was booked for one more day which was shown on my reservation.

After explaining all this to the front desk clerk at the time she told me that in the computer my booking still was listed for two days and the larger price was because we added a Friday night and dropped a Sunday night. Apparently the price for the room on Friday was $50 higher than Sunday night which caused our price to go up. She told me the price for the room was $122.00 plus tax for Friday/Saturday night, however when I booked it online it clearly said 109.00 per night.

The front desk clerk was so rude that I decided we would check out instead of staying the third day and switch hotels.

Other than the check-out/ price issue we had a few other issues as well. Upon arrival, the room was not properly stocked. There was not enough toilet paper and towels for three people. Also the bathroom was so small you could hardly move around in there before/after taking a shower. Our room keys would not work, and we had to have new ones issued two separate times in two days.

Overall, this was a nightmare stay and we stayed the third night at Holiday Inn & Express about a mile away. There are too many hotel options in the area to stay here. I will never be staying at the Red Roof Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello! I am sorry for the large mix up with room rates. Did you originally book on line with a discount, or through a booking agent? I do know prices vary. I also know through some booking agents when the reservation comes through we can't change dates due to the system locking information for security reasons. Once again I do apologize for this horrible incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taylorsville hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Room was very nice and clean. Price was better than other places in the area. Very friendly staff, especially the gentleman who checked us out this morning! If you're looking for a place to stay in the area, I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi_mom_of_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello and thank You for your positive review! Hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

About the Red Roof chain. This place is really nice.

I have always thought of the Red Roof as just an expensive ‘6. But this room was very nice (see Oct 2013 pics), desk chair was very comfy as was the bed. Also see pic’s for electrical outlets … one shows the ones built into the nightstand. There were also two beside the desk, two at desk level and one on the lamp. No reason to unplug anything or move furniture just to get to an outlet.

The only issue was the toilet, it was just louse enough so that when you sit down it would go ‘clunk.’ I mentioned that to the front desk in the AM and they pulled out a ‘fixit it’ ticket right away.

The person checking me in went through the whole list of perks they offer.

If you get in town early enough, there is an A&W / KFC right next door. The only 24 food is the Waffle House about two blocks away … but be careful, those truckers hit the frontage road at about about 60 mph.

Truck parking? About a dozen dedicated spots for 40 ft rigs, if you have a semi parking seems to be permitted on the frontage road, lots of rigs parked there the night I was there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

By far the cleanest nicest red roof we have ever stayed in, the staff was friendly the rooms are beautiful. The rooms have hard wood floors, the price of the rooms are excellent very clean, nice decor. A short ride to Columbus and Seymour's definitely worth the value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for a positive review. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is amazing, to put it simply. The staff knows the area very well, and they're more than welcome to help you find places like certain stores in the gigantic outlet mall here called "Eddie Bauer Outlet". And they know all the streets by heart. The rooms are freshly renovated so there's nice wooden floors, a "38-"48 TV, a large desk in each room, and very soft beds with a memory-foam like pad on each one.

The kitchenette is beautiful! You can store a months worth of food in 3 cabinets they provide, and the new microwaves are always clean. Granite tabletop, and a high rise faucet for filling up jugs of water or simply for washing. The refrigerator holds more than enough food for your stay, and keeps it fresh! The coffee makers work well, and you can get all the fresh coffee you can possibly drink!

The bathroom is granite-topped also, and there's a full-body mirror, also. A place to hang your clothes, and more than enough outlets for appliances.

There's also a nice leather chair in each room that is very comfortable along with a posture supported computer chair in the room that rocks.

Overall, the staff here is probably the best of any of my stays. They know everything you need to know about Taylorsville, Colombus, and Franklin Indiana. (and all the surrounding cities) They love to conversate also! The lobby is nice, with a sun-room, and plenty of chairs. They have muffins and danishes like crazy here, along with oatmeal! And the apple/orange juice machine is always on, and always fresh. One employee even took a map and showed us the key areas we needed to be at, and gave us the map. The maintenance man is pretty cool, too! You'll see him working on the pool here, and he's very fun to talk to.

They have been helpful and respectful for the entire month I've stayed here! And a quick shoutout to the cleaners! You're doing a great job. Every time I would walk in after it was cleaned, I almost thought I was in a fresh new room each time!

The other guests are super-friendly also, and since we've been here, we've made countless friends just sitting outside talking to them! There's always a good story from each and every travel-buddy we meet.

There's a speedway across the street, and a KFC right over by the annex!

They're also pet-friendly! bring the dog or cat along with you here!

I guarantee you WILL enjoy the day (or month!) you stay here! I don't want to leave!

Room Tip: Each and every last one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40Brian_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Hello and Thank you for your positive review. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisified guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taylorsville
0.8 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh/Columbus
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edinburgh
6.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus / Taylorsville / Edinburgh
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Edinburgh
13.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville
Address: 10330 N US Highway 31, I-65 at US 31 South, Exit #76-A, Taylorsville, IN 47280-7771 (Formerly "Comfort Inn")
Region: United States > Indiana > Taylorsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus-Taylorsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Taylorsville
Taylorsville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing