We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Woodlawn, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This an awesome place! Everything is so clean and very well maintained. The beds were great and the mini kitchens were wonderful. The area is pleasant with coffee shops all around. Everything you could ask for in a vacation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandraprettyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. So glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. Guest reviews are the fuel that keeps our team going. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    48
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
53
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent one night at this hotel. My husband and I have a queen bed at home, so the availability of one queen bed in the room was fine with us. Unfortunately the bed sagged in the middle and the two of us spent the night much closer than we would have preferred. The other concern was the mildew on the shower curtain. This is a resident hotel and the room had a full sized fridge, stove, etc. I guess it would be ok for 1 person, but never two. I can excuse the mattress, but not the mildew.

Room Tip: ask for a room with two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroltinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, we have taken the appropriate actions to resolve the issues. Good or bad our guests feedback is very important to us. Please understand that your experience was the exception and not the rule. Please feel free to contact us at the property, we would love to have an opportunity to earn your business back. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
746 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We usually stay at the Candlewood Suites as we travel around the US and Canada as we can always count on it being quiet, clean and moderately priced. Staff are first class. This stay was no different. Zach Maras greeted us politely and warmly and made sure we had everything we needed and then some. He is first class! This was a downtown hotel which we try to avoid. However, parking was on site and safe. The entire hotel was refurbished from an old hotel with all the classy features such as the ornate staircases. We were in Rm314 which was super clean spacious with a good a/c system. We appreciated having ice on the floor. Usually this is not available at the Candlewood suites since they have a full refrigerator in the room. However, if you get in late it takes awhile before you get the ice for your drinks. There are many food items to choose from in the Candlewood Cupboard which is nice. Coffee is available around the clock. We especially enjoyed having access to the Hilton next door where we feasted on a delicious dinner. They give 20% disc. to Candlewood travelers at breakfast time. It was nice not to have to pay for downtown parking or valet service. We like access to our vehicle so we can come and go all day or night. This was a wonderful stay. Bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. We always get extra pillows and even though Zach did not have any available at the front desk, he didn't hesitate to go and get us some. He is extremely conscientious. Thanks Candlewood Suites, see you next time!

Room Tip: The entire hotel is nice and quiet. Room 314 was conveniently located close to the elevator and ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very fortunate to have employees like Zach on staff who really care. Our unique location gives our guests the downtown experience with the small town charm and convenience. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We used Trip Advisor to get a hotel after a long drive. The room was clean, comfortable with the usual amenities. When we get to a hotel, we usually check for nearby caches. We were surprised that there were at least 10 geocaches within a half mile of the hotel and lots more close by. We enjoyed strolling around downtown and campus area. We asked at the front desk and got several suggestions for breakfast. We went to Clabber Girl (good food) and also enjoyed the museum. We highly recommend this hotel. We'd rather pay less for a hotel and eat on our own than pay more and get a mediocre breakfast. We wish there was one like this at the Ohio State campus.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NonieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you able to take advantage of everything to do in Downtown Terre Haute. Thank you for your business and your time, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

For an overnight in Terre Haute devoted to touring 3 top sites (Swope Museum, Debs House, and Clabber Girl) this was a perfect accommodation. Everything about the room was first class. The personnel at the desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred39183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of everything to do in Downtown Terre Haute. Thank you for your business and your time, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our third stay here in just over a year was the most disappointing. We want to like this hotel and say great things but our latest stay did not live up to the expectations we had based on past experience.

Where to start...

Upon arrival, we parked in the lot adjacent to the south side of the hotel as we had in the past. We discovered the back entrance is now locked 24/7 and had to walk through the alley to the front on Wabash to enter and check in.

Would have been nice to know that before we arrived.

Also would have been nice to have been greeted as IHG Rewards members, but we were not.

Upon entering our room, we discovered the hotel had upgraded to DirecTV HD satellite service. However, when we turned on our TV, it popped a message on the screen telling us we were not getting HD, and we should check the cables. We went downstairs and informed the desk clerk of the problem. At the same time another guest came down with dead batteries in his TV remote. That man got his batteries but no one ever came to fix our television.

After trial and error, I fixed the TV problem myself.

On the mornings of our two-night stay, cranes were in the alley adjacent to our fourth-floor room, and sign work was being done on the roof. Materials were being loaded onto the roof just above our room starting early in the morning that shook the whole building.

Again, would have been nice to have advance notice of this work, even if only at check in. Having booked our room months in advance, and being IHG Rewards club members, perhaps we should have been offered a room away from the noise? Hmmm....

Didn't happen.

And one more note about noise: expect to hear fire engines, ambulances and freight train whistles during your stay.

Exterior noise gets in easily, but room to room, not so much.

The last problem with our stay was discovered upon loading the dishwasher in our room to wash our last load of dishes. Pulling out the top rack for glassware caused the whole dishwasher to tilt forward by about 15 degrees at the base. It was not installed securely! Dangerous!

Okay, rant over. Now, on the plus side:

-- The hotel is clean.

-- The hotel is the most convenient to ISU (along with Hilton Garden Inn, directly across the street) in Terre Haute.

-- We were able to procure a 12-cup coffee maker for the length of our stay through the new Lending Locker amenity.

-- The rooms have 9 or 10 foot ceilings and feel quite spacious. The beds and room furniture are quite comfortable.

-- Once we fixed our TV issues ourselves, it was nice to have the new DirecTV HD service that we didn't experience on our two prior stays.

The hotel is a good value if you are in town for ISU. It has so much room for improvement though. In any other city it would not be the number one hotel on Trip Advisor, but for Terre Haute, it might be the best of what's out there. A stronger focus on service and this hotel might be worthy of its current ranking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AgingWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank for taking the time to share your experience, feedback from our guests whether it be good or bad is very important to us. We had recently decided to lock our rear entrance 24/7 to ensure that only registered guests have access, we have taken the steps to ensure this info is shared with all of the appropriate channels. I have addressed the issues you experienced with the Direct TV, we held a training class with our Housekeepers and they now test the system after every check out to ensure everything is functioning properly. The dishwasher issue you experienced was due to a bracket that had broken, we replaced the bracket resolving the issue. The issue with Crane was with a sign company that we had contracted that unfortunately showed up with a 15 minute notice, unfortunately we were in the position where we could not afford to turn the workers away. We are truly grateful of you taking the time to let us know where we need to improve and we have taken action to do so. I hope in the future you will try us again and if there is anything else I can do please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, IN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was my 5th stay at this hotel. They actually saved the day because I had booked somewhere else that was cheaper, but it was not clean, so we didn't stay. Candlewood had rooms available and was very accommodating late at night. As always, the rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed three nights and ate most of our meals in the room. There is a two-burner cooktop, full-size microwave and refrigerator. This was fantastic for me, as I have food allergies and fine it best to prepare my own food. There is no doubt that it will always book at Candlewood from now on!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank krystalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. So glad to hear you took advantage of our fully stocked kitchens. We take great pride in having one the cleanest hotels in town, so thank you for the review it means a lot to our housekeeping staff. Thank you for your business and your time, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn Terre Haute
Drury Inn Terre Haute
#3 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#6 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Terre Haute

Property: Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Address: 721 Wabash Avenue, Terre Haute, IN 47807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Terre Haute
#1 Best Value Hotel in Terre Haute
#3 Business Hotel in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Terre Haute, Indiana Candlewood Suites Hotel Our downtown Terre Haute extended stay hotel, the Candlewood Suites, is conveniently located in west Indiana near major highways such as I-70, US Highways 40, 41 and 150. The hotel is situated six miles from Terre Haute International Airport (HUF). While staying at our all suites hotel in Terre Haute, leisure travelers can enjoy many attractions close to our hotel. Terre Haute offers many art collections and museums, including the Sheldon Swope Art Museum, the Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store and the nearby Community Theatre. For a day of fun for the entire family, visit Bogey's Family Fun Center, Deming Park or Inland Aquatics. Other Terre Haute attractions include Fore Seasons Golf Complex and Hulman Links Golf Course. This extended stay hotel in Terre Haute offers business travelers a convenient location near local businesses and corporations. Clabber Girl, Union Hospital, Bemis, Novelis, AET Films and Indiana State University are all within 15 miles of our Terre Haute accommodations. Our Terre Haute hotel offers many premium amenities that give the feeling of home, including complimentary, high-speed Internet access, an on-site convenience store, a business center, fitness center and free laundry services. End your search for the perfect extended stay hotel in Terre Haute and book your reservations with us today at the Candlewood Suites in downtown Terre Haute, IN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing