We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I booked a room for my parents and brother who were driving from Detroit to Houston. It was close to midnight, and they were driving into Terre Haute. I called the 1-800 number for Holiday Inn Express to make sure that they could check-in around midnight without any problems. I checked various online booking agents, but it was cheapest booking directly on their website. My parents are government employees so they enjoyed a 30% discount!

They absolutely loved the modern decor of the lobby and found their room to be clean and comfortable. They had absolutely no problems checking in so late at night. The next morning, they enjoyed a delicious breakfast that included eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, cereal, and cinnamon rolls!

I'm glad they didn't drive further into Effingham and instead stopped at Terre Haute. This hotel was right off the freeway and easy to find (which was one of the reasons why I chose it). Would recommend this hotel to others who are driving through. There is a 24-hr McDonald's next door which my brother appreciated!

Room Tip: If you are in the military or a government employee, remember to get your government discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I am thrilled that your parents and brother enjoyed their stay with us! Being directly off the interstate, we do welcome our fair share of weary, off-road travelers. Our team takes pride in providing a warm, comfortable, affordable experience to every guest, whether they be on a business trip, or traveling across country.

I am very happy to read your comments and cannot wait to share them with our team!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    54
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
104
42
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I traveled to Terre Haute for a Rose Hulman Institute of Technology event (Daughter is a student there) last weekend. Every aspect of the experience was top notch from calling the front desk making our reservations a couple days in advance till we laid our keys on the counter when we left.

The room was clean, spacious and quiet. We even had a couple of college baseball teams staying which we were concerned about but never heard a thing the entire time we were there. The breakfast is very nice, and the woman keeping tabs on it does a wonderful job of keeping everything filled and available even with the large crowd that was enjoying breakfast at the same time we were there.

The best part of the Terre Haute Holiday Inn Express of course is the convienent location. We have been coming to Rose Hulman for events for four years now and there is no other hotel that is more convienent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billiken_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We adore our Rose Hulman families and we are very pleased that your stay exceeded your expectations! Our breakfast staff takes pride in providing an exceptional experience for the guests in the morning and I am very happy to share your comments with them! I hope that we may welcome you again in the future!

Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Extremely clean and very friendly staff! We were just staying one night passing through on our way to Cincinnati but I will say that if I ever need to stay in Terre Haute IN again this is the hotel I will be saying at. You can tell the hotel is not very old and for a 3 star hotel it had great welcome area and lobby and nice amenities. Very modern and well kept. I have been travelling on business for 11 years and this is one of the cleanest hotels I have every stayed at. Very comfortable beds and had 4 pillows for each bed. Hopefully as it ages they will keep things up.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
I cannot tell you how much we appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay with us! I am overjoyed to be able to share your comments with our staff! Our cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us. We have an extremely hardworking housekeeping team, I am very happy that their efforts were noticed.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I hope you keep us in mind for your future travel arrangements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent a single night here while in Terre Haute visiting Rose-Hulman Insititue of Technology. We wishe we were staying longer, because this property was beautiful. The decor is modern and colorful and everything was spotless in and outside of our room. The breakfast area was the nicest we have seen at this class of hotel The breakfast was delicious and we loved the variety of offerings. (The push button pancake maker/dispenser was neat.) Cinnamon rolls were OHH SOOO GOOOOD!

The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting someplace to eat and letting us know of special rates that were available when visiting colleges and universities (We would have saved over 20 dollars for the night had we not prepaid throuhg a travel site).

My wife and daughter enjoyed using the fitness room.

Room Tip: 4th floor for most quiet Make sure to mention if you are visiting a local university for a better r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSRDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff takes pride in providing exceptional customer service to everyone who comes through our doors and I am so happy we exceeded your expectations!

I agree with you on our cinnamon rolls - they are irresistable and fill the lobby with that sweet bakery smell!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I adore this hotel!! Kevin (Congrats on your promotion)!!, has been unbelievably awesome from August 2012, till I left on this past Sunday. The staff here is sooo courteous, and always remember me. I will continue to stay here next time I visit Indiana. I never have any complaints, and the quality of the whole hotel is just great. The staff always are very professional, and just down right good people. If anyone is looking for a great place for families, I highly recommend staying here. I have seen meetings, birthday parties, and I know that there was a wedding here around Thanksgiving. They are just all around really nice people. This is truly a gem, if you are coming from out of state. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: During August, when there is a truck pull going on, choose the 4th floor, tho I never had any proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123DolphinsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay but we are even more excited that we have become your sought after hotel while staying in the area!

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff (expecially Kevin)!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My brothers, their sons, our parents and my son got together for the holidays and stayed at your hotel. I was very impressed with the quality of everything. The staff was so kind and helpfull, from the front desk to the cleaning crew. The decor is very clean and modern. I will highly recommend your hotel to anyone asking. Great job all!

Room Tip: I was very pleased with all the rooms are family had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Our staff takes great pride in providing outstanding customer service and helping to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are overjoyed that your family enjoyed their time here! Sounds like you had a blast!! I cannot wait to share your review with our team!

Once again, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute; we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

What a great experience to see employees smile at you and offer a friendly "hello how is your stay going?". Everyday we witnessed every area of the hotel being cleaned, right down to the elevator walls and doors. Very nice common area with fireplace. We were able to enjoy visiting with friends while playing board games and eating pizza. A blizzard happened to come in so we really couldn't do much outside the hotel. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was good. We are definitely staying here again! Restaurants are close by as we'll as a Walmart. We checked in on Christmas Day and I want to thank all of the employees for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I cannot thank you enough for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us! I am overjoyed when I receive review such as yours to share with my team. They strive everyday to provide exceptional customer service to all guests who enter our hotel; I am very happy that their hard work isn't going unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
Hilton Garden Inn Terre Haute
#1 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
SpringHill Suites Terre Haute
#6 of 18 in Terre Haute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Terre Haute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute
Address: 2645 S Joe Fox St, Terre Haute, IN 47803-9318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new favorite Terre Haute Indiana hotel. With easy access to Interstate 70 and minutes from downtown Terre Haute, savvy travelers know the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel’s location is ideal. This vibrant community boasts several fine universities just a short drive from the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel is the newest addition to the Terre Haute region. Minutes from Rose Hulman University, downtown Terre Haute, Interstate 70, U.S. 40 and U.S. 41, the hotel is located within minutes of shopping, major restaurants and entertainment. Don't forget to pack your imagination for a trip to the Children's Museum located within ten minutes of the hotel in downtown Terre Haute, Indiana. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel enjoy the area’s plethora of attractions including the Terre Haute Children’s Museum, Clabber Girl Museum and Country Store, Indiana State University, and Rose Hulman University of Technology. Many major companies are nearby including Sony, Bemis, UPS, Kellogg’s, Regional Hospital, and Union Hospital. Just use the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to check email and stay in touch with family and friends. Grab one of our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar before heading out for the day. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute hotel is in the center of everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing