We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J. Gumbo's

J. Gumbo's
Ranked #24 of 224 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Terre Haute has many things to offer, but this is by far one of the best. The staff is extremely friendly and the food is always good. Definitely a unique place in Terre Haute, but very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

In Terre Haute, it can be difficult to break out of the food rut, mainly due to the fact that it is mostly full of fast food chains. J Gumbo's is an easy choice for breaking out of that rut. Located downtown and offering food you simply cannot find anywhere else in town. My favorite dish is the crawfish etouffee (also the only place in town to serve crawfish) followed closely by the drunken chicken, which has a little spice. For those desiring a non-spicy meal the bourbon chicken is an excellent choice full of flavor. The first time I was here I ordered a full sized order of food...and was only able to eat half. Now I make sure to specify a half-order, which is much more manageable and still filling. Each meal comes complete with a piece of buttery bread, which can help cut the spiciness of your dish. Affordable and highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroaddrifting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
“weekly rice fix!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Best rice in town, hands down. The zydeco chicken and bumble bee stew are addictive! I get half/half of those two, and always get a large so I can have leftovers. The sloppy joe and chips isn't too shabby either.
It makes me cranky if I can't get to J. Gumbo's on a weekly basis!
Staff there is always helpful and friendly. Owner is a great example of how to run a rockin' establishment. The jazz music during Mardi Gras was a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a unique restaurant, like a fast food version of southern cuisine. Food was good, no license but that was fine by me as it was lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Downtown Terre Haute for Cajun food? True Dat! Nice place, good portions, great taste. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. Reasonably priced, it is a great place for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Gumbo's also viewed

 

Been to J. Gumbo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing