We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CackleBerries

CackleBerries
Ranked #14 of 222 Restaurants in Terre Haute
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The food is great and there are many options to choose from. The staff is very friendly and offer great service. Excellent place for brunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best local restaurants in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Open for breakfast and lunch only (close at 3 pm), they have a very wide variety of cuisine. From the typical American diner style favorites to Greek offerings, its easy to find something good on the menu. Staff is very friendly and the service is usually very good. Prices are very reasonable. Today's fish sandwich and steak fries were very tasty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroaddrifting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CrackleBerries”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Took my grandson to eat there and he needed to use the restroom. He was 5 years old. We got up and I told the server where we were going but when we returned our table had been cleaned off. We did not have time to wait for them to fix another breakfast but the manager or owner said he was sorry as we had to pay for our 1/2 eaten meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank puttnutt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good down home restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A very enjoyable breakfast. Staff are friendly, provided very quick service. Down home cooking, lots of variety. Breakfast was well prepared. Prices very reasonable. Recommend this place if you are in Terre Haute.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is good, but the service is terrible (lunch)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ameican-Greek selection. I had the Gryo platter, with soup and potatoe. The taste was average enough. Nothing outstanding, but nothing to compain about either. Prices were a little high for this type of restaurant. $11 for lunch, plus drink. The service was terrible. Our waitress was on another planet. We had to flag someone down to take an order, flag them down for drink refills, flag them down for a check. So, basically, bring a flag with you. I also didn't get my side until 20 minute after diner. It was supposed to be a Greek potato. Might have been better warm, but it was plain nasty, cold.

You'll also find the place a little too crowded with chairs. They attempted to get as many tables as possible, and I can understand that. But once they are all filled, you cannot move anywhere without bumping someone. Too large of a crowd in a small area makes for a loud meal.

If you like Greek food, the rest may well be worth dealing with. And it sounds like they may do better on breakfast than lunch. For lunch, if you like to sit down, and enjoy a meal, that probably isn't going to happen here. Many other resturants just a few blocks away, that you'll enjoy a better meal for the same money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KHCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to CackleBerries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing