We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pikk's Tavern

Pikk's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Pikk's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 156 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a very nice dinner here during my recent visit to the area. Valparaiso has some great little places to eat, and this is one of them. The inside is clean and comfortable and there is outdoor seating as well. My friend and I sat outside. The food was very good and the serving sizes were big, neither one of us was able to complete our meal. I would go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    19
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gather for Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Whether a stop after work for a quick sandwich or a casual weekend meal as a couple or with friends, Pikk's Tavern in the college town of Valparaiso, IN is a good choice with some above average pub grub. Take their fries and replace the ketchup with one of their house made sauces like wasabi mayo,malt vinegar-agave or red pepper aioli which I did when I ordered the flank steak sandwich. The steak was tender, flavorful and really good served on top of a garlic roll that soaked up all the brown bits and juices. Surprised to see Frutti di Mare on the menu but as served in a flavorful broth with capellini, shrimp, calamari and mussels it passed our Italian-made dishes served in non-Italian restaurants with a B+.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pretzel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

They have the most amazing pretzel. It is a tad pricey but definitely worth it. Great for an evening of drinks and appetizers. Like the pretzel, the entrees are kinda pricey for a tavern. Don't get me wrong though the food is worth the money. Also don't let the name fool you this is no tavern. The one down fall is at times the service is not worth the prices they are charging. They need to either hire more servers or make sure the servers they have, have a sense of urgency.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicknDeb_46383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We had a late lunch on a Saturday. What a wonderful surprise! Jake was our server - professional but friendly, as were all the staff. I was impressed with how they kept watch without hovering. The atmosphere was laidback, but not sloppy - in fact, it's quite formal, but eclectic (the check is brought to the table in an old tin cigar case). The music was eclectic and fun (Dean Martin followed by old-school hip hop, then Sting, Simply Red...).
And the food! Amazing homemade sauces for the fries, a chicken panini sandwich that is taken to the next level with layers of flavor. The mini hamburgers were juicy and topped nicely with homemade pickkes and just the right amount of American cheese - and served with a nice sauce on the side.
We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karstensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NOISY!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very noisy and clanky inside. Hard to carry on a conversation. Definitely NOT romantic. Good foor, but will not return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CANJTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pikk's Tavern also viewed

 
Valparaiso, IN
 

Been to Pikk's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing