We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Nice Change”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Didn't know they were remaking this hotel, only knew it changed names. 1st time staying here sing renovation...wow, nice job. Everything was upgraded and staff was very attentive. Will stay here next time in area. Keep up good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank scottmZ2254FJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We take great pride & ownership in the complete renovation of this hotel & I am happy that it shows through with our customer service as well. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    43
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
32
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beach Park, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I chaperoned a group of college students to a conference in Valparaiso. This was not the conference assigned hotel, but it was the best moderately priced hotel in the area. Hotel staff were extremely attentive and offered to go above and beyond without being asked. For example, when I alerted the staff a pizza would be arriving for our group, the staff member immediately brought out plates and napkins. Room was very clean and spacious. Hotel recently was renovated and it shows. There are many upgraded features. Everything from the shower to the hair dryer were brand new. There is also a small sundry shop and the parking lot shares space with Applebee's. Great experience. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Carolyn for your wonderful review. We very much enjoyed hosting your group! We have completed an entire renovation and all of our amenities are in fact brand new. We are pleased that you found us & that the staff was able to assist you in all of your groups needs. I will pass along your great comments as I know the staff will be excited to hear from you! Please stop in to visit again if you are in the Valparaiso area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights for a conference at the university. They had a very good deal on Expedia, so I went with it, and I'm glad I did. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were very up-to-date and comfortable, and the value for the price was notable. Before this trip, I wasn't that impressed with Best Western, but I'll consider them again after staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neekolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review! I am so happy that you found our hotel to be of great value. We enjoyed having you as our guest & I am pleased that you have found our brand to be accommodating to your needs. With Best Western, you stay with people who care. I will be sure to pass along your great comments to our staff. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Best staff I have had in years and I stay at alot of hotels [professional referee/umpire] The staff was very helpful starting with directions to the hotel [2 calls] to directions/times to the event at the University...They [especially Shelley [sp] ] were outstanding...Nick

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words & positive review Nick. We do our best to go above and beyond our guests expectations & I am so pleased that we were able to "Wow" you with our professionalism! I will be sure to pass along your great comments to Shelley and the whole team. We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I wanted to write a review for this hotel because it was such a nice experience for my husband and I. We decide to go away for valentines weekend and in search of a hotel near by I found Best Western Valparaiso,in and we booked the weekend. The price was right and I knew it had just remodel and opened:-)
What an awsome find! So nice and clean and new:-) The staff was GREAT! They went up and beyond to make our getaway as nice as possible. We had such a nice comfortable and quite room. Again I am not one to write reviews but just felt compelled to share our experience so others could know and have the same kind of experience we did:-)

Room Tip: We always like to be on the top floor. We find it to be a little more quiet.:-) And never count out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laf1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words & great review! You were such a delightful couple to have as our guests! Valentines Day is such a great holiday to spend the night away with your loved one & we are so happy that you chose us & we could share your memories. I will pass along your kind words to the staff. Please be sure to pass along the word to any friends or family that you have coming to the area & be sure to stop by & see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Myers, FL, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Was on my way back to Chicago on Business, Was getting late and my flight was not until afternoon the next day So I scoped this hotel out .Very nice clean Hotel and room`s Staff was very helpful , And Applebee`s right across the Parking lot. I like to stay at places that have a restaurant on site or near by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback & review! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! It is definitely a great benefit for us to share our lot with a great restaurant such as Applebees. I will pass along your wonderful comments to our staff. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Accommodating staff, Beautiful rooms just redone at the end of 2013. Everything was super clean. They even had 'clean remotes' which were designed for keeping clean. Bathrooms nice, showers had glass doors, breakfast nice. Only drawback was being by the road, heard some road noise, but that was a minimal concern. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValpoGM, General Manager at Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your positive response. We are very proud of the successful remodel. We pride ourselves on our "Ultra Clean" environment which inludes the clean remote program. Thank you for noticing! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the staff. Please stop by again if you are in the area. We loved having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso

Property: Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso
Address: 760 Morthland Dr, Valparaiso, IN 46385-6260 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated hotel is one and a half miles from Valparaiso University and three miles from Porter County Expo Center and Fairgrounds. This Valparaiso hotel is near the Porter Regional Hospital part of the Porter Healthcare System. With a hometown feel and great architecture you are sure to indulge your senses and sights as the hotel is minutes from downtown shops and eatery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing