We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“College visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Took my soon to be high school senior to tour some colleges. We stayed at the Best Western since it was a short ride to Valparaiso University. The staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and quiet. They have complimentary breakfast which was ok. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    40
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
56
29
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I were just looking for an inexpensive local hotel as a get away. This hotel was very well located and easy to find, right on US 30. It is located near many restaurants and within 20 minutes of everything you might want to do. The hotel looks to have been newly renovated, it looked modern and fairly nice for the price. The staff didn't seem the most professional but they were very friendly and helpful. The room had plenty of space and everything was neat and clean. The bed and pillows were average. Bathrooms were nice. This hotel is built into the side of a hill so it looks a little different. This is a nice place to stay on a budget. Kids would be no problem. being near US 30 I did hear some road noise, but more so from the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jreed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a great choice if you want something very clean, quiet, safe and economical. Very close to Valparaiso University. Very well maintained with comfortable beds. The breakfast was not particularly good but my kids aren't picky.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My stay here was excellent. The staff said the hotel was renovated in November 2013 and it shows. I stayed in a King Suite w/ a sofa bed. The bathroom was awesome with the walk in shower. The shower head is also raised high to at least 7' which is hard to find at hotels. no more slouching! everything was clean and tidy. The TV in this room was huge! Also, no HBO but there are 4 Showtime channels. My only issue is the entrance into the lobby. There is no sloped concrete directly in front of the door. This makes you lift your wheeled luggage (a small issue). Everything from the faucets, counter-tops, beds, furniture and doors is top notch. i couldn't hear anyone from other rooms while inside my room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very clean hotel with a very helpful staff. Near Valparaiso University and not far from several restaurants and shopping. If you are a light sleeper request a room on the rear of the hotel to avoid hearing the trucks driving down the highway during the overnight hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Best Western at Valparaiso was outstanding. The recently updated facilities were beautiful. We were impressed with the sleek modern decor. From their overall cleanliness to the extreme kindness of staff, it was a ten. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 497carrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were in the process of moving from Valparaiso, IN to Sana Antonio, TX. We were exhausted and needed a good night's sleep. Checked into this newly renovated hotel. They did a great job on the renovations. Hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet. Staff was warm and friendly. We will stay again when we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valparaiso
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Valparaiso
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Valparaiso
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valparaiso
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Valparaiso
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso

Property: BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso
Address: 760 Morthland Drive, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated hotel is one and a half miles from Valparaiso University and three miles from Porter County Expo Center and Fairgrounds. This Valparaiso hotel is near the Porter Regional Hospital part of the Porter Healthcare System. With a hometown feel and great architecture you are sure to indulge your senses and sights as the hotel is minutes from downtown shops and eatery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn at Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing