We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be surprised at the Train Garden”

Taltree Arboretum and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taltree Arboretum & Gardens is 501(c)3 non-profit dedicated to preserving the environment, educating the public, and conserving a natural space for guests to enjoy. Situated on a beautiful 330-acre oak preserve of formal gardens, and restored woodlands, wetlands, and prairie, Taltree hosts a variety of public classes, exhibits, and events. During visits, guests can explore approximately 6 miles of hiking trails and diverse landscapes, relax in the formal gardens, visit animals in the children's garden, enjoy the intricate Railway Garden, and more.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
“You will be surprised at the Train Garden”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I had a recent visit back to the Midwest coming from Arizona. The arboretum, gardens and the train station & railway gardens are AMAZING! It is well worth your time & is of interest to the young and old alike. Even if your not a "train fanatic" you will enjoy your time. It is BIG and very meticulously groomed by the garden staff and train volunteers. LOVED IT!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 73Dianne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    34
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Train Garden is inspiring!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

On the way home from the National Garden Railway Convention that was held in Chicago, we stopped at Taltree for a quick visit. The layout was absolutely stunning! What they have done with tons of rocks is beautiful and the venue is enjoyable for all ages. I loved finding the live frogs as much as the six year-old who was searching every nook and cranny! There was a good selection of botanicals on the railway and they were nicely pruned to mimic small trees. Too bad we didn't have more time to tour the remainder of the arboretum. We will have to go back. Oh, a nice-sized buck wandered across the drive as we were heading out. What a great finish to our visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns Harbor, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Train Garden is a hidden gem for Thomas/train lovers!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our 2.5 y/o had a great time at the new train garden at Taltree. They have several Thomas engines running to engage very young visitors. The entire display describes the history of American railroad...you could totally sneak in some education for the older kids. My husband & I are not train buffs but still enjoyed picking out all of the details in each scene.

The train viewing area is stroller friendly but provides little shade. The train depot is a beautiful, air conditioned building with modern restrooms & changing tables. They have vending machines & the weekend we were there volunteers were selling hot dogs & chips.

There are several short trails in the gardens that weren't too difficult for a double stroller. Adult admission is $10/person, 5-12 is $5, under 4 is free. For that kind of $$ I would suggest packing a picnic lunch and planning on making an afternoon out of it. Even with a toddler and a newborn, we found enough to do to make it worth the admission.

According to the website: The Taltree Railway Garden is open from April 1 through October 31 from 8 am to 7 pm, with trains running from 10 am to 6:30 pm.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than you expect it to be...”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We live just down the road from the Arboretum and bought a membership through Groupon. We have taken several hikes and enjoy all the various gardens. They have also recently added a Train garden that is alot of fun for younger kids. They also have concerts on weekends sometimes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting in NW Indiana”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I love Taltree. I first went there a few years ago for a gardening class and fell in love with the gardens. It is beautiful and peaceful. Never attended, but the summer concerts sound like a great evening. Will return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DRobert831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taltree Arboretum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Taltree Arboretum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing