We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated & Overpriced!!!”

Industrial Revolution Eatery & Grille
Ranked #2 of 159 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 30
Description: Born out of a passion to create a bold, unique and exciting restaurant theme, the Industrial Revolution Eatery & Grille fuses the finest handcrafted comfort cuisine with an atmosphere that pays tribute to the American spirit of Innovation and Greatness.We aim to connect with our guests by telling the story of our nation’s inspirational past while serving them delicious classic foods favored by the American worker. This unique environment, which we call Upscale Industrial, is meant to inspire diners with inspirational stories of both famous and ordinary people who have made great contributions building our country as well as the risks taken that best exemplify Greatness.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated & Overpriced!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited restaurant on recommendation from Tripadvisor, & in our opinion, I consider it a flop. Typical high-priced burger joint, with a unique atmosphere, and no better than average food. Thought maybe we just had a bad isolated experience, so we tried again 3 weeks later, and not any better. Maybe even worse the second time

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael26045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    173
    57
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just off the Valpo U campus on US 30, Industrial Revolution was a cool stop today. Pushing American ingenuity and invention buttons, we enjoyed the steel girders and construction motif. Once I got past the crazy distractions of TVs everywhere, etc.,our friendly and helpful waitress guided us through the menu. I went w/ a savory Mom's pot roast sandwich(w/ old-time carmelized onions) and sweet potato fries, an amazing bowl of Liberty Chili(the chipotle rocks), and yummy banana bread pudding(that's right, it's banana bread) topped w/ vanilla velvet icecream and caramel All a cut above usual pub and grub joints. Worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Date Night”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a blast in this very scenic restaurant! We had an excellent dinner, and the building is so cool. Definitely a must-see if/when you are in the area!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwill527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great building, great food.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We drove about an hour to get here and were not disappointed. The building design and decor is so interesting, inside and out. The train running above the dining rooms is fun for kids of all ages. The food was really good. The meat loaf is the best I've ever had. Pizza was amazing, pot pie, delicious. No one in our party was disappointed. The only disappointment is that none of us had room for dessert.

Service was excellent, attentive, friendly. Very cool bar area. Unique outside eating area. The designers went "industrial strength" when finishing this steel worker themed eatery. It's worth it just to stop and see the building but, go on inside and enjoy the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have come here a few times with my family. The building is so unique, and the train is always a hit with the kids. A couple recommendations are the pot roast mac and cheese, and the model t turkey are wonderful. The food can take awhile but it definitely is well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank BMO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Industrial Revolution Eatery & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Industrial Revolution Eatery & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing