We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Spoon - CLOSED

Silver Spoon
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Silver Spoon has a great location, very clean, great food, great coffee, and good service. Definitely a must if you are in "Valpo."

Helpful?
Thank Ntjones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    9
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went for lunch on a Saturday. Food & service were very good. The interior is decorated so nicely, very clean, nice vibrant atmosphere. Will definitely visit again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2peaches_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lacking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I went to Silver Spoon on a Sunday for brunch. Drinks were delicious (Bloody Mary and champagne flight, among others). Food took an exceptionally long time to come out. When it did, it wasn't very good. When asked by the manager how everything was, we were honest. Instead of trying to remedy the situation or offer a coffee, mimosa, etc., she gave excuses why things weren't all that great.

For a place that has a chic atmosphere and great potential, it was disappointing.
It certainly wasn't worth the $70 price tag.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tarad678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxed and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

A colleague of mine and I stopped here for breakfast before heading home from a business trip to valparaiso. The hostess was very friendly and the cafe decor is tasteful with a relaxed vibe. The menu and specials all sounded great. My mushroom and goat cheese omelet was delicious. A nice little spot in the downtown area. I just wish we had time to stick around for happy hour in the evening as their specialty cocktails sounded pretty good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Spot for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Having returned to Valparaiso for a weekend visit after being away for several years, we feel lucky to have found this cute spot. A local friend suggested this cafe for a Sunday morning breakfast, and it couldn't have been better - good variety on the menu, fresh ingredients, VERY good coffee, and friendly, attentive service. What more could you want? We'll definitely be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ksfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Spoon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing