We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Golf at a Friendly Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Course at Aberdeen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Course at Aberdeen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rolling hills, woods and beautiful natural surroundings make this an ideal golf course.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
329 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Golf at a Friendly Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This scenic, beautifully maintained, and challenging (but fair) golf course is a treat to play. From the moment you enter the pro shop your can recognize that the entire staff is dedicated to making this a quality experience. Excellent practice facilities, too.
And play early enough so that you can grab a fantastic beef brat for lunch at the turn!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NotRealHoosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have played the course several times per year ever since it opened. The present management company has done an outstanding job running the facility. Pretty good rates for Chicago area 4-5 star course.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Shape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Golfed in September and very much enjoyed the course. Nice elevation changes and varied terrain. There are a lot of homes around the course, but it didn't seem to bother us. I would recommend this course to others. Check out the discounts offered on Golfnow.com.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WIlliam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
902 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“Tough, Remote, and Very Slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Aberdeen is in good condition. The fairways, tees and greens are very nice. The rough isn't a factor, but some of the holes have long carries with hidden ravines and some holes were cart path only.
On the second hole right in the middle of our fairway was
a reincarnation of Carl Spackler. This grounds keeper stood
poking the ground in the middle of the fairway while we were
trying to tee off. After a few minutes of this I asked him what he was doing. He said that he was looking for the 150 yard marker hole oblivious of us. Later he kept following us with his noisy maintenance cart.
There is no starter and no Marshall on this course. They do not allow carts in the parking lot. You have to wait for the bag man to come and take your clubs down stairs to your cart. This
is a big time delay. There's only one bag man.
After the fourth hole we ran into a group of female foursomes
who claimed to be a ladies league. The pace of play slowed to
a crawl.
What could have been an enjoyable round of golf was ruined by
these bumbling hacks who never asked if we wanted to play through as we waited ten minutes on every shot.
This is a hilly albeit scenic course which requires long carries over valleys and dales.
The 150 yard pole is frequently way off for distance and should not be relied on.
This course could clean up it's act by using a good timer/starter and a roaming Marshall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Course and very well kept.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

One of the best Courses that is so close to Chicago. I am a 12 handy cap and my wife 20+ and we both enjoy this course. The staff are great and very helpfull/

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Course at Aberdeen also viewed

 

Been to The Course at Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing